Breaking: Trump hits Singapore with 10% Tarriffs

zhiguzai

When Singapore imposed import tax that affects us consumer directly, no one dare to kpkb. Why US imposed tariff that does not affect consumer in Singapore why we want to kpkb? No logic.

zoossh

vbRNTDm.png

In my opinion, off topic can only be and at most be given verbal warning, and it cannot be a hidden post

Many times the so called off topic is actually not off topic at all, but are spot on comparisons.

So giving out a warning without hiding the post can allow the other viewers to judge for themselves if it is really not off topic and they can just ignore it when the warning is not justified

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
when things get real. when sg gov is put to the test, the moment of true has come, do our ministers deserve the pay and recognition they demand.

lets see how smart is our 4gl leaders. talk is cheap, now we see. watever solution they present will determine my vote.

if pap accept without counter this will open door to encourage such policy to continue or increase and it wont just be us, it will be other countries too, we lose.

if pap counter tariff well sg is too small, we will be at disadvantage in a tariff war, we lose.

Dudick

It had a sibei big impact on Singapore lei

I would expect "Asia best news station" to at least have commentary from experts on what should Singapore do and not just reposting articles from foreign news outlets

What big impact? US citizens need to pay more for made in SG stuffs, so can TS name any made in SG stuffs that US buy in bulk from us?

zoossh

Not even lunch time and can see the tiong and/ or jiuhu supporters chiong in to stir and want SG to help them make noise liao.

Well, we have 9% GST on imports and 0% GST on exports and big duties on cars and cigarettes and alcohol, so how to complain a 10% export tariff?

And what exactly do we manufacture extensively here for export to USA that will impact us greatly?

Now more countries might want to set up companies here to "import" then "export" to USA.

And we would actually benefit in areas of jobs like accounting and audit and regulatory compliance.

Our government should re-consider the Major Exporter and other schemes to make sure such companies pay some taxes in Singapore.

Maybe if not for tiktok chew, we will get even less tariff not that it matters a lot though

But maybe we can earn as a middle man? After all all the laundry and illegal nvdia chips someone surely benefited from it?

priore

Actually, I quote from ST:

"US imports to Singapore have enjoyed zero tariffs for more than two decades, and they have also enjoyed..."

But Trump said we have imposed 10% on them right?

That's the whole point of this tariff being "reciprocal" right?

But we ownself claim we have not been taxing their stuff?

I confused.

ZaiNan

What big impact? Sinkies no feel one it's equivalent to paying 9% GST

The next big impact will be our incumbent charging us 10% after election year then tell us MYBFD, US also charging 10% base fee liao across the board

priore

Oxygenatedwater

Not even lunch time and can see the tiong and/ or jiuhu supporters chiong in to stir and want SG to help them make noise liao.

Well, we have 9% GST on imports and 0% GST on exports and big duties on cars and cigarettes and alcohol, so how to complain a 10% export tariff?

And what exactly do we manufacture extensively here for export to USA that will impact us greatly?

Now more countries might want to set up companies here to "import" then "export" to USA.

And we would actually benefit in areas of jobs like accounting and audit and regulatory compliance.

Our government should re-consider the Major Exporter and other schemes to make sure such companies pay some taxes in Singapore.
glad more people are aware

Racking2322

Tuckie

Actually, I quote from ST:

"US imports to Singapore have enjoyed zero tariffs for more than two decades, and they have also enjoyed..."

Source: https://www.straitstimes.com/busine...ill-engage-us-to-clarify-calculations-dpm-gan

But Trump said we have imposed 10% on them right?

That's the whole point of this tariff being "reciprocal" right?

But we ownself claim we have not been taxing their stuff?
U know how trump derive the “tariff” or not? Suggest you go read up first before commenting.

his reciprocal is also wrongly used. Only the ill informed will think what he says is correct

dezzo69

It had a sibei big impact on Singapore lei

I would expect "Asia best news station" to at least have commentary from experts on what should Singapore do and not just reposting articles from foreign news outlets

depends what our gahmen intends to do.

trump actually doing this to reduce US trade deficit with all other nations. however, US trade surplus with SG is in the billions.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.