Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

oceanpriest

Not JB but Singapore, I think closest to jb style wanton mee in sg that I can find...

Order white with chili, and dumpling. Can skip the charsiew. Egg noodle is v good, probably sourced from jb supplier. Dumpling v good, have water chestnut and hint of sesame oil.

Yap Kee Wanton Egg Noodles
Holland Drive food court
https://maps.app.goo.gl/cBYppmsYnuUjLTDQ9

https://www.misstamchiak.com/yap-kee-wanton-noodles/
Found old blog post, actually owner is brother of flying wanton mee at Johor jaya. No wonder...

Edit: I forgot ah b also have branch at kallang

Coffeelix

Ah QIANG Otah has temporarily suspended selling Otah and is selling their home grown Jamu.
Before I found Ah QIANG seller, I mistakenly bought from another Otah seller there.
This one👇and it is NOT to our liking.
Missed Ah QIANG Otah.

Later found ah QIANG stall selling Jambu and we loved the sampling enhanced with the dried mandarin peel. Bought the mandarin peel for Rm10 a bottle together with the Jambu also Rm10 a bag.

lazy999

Hii everyone, is there any good dim sum shop to recommend nearby tebrau aeon? Planning to bring my mum go in shopping during mother day week.

Will be grabbing when there.

Coffeelix

Compared to the 3 wanton noodles at taman sentosa and ksl, uncle koh is really not good.

Btw at tuta there that G cheong fun stall further down got a cw holidays. Is that a bus terminal? Tua aminah bus station. No cw bus from jb sentral right
Majority likes uncle koh.
So I would say taste is subjective.

Coffeelix

Have been a long long time haven’t got tasted this wok hei hor fun liao.
Chance upon it when we visited the Thai food to want to eat the fried rice.
It is only Rm8 for this plate of delicious executed for this old school hor fun with so much ingredients: egg, slice pork, prawns and lots of green veggies: chye sim.

Tabao sin chew fried bee hoon at Rm8 to try later.
Also tabao curry chicken rice and kou lou York rice for friends at Rm10 each.
Very affordable, good cooking and lots of ingredients.
Overheard a big group of Indo family ordered the dishes like curry pork ribs fish etc

On entering, this corner coffee shop is right on your left. Don’t need to go further

This is the stall. Chef is a middle age man. Better than Lai Heng seafood at peeling. Most of all, it is so so cheap for such high standard of cooking and loaded with ingredients.

Here is the menu

Signboard

Andrew833

Hii everyone, is there any good dim sum shop to recommend nearby tebrau aeon? Planning to bring my mum go in shopping during mother day week.

Will be grabbing when there.
TASIXI Hong Kong Dim Sum - Mount Austin - old school, not bad
Jiah Xiang Dim Sum - Mount Austin - someone share that it's good
Gim Cheng Dim Sum Restaurant - old school, not bad, no aircon but windy (fans)

To me, 2 of the best but not near to the area you want.
Pin Ming Xuan
Chang Man

Andrew833

It is only Rm8 for this plate of delicious executed for this old school hor fun with so much ingredients: egg, slice pork, prawns and lots of green veggies: chye sim.

Overheard a big group of Indo family ordered the dishes like curry pork ribs fish etc

On entering, this corner coffee shop is right on your left. Don’t need to go further

This is the stall. Chef is a middle age man. Better than Lai Heng seafood at peeling. Most of all, it is so so cheap for such high standard of cooking and loaded with ingredients.

Here is the menu

Signboard

Baliban, I went there nothing exciting leh. My wife shake head, so skip that place liao.

Coffeelix

Here is the menu

Signboard

this zhi char closes on alternate Thursday. We are lucky today is not the off day.
operating hours : 12:30 pm yo

Correction:
The corner coffesshop is on your right on entering .

The coffeeshop signboard in placed inside

https://imgur.com/a/9FUdQoX

See the big group of indo family

https://imgur.com/a/D3bDLBK

Coffeelix

Baliban, I went there nothing exciting leh. My wife shake head, so skip that place liao.
Agree that the look isn’t exciting cos we are there to eat and not feast our 👀 😂

It isn’t air con and doesn’t look so appealing to most sinkies …

it is in a decent & clean environment.
Those unhygienic places, I won’t go especially if smelly smelly cos my sensitive nose won’t take it.

I go for value for $ nice food & not for aesthetic appealing look ones

lazy999

TASIXI Hong Kong Dim Sum - Mount Austin - old school, not bad
Jiah Xiang Dim Sum - Mount Austin - someone share that it's good
Gim Cheng Dim Sum Restaurant - old school, not bad, no aircon but windy (fans)

To me, 2 of the best but not near to the area you want.
Pin Ming Xuan
Chang Man
Thanks for the recommandation

Habrosus

Empress went during sch holidays. She says b4 0630 aldy ppl queue. I guess she 1 of those kiasu. She remarked crowded max 🤣🙏
My stay from Thursday to Saturday already could see food and crowd differences. :crazy:

And oh, there should be a sign at the reception showing expected peak and off peak breakfast crowd timeslots. :grin:

oceanpriest

Majority likes uncle koh.
So I would say taste is subjective.
Majority also likes BOD :grin:

Your direction very difficult to follow. Intersection of this road and that road. Corner shop house one. Under the bridge. Over the rainbow. Have google maps link? 🤣🙏

at first, i thought the place is at Jalan Sehala, then i realized it's Jalan Mawar 3 :crazy:

Coffeelix

Ah B before shop open also ppl already start queueing :grin:
Ok ok 👌
Next trip there, I take location for you .
😂

Don’t buy imported goods in MY as their USA tax is 47% va sg 10%.
No wonder their imported goods is more ex than sg

Here is the list of reciprocal tariffs

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.