Life, personal injury coverage for SAF, Home Team personnel doubled to $300,000 per policy

mummynew

anyone above 40 yo and completed reservist obligation knows whether before you turn 40, did Singlife contact you to continue with the $300K govt-paid Term cover by paying on own, or the cover will lapse automatically once one turns 40 / reservist obligation completed?

Laguna123

Is am still playing for this group term insurance leh already MR

mummynew

Is am still playing for this group term insurance leh already MR

did you top up yourself when you were still having reservist?

*the case is for my nephew who is turning 40 soon. He doesn't have much insurance coverage (now with some pre-existing conditions of high cholesterol) and so I am wondering about this mindef cover can continue.

Laguna123

did you top up yourself when you were still having reservist?

*the case is for my nephew who is turning 40 soon. He doesn't have much insurance coverage (now with some pre-existing conditions of high cholesterol) and so I am wondering about this mindef cover can continue.
What do you mean by top up?

mummynew

What do you mean by top up?

Like for every NS Man, ah gong 'sponsors' $300K, then some (like my son) may top up to $1 mil (and so son is paying premium annually).

Take if my son didn't top up, does it mean the $300K also will discontinue after he MR?

Now set me thinking, after my son MR, does it mean the $1 million he is having now will reduce to $700K (ah gong's sponsored $300K 'expires')?

artncraft

I never knew about the sponsored part.

I paid for my own SingLife Mindef plans.

stingray1211

Like for every NS Man, ah gong 'sponsored' $300K, then some (like my son) may top up to $1 mil (and so son is paying premium annually).
Take if my son didn't top up, does it mean the $300K also will discontinue after he MR?

I believe you are only covered while on official duty. means doing reservist. outside of that period , you need to pay for your own for your own coverage.

i.e. if anything happen to you while you are not at reservist , you can't claim anything.

btw son so old , need mummy to think for him meh ?

since 1998 I kept the plans and even bought extra plus for my family.

mummynew

I believe you are only covered while on official duty. means doing reservist. outside of that period , you need to pay for your own for your own coverage.

i.e. if anything happen to you while you are not at reservist , you can't claim anything.

btw son so old , need mummy to think for him meh ?

since 1998 I kept the plans and even bought extra plus for my family.

All the while I thought is covered in/out of reservist period.

Can someone reconfirm the $300K ah gong sponsored only valid during reservist (meaning after reservist then return to own work then no cover)?

*not for my son but for my nephew who is quite poor and knows nothing about insurance.

Laguna123

Like for every NS Man, ah gong 'sponsors' $300K, then some (like my son) may top up to $1 mil (and so son is paying premium annually).

Now set me thinking, after my son MR, does it mean the $1 million he is having now will reduce to $700K (ah gong's sponsored $300K 'expires')?
I got top up the monthly premium abit for more payout. I have been paying about $40/mth for many years.
During NSF time I also paid about $8/mth, so in and outside of camp I am still protected.

mummynew

I got top up the monthly premium abit for more payout. I have been paying about $40/mth for many years.
During NSF time I also paid about $8/mth, so in and outside of camp I am still protected.

Ok, meaning you got top up.

*My nephew didn't.

dnsfpl

im paying for me and my spouse, 1m coverage each for GPA & GTL

same premium for both of us lei, app $30 each

got sponsor meh

dnsfpl

$40 per month per pax for 1m group term life?

impossible lar

dnsfpl

mine not 1mil lah, when did I even mentioned that.
then cant be that high lar

1m coverage $25 per month only

unless you are 65 or older

or your coverage is 800k for you and your spouse

mummynew

im paying for me and my spouse, 1m coverage each for GPA & GTL

same premium for both of us lei, app $25 each

got sponsor meh

This $300K 'sponsored' amount is still not clear to me.

So if anything happens to you, you may get $1 mil or $1.3 mil ($300K sponsored).

Or if you MR, then may get $1 mil or $700K ($300K expires if Singlife doesn't give notice to continue with this amount).

:unsure:

dnsfpl

40Z8td5.png

dnsfpl

This $300K 'sponsored' amount is still not clear to me.

So if anything happens to you, you may get $1 mil or $1.3 mil ($300K sponsored).

Or if you MR, then may get $1 mil or $700K ($300K expires if Singlife doesn't give notice to continue with this amount).

:unsure:
i dont think got sponsor at all, at least for me

my premium is the same b4 and after MR

mummynew

dnsfpl

stingray1211

All the while I thought is covered in/out of reservist period.
Can someone reconfirm the $300K ah gong sponsored only valid during reservist (meaning after reservist then return to own work then no cover)?
https://s9e.github.io/iframe/2/imgur.min.html#swXnG18
*not for my son but for my nephew who is quite poor and knows nothing about insurance.

your nephew never top up means basic only (max $300k).

why keep mentioning $1m or $1.3m? did he even top up to max it out in the first place ? one is for life and one is for accident.

if he poor , why didn't he put n effort be specialist or officer to earn more allowance $1k+ per mth for NS? that is alot of money.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.