Any married men with kid(s) feel this way about long weekends/ holidays?

AcquiT

I've asked many DINK couples I know and the leading reason why they dislike kids is when they see ultra irritating kids crying and wailing.
Looking own kids vs others different one

Even saw among my friends from v kns person but once baby out before 24 siao daddy
It changes their mindset and attitude

Esp moments when u saw born

TiedInsurer

Occasionally we babysit our niece from my wife's side and honestly 1 hour felt like 1 year. For context my niece is 2 yrs old. Can't sit still. Want things her way, doesn't sit in strollers and if she wants you to carry her and you deny her, she will yell, cry, scream, sit down anytime anywhere until you give in.
2 year old can understand cause and effect already i think.

My nephew was very mild-mannered and well behaved when he was at my place, because we don't tolerate his ********, and he knows acting out earns him a 5 minute "time out" alone in a locked room. However, the second his mum arrives to pick him up, he starts misbehaving before he's even out the door, because he knows his mum tolerates it.

champion09

Read post #30
it doesnt mean anything ba. It goes to show alot of critical topics were not covered before the marriage. If you couple are 19-20 years old, I can understand. If you are working adults, then I dont understand why talking, before marriage or even before the baby making deed, is so difficult. Esp if uou know this sort of decision is life changing.

AhSlack92

Definitely the last weekend holiday is no joke. I actually understand how TS felt. We have no helper (tried but failed 2 times), both side parents unable to help out (due to old age and distance). Therefore me and my wife have to take care of our 18 month old son and 3 month old daughter. No choice have to send them to infant care despite the elders saying things like ‘wait easy to sick blah blah’ . I mean its easy for them to comment but we are the one taking care. And now kids are not like last time, so sometimes abit testing our patience.

For myself, same as TS, early morning have to fetch kid to infant care then evening have to rush and pick kids, the routine continues and no time to feel tired because no choice and schools is not directly considered that walking distance from our blk.

Wife also have to resign from her job due to the 2nd one if not who do the housework, pack the infant care bags and etc etc. Saving grace that i have a wife that is not po puay.

and of cos, totally hard to have me time except at night before going to bed or even at work. Sleep also affected because they will wake up at night for different reasons. Therefore i totally can understand the shagness u go through, especially i itchy want dragon baby now going through once and for all, double the shag.

all in all, its ultimately worth it if you see them grow up healthily. Running towards you and starts talking and calling you which my eldest is doing now. And we sign up for this so we can only hope our effort pay off and they dont char siew when they grow up 😂. So i kinda understand you are treating this avenue to rant and see whether there’s people feeling the same way like u do 😌

Jiayou 💪🏻

coldish

This is what my wife and I went through as well…

You’re not alone in this… when they’re older it gets better . Try to get family help if you can or maybe a helper
Actually it gets worse..especially for 2-3 years old.

jtec14

TS, it's tough for the first few years but it will pass. Just endure, when your son grow up, different things to worry about. :ROFLMAO:

Roid Rage

Ya lah! You are the world best father. Your kids are so well raised by you that they NEVER throw tantrums. Or you had attained the ultimate calmness of a Buddha that you are never irritated. Do you want me to give you a mug for that?

Ever since I made a mention about "flash cards" you simply cannot shut up about it can you? What makes you think that I only play with my kid using that?

Somewhere, you mentioned that kids should be responsible to clear their own mess. Are you sure that a 14 months old can do that? Or are you sure that you can make a 14 months old do that? Did I mention anything about my wife and I "whine and scream in his presence" and "start throwing up your hands, groaning and whatnot"? Why would you assume that we treat our kid as such? Are you just saying all these just to project that I'm doing things wrong? Do you feel so much better doing so, sounding like the "professional" that nobody asked for?

Also, you don't have a life apart from your kid(s)? Did you managed to develop the next President Scholar or Fortune 500 CEO? To me, you sound like a show off who has nothing else to show for but to preach to others how to raise their kids without anyone asking you to do so.
anyone can be any expert on the internet. this account role playing parenting expert, next about maybe travel expert, another maybe some ang moh war expert? :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin:

beware your post maybe gone anytime soon. someone here has special privilege, seemingly a bigger report button. he's free to insult and be bitchy towards other members. but when you called him out, pew pew, you post will be gone with the wind.

so far i find everything others said about him are all true :s39: :s42:

AcquiT

Definitely the last weekend holiday is no joke. I actually understand how TS felt. We have no helper (tried but failed 2 times), both side parents unable to help out (due to old age and distance). Therefore me and my wife have to take care of our 18 month old son and 3 month old daughter. No choice have to send them to infant care despite the elders saying things like ‘wait easy to sick blah blah’ . I mean its easy for them to comment but we are the one taking care. And now kids are not like last time, so sometimes abit testing our patience.

For myself, same as TS, early morning have to fetch kid to infant care then evening have to rush and pick kids, the routine continues and no time to feel tired because no choice and schools is not directly considered that walking distance from our blk.

Wife also have to resign from her job due to the 2nd one if not who do the housework, pack the infant care bags and etc etc. Saving grace that i have a wife that is not po puay.

and of cos, totally hard to have me time except at night before going to bed or even at work. Sleep also affected because they will wake up at night for different reasons. Therefore i totally can understand the shagness u go through, especially i itchy want dragon baby now going through once and for all, double the shag.

all in all, its ultimately worth it if you see them grow up healthily. Running towards you and starts talking and calling you which my eldest is doing now. And we sign up for this so we can only hope our effort pay off and they dont char siew when they grow up 😂. So i kinda understand you are treating this avenue to rant and see whether there’s people feeling the same way like u do 😌

Jiayou 💪🏻
I stucked with my 2yrs old and few months during covid lock down and my wife need wfh

Entertained them 8-6pm after my wife finished work

Shagged but okay la
Take it training own tolerance level and also bonding with them.

Need entertained them throughout

Roid Rage

anyone can be any expert on the internet. this account role playing parenting expert, next about maybe travel expert, another maybe some ang moh war expert? :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin:

beware your post maybe gone anytime soon. someone here has special privilege, seemingly a bigger report button. he's free to insult and be bitchy towards other members. but when you called him out, pew pew, you post will be gone with the wind.

so far i find everything others said about him are all true :s39: :s42:
anyway my last unsolicited comment for ts: chill bro. first 2 years are tough like hell. hang tight my man. it's gonna be much easier after 2 year old. i know you just wanted to rant, but maybe edmw is not the right place. look at the replies, you better off ranting this to some friends over some cold beers. all the best!

fandango

Jiayou 💪🏻
Dragon baby is jin jialat one bro.

think_too_much

Dragon baby is jin jialat one bro.
While our G men expected birth rates to increase last year, it appears that the numbers continued to fall lower than the 2023 numbers.

Anyway, my kid is a Rabbit kid born in the Dragon year.

think_too_much

anyway my last unsolicited comment for ts: chill bro. first 2 years are tough like hell. hang tight my man. it's gonna be much easier after 2 year old. i know you just wanted to rant, but maybe edmw is not the right place. look at the replies, you better off ranting this to some friends over some cold beers. all the best!
I've seen my nieces who are 3 and 5 years old this year.

It appears that the tantrum throwing will just get worse between 2 to 4 years old. If they want something and you don't give it to them, all the even louder screamings will come.

fandango

While our G men expected birth rates to increase last year, it appears that the numbers continued to fall lower than the 2023 numbers.

Anyway, my kid is a Rabbit kid born in the Dragon year.
Dragon year is jin jialat.

Last year 2024 is dragon year babies took PSLE. Wild swing in the results and secondary school allocation. Usually scores that can get into top 10 school, end up having to choose other schools.

Eliwood

It appears that the tantrum throwing will just get worse between 2 to 4 years old. If they want something and you don't give it to them, all the even louder screamings will come.

It is also an outcome of how you teach them...

It is impt to mete out both punishment and reward.

Mystyque

This is quite true. My son was most exasperating around 4 and now my daughter too. But once over this hump, it gets easier in many ways as their ability to communicate and comprehend improves. Just need to tahan… then you can progress to next level: primary school :s13:

Dj_SkyE

This is quite true. My son was most exasperating around 4 and now my daughter too. But once over this hump, it gets easier in many ways as their ability to communicate and comprehend improves. Just need to tahan… then you can progress to next level: primary school :s13:
Pri school time is monitor homework liao. That one is another headache.

o blong

Better to regret not having kids than regret having one.

It's too late for regrets now TS.

Is good that most ppl cannot unnerstand this concept

Thankful for them to do national serbice bah

footi3

bet TS and wife never piak piak for 14 months liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.