Breaking: Trump hits Singapore with 10% Tarriffs

ThisIsSparta

we can send our ITE english people to nego with trump

start off with ts, who can use very advanced words like "reiterate"

NOfLine

Challenge now is to make products where even tariffs are not going to stop Americans from buying -

Beyonce diametes thongs...free size - kevlar to hold every little bits together. Copyright pending.

That will fly off the shelf tariffs or not.

menthol28

join the remaining global avengers alliance.
since USA is imposing tariff on every single countries

SKor. Jpan, Chn is has started close door talking tgt btw themselves
Let's see how China , Japan and S.korea can share the same table when historically there's so much distrust amongst the 3 of them 😂

ZhuMingQiang

It had a sibei big impact on Singapore lei

I would expect "Asia best news station" to at least have commentary from experts on what should Singapore do and not just reposting articles from foreign news outlets

Basically, our country is going through the uncharted territory.
Need time to observe the full impact of this tariff hike from the Trump administration.

zoossh

It had a sibei big impact on Singapore lei

I would expect "Asia best news station" to at least have commentary from experts on what should Singapore do and not just reposting articles from foreign news outlets

Big impact on sg?

Since when are we an export orientated country?

letonzy

Even with production costs and workers' salaries being 10 times higher than in China or Vietnam, the production efficiency of U.S. factories will not be able to match that of factories in Vietnam or China. So nobody will move their factory. Instead, they will simply increase the prices of iPhones and Nike products, passing the tariffs on to U.S. consumers. Expect hyperinflation to hit the U.S.

I think not so easy to raise price esp when factories could be flushed with inventory if minus usa market. big cooperation like Walmart and Amazon sure nego or force the price down.

Sango123

Key Trends and Figures:
  • Total U.S. Goods Trade with Singapore (2024): $89.2 billion

• U.S. Goods Exports to Singapore (2024): $46 billion, up 8.4% ($3.6 billion) from 2023

• U.S. Goods Imports from Singapore (2024): $43.2 billion, up 5.6% ($2.3 billion) from 2023
We actually imports from US more than we exports

That is why we got 10% which is the lowest among everyone

menthol28

More likely a policy to force US companies to move their factories back to USA so that Trump can boost employment. Just look at the worst hit countries like Vietnam, Myanmar, Cambodia with 30-49%... These countries are where the factories are based for goods exported to USA

menthol28

More likely a policy to force US companies to move their factories back to USA so that Trump can boost employment. Just look at the worst hit countries like Vietnam, Myanmar, Cambodia with 30-49%... These countries are where the factories are based for goods exported to USA

d5dude

Offshore manufacturing, but at the same time don't enjoy free entry to those markets. Very one-sided leh

A lot of countries have protectionistic trade barriers to protect their uncompetitive national companies. Just see neighbouring bolehland can liao, without steep import duties, you think proton, perodua can dominate the car market?

Its not about trade barriers, its about trade imbalance.

https://www.cnbc.com/2025/04/03/how-did-the-us-arrive-at-its-tariff-figures-.html

Many countries with little to no trade barriers also got hit by high tariffs.

ksapple

Tariffs serve a purpose in the beginning to try and get own industry up and to scale.

If you are at scale and cannot compete then tariffs are not going to help you.

One thing for sure is prices gonna be high for a while in US as the floor is set at what US Companies can afford to sell at
But isnt those tit for tat countries also affected like EU and Canada also?

The 2 countries keep on kpkb say it will hurt usa more than them then now they also implement same value worth of tariff

kuti-kuti

Sg LW can tell Trump "Now look here, we SG allows your fighter jets and warships to land & anchor here and we do not charge your military at all. So we hope you'll withdraw the tariffs as a goodwill gesture"

Steady lah, trump will get proud and prata as usual....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.