• Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

miko66

Good la
AMK is machiam like Hougang ..

Even if WP or PSP sent team A to AMK, they'll still remain undefeated one ..

Likewise if pap were to send bro ng to Hougang

Damienic

Former Chief of Army David Neo visits Tampines North residents with MP Baey Yam Keng​

It's a great day to be a volunteer at Tampines North?

Former Chief of Army David Neo, 47, was spotted doing house visits with Tampines GRC Member of Parliament Baey Yam Keng.

According to a Facebook post by Baey, Neo joined him on Apr. 4 evening and a few residents could recognise this "new volunteer".

Neo, a Major-General, passed the baton to Brigadier-General Cai Dexian, 40, on Mar. 21, 2025.

He was touted as a potential People's Action Party (PAP) candidate, along with two former Singapore armed forces (SAF) leaders Dinesh Vasu Dash and Goh Pei Ming.

In the past week, Neo also expressed his gratitude towards pioneers in the Singapore Army and also reflected on what he considered as his biggest achievement when he was the Chief of Army.

He concluded that it's all about the people and the things he did that touched them.

Here's what he said in two Instagram posts, beginning with 'it's a great day to be a soldier!':

"As I handed over the role of Chief of Army, I am deeply thankful and appreciative of the pioneers who went before us and built an Army that is more than capable of defending Singapore and Singaporeans. Our first Chief of the General Staff LG Winston Choo, Chief Defense Scientist Prof Lui Pao Chuen, Chief Commando Officer LTC Clarence Tan, and all my Commanders and seniors who did the hard stuff before us, so we can continue the work of Army STRONG. And for reminding us that it's always about taking care of our soldiers, so that we can take care of the mission."

"An often asked question in my last month of service is what do I consider my biggest achievements as Chief. It's not the big acquisitions or the big plans, but what really matters to me are the things we did that touched our people.

Because in the final analysis, it's always all about people. It's the only thing that we remember, it's the only thing that matters, and the only thing that we never regret spending time on. And it's our job to take care of our people, so that every day is a great day to be a soldier."

Neo is the first Commando officer to be appointed COA.

Neo graduated from the University of Illinois with a Bachelor of Engineering degree with honours in electrical engineering and a Bachelor of Arts degree with distinction in economics.

He subsequently completed a Master of Business Administration degree in business administration, management and operations at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and a Master of Science degree in operations research at Stanford University.

Top image via Baey Yam Keng's and David Neo's Instagrams

PAP always like to field this kind of candidate from army. Change the soup but not the medicine. Still got people think generals like this can effectively represent us meh?

Damienic

Now NSP is a party of uncles and noisy people. Last time they got 42 or 43% in Marine Parade due to chiobu effect of Nicole Seah
Yeah lo Nicole was the star appeal then la. That’s why Lau Goh joked that they should be called the Nicole Seah party. Uncle never mind, at least can talk properly and have good proposals like TCB still ok. But I look at Cheo Cai Chen. Alamak, CMI Sia

Tormented Soul

Yeah lo Nicole was the star appeal then la. That’s why Lau Goh joked that they should be called the Nicole Seah party. Uncle never mind, at least can talk properly and have good proposals like TCB still ok. But I look at Cheo Cai Chen. Alamak, CMI Sia
It's horrendous how badly run NSP is. I mean they were never good to begin with but you would have thought a party that was created in the 1980s would have been way more credible than they are now. The only year they were relevant was during Nicole Seah period.

kingmaker888

It's horrendous how badly run NSP is. I mean they were never good to begin with but you would have thought a party that was created in the 1980s would have been way more credible than they are now. The only year they were relevant was during Nicole Seah period.
Yup nsp of today is different

weng0202

I think it's quite sad though that we are judging people by how they look and speak. They may not be the strongest candidate, but they also give Singapore Citizens a chance to exercise their democratic right to vote.

Moreover we are electing MPs. Do we need every MP to have gone to elite university?
So that you can vote for ppl who don't have what it takes to represent you in parliament?

Ethan_

PAP always like to field this kind of candidate from army. Change the soup but not the medicine. Still got people think generals like this can effectively represent us meh?
Think perhaps one thing good about career soldier is they are disciplined, obey order, thus can toe the line bah, which in incumbent case, its the party line maybe. But then think those in command position are also independent thinking. Throw them a target, they will make sure they get to it one way or another. Thus best of both. :s22:

Damienic

one of the party’s founding member was this guy called Sebastian Teo. He often talks at rallies resembling someone who is spoiling for a fight. Yes, the party is badly run and lacks direction. At one stage Steve Chia was one of their party member and he had a decent showing in CCK SMC and got in as NCMP. Alas he was embroiled in the scandal and soon become irrelevant. For many years the party was like dormant until the 2011 GE where they got Nicole Seah but the presence of Nicole Seah merely masked away the inadequacies of their party.

TopGun

So that you can vote for ppl who don't have what it takes to represent you in parliament?

So that you can actually cast a vote for people whom you think have what it takes to represent you in parliament.

Damienic

Think perhaps one thing good about career soldier is they are disciplined, obey order, thus can toe the line bah, which in incumbent case, its the party line maybe. But then think those in command position are also independent thinking. Throw them a target, they will make sure they get to it one way or another. Thus best of both. :s22:
My perception of these military peole is that they are regimental and often views obeying instructions and hierachy of utmost priority. Their career path is ”bestowed” by the ruling party, hence they will always remain fiercely loyal to the PAP and not the country, nor the people. Of course there might be some exceptions, like I was somewhat impressed with George Yeo. But I would warned against having too many military people serving in the cabinet.

Greygrey

This type is actually to embarras the existing GRC MPs.

You will see the percentage of people who will vote for alternative regardless of who they field.

Imagine them taking 25% ...... if you incumbent you proud meh?

If they take 30% or more..... 🤣

alvincy

yes, the more winnable seat for SDP is actually Bukit Panjang.

Unfortunately, Sembawang West is more of a PAP stronghold than Bukit Batok ever was. At least in the case of Bukit Batok SMC, back in the late 80s and early 90s, it had close results. In contrast, no part of Sembawang has ever been competitive.

SDP should move on from Chee and go all in on Bukit Panjang SMC if they want to win a seat in parliament

My bro is in Sembawang West SMC. Even my niece also said the MP never appear only keep organizing simi fitness events then she appeared.

mgx-alander

So that you can actually cast a vote for people whom you think have what it takes to represent you in parliament.
My vote for oppies is vote of no confidence and disapproval of incumbent policies

Middle finger vote kym

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.