Foreign riders confronted on video for making illegal deliveries in S'pore: 'This mission cannot be stopped'

orpisia

again.... if they catch all this foreigner riders... who got the worse setback???

consumer?? the original rider account?? the foreigner rider??

or the food delivery companies....

this is why LTA wont ban PMD, PMA etc or pro active to catch them...
will result lesser profit for the companies... and the companies who invested in them... you know i know
But come on la

Law is law

Break the law, must kena

congster2

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/sing...o-for-making-illegal-deliveries-in-spore-this

"A question about illegal foreign delivery riders was raised in Parliament in November 2023.

The Manpower Minister said in a written answer: "The nature of food delivery work is decentralised and mobile. Hence, the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) relies mainly on complaints to detect possible instances of foreigners working illegally as food delivery riders, in order to carry out enforcement actions.

"From 2018 till Oct 18, 2023, MOM received a total of 163 complaints on suspected illegal foreign delivery riders."

Kudos to Danny n friends.

So tis issue has been ard for yrs n even raised in parliament in 2023. Wat changed?

N dun say Singaporeans like to complain. Mom minister say they rely on complaints to take action. So no complaints they dun work😂
Of course. There are other priorities. This kind of stupid thing more efficient to be intel driven.

tokong

Aiyo, this cannot be stopped la, just like dirty massage places. That's why the raids are continuous.

People have become lazier thus the high demand is there for food to be sent to them.

There is just not enough food deliverers to cover every nook and corner of Singapore. Let's say you are camping at Sarimbun or you are camping in Pulau Ubin, you want to buy 8 sets of western delights like Smith's chicken/fish and chips at 7pm. You can get any foreign worker to deliver to you, you should tao cheo liao.

The food delivery industry is already limited to Singaporeans and PRs only. Of course there will be little fishes and prawns who have slipped through the fish net, I can bet with my head that the number of foreign food deliverers are much higher in reality.

There is just not enough local riders to go around even if it is hailed to be a flexible and lucrative gig job. People who can find a normal (or acceptable or good) job outside will not take up food rider job one. They take up food rider is because boh bian, some people need to take care of autistic kids, sick parents, some are a little handicapped, some due to personal problems are jobless forever, or they are senior citizens who want an income - anyway this community some have hardship one. And for the normal example you are an engineer liao why on earth you still want to deliver food at night? Shouldn't you take a rest? After a hectic day at work rushing projects, you'd rather watch TV when you get home or you want to deliver food? You short of money. Urgent? Same situation for foreign riders. Why did they take up rider job after work? Sibeh siong one leh. They need the extra cash. They can ride back to jb at 6pm liao why still deliver food in SG after work? Some riders look like tiong also, their pay also low what. They are not foreign talents, they are foreign workers, pay is sure low one.

So if anything happens n they just run back wat u gonna do?
Can be solved with just one strike (and they have the techs to do it), but I find it funny nothing is done. Just make it compulsory for the deliverer to verify with his fingerprint/face + gps + customer's door number and timestamp all at once when the food reaches each customer's place. If the deliverer's fingerprint + face is not the original registered Singaporean, message will sent to food rider HQ and the next day the bogus deliverer will be caught. There is no way to circumvent this because the only way to get around this is to have the original Singaporean registered rider and the foreign rider (to which the sinkie rents out his food rider account) to deliver food together, which is pointless.

Ethan_

Any sinkies wan to take up the job? If yes , companies would not be hiring them lor
Think alot of locals are doing. Its only about the few so called reserved jobs for locals who got nowhere else to go. Those kanna relegated, displaced, and discriminated.

Their job would earns way much better, if not for the many foreign competition. Some of which are converted. But can hear very distinct their foreign accent. Find it quite strange they can get localise for such low level job.

orpisia

Aiyo, this cannot be stopped la, just like dirty massage places. That's why the raids are continuous.

People have become lazier thus the high demand is there for food to be sent to them.

There is just not enough food deliverers to cover every nook and corner of Singapore. Let's say you are camping at Sarimbun or you are camping in Pulau Ubin, you want to buy 8 sets of western delights like Smith's chicken/fish and chips at 7pm. You can get any foreign worker to deliver to you, you should tao cheo liao.

The food delivery industry is already limited to Singaporeans and PRs only. Of course there will be little fishes and prawns who have slipped through the fish net, I can bet with my head that the number of foreign food deliverers are much higher in reality.

There is just not enough local riders to go around even if it is hailed to be a flexible and lucrative gig job. People who can find a normal (or acceptable or good) job outside will not take up food rider job one. They take up food rider is because boh bian, some people need to take care of autistic kids, sick parents, some are a little handicapped, some due to personal problems are jobless forever, or they are senior citizens who want an income - anyway this community some have hardship one. And for the normal example you are an engineer liao why on earth you still want to deliver food at night? Shouldn't you take a rest? After a hectic day at work rushing projects, you'd rather watch TV when you get home or you want to deliver food? You short of money. Urgent? Same situation for foreign riders. Why did they take up rider job after work? Sibeh siong one leh. They need the extra cash. They can ride back to jb at 6pm liao why still deliver food in SG after work? Some riders look like tiong also, their pay also low what. They are not foreign talents, they are foreign workers, pay is sure low one.

Can be solved with just one strike (and they have the techs to do it), but I find it funny nothing is done. Just make it compulsory for the deliverer to verify with his fingerprint/face + gps + customer's door number and timestamp all at once when the food reaches each customer's place. If the deliverer's fingerprint + face is not the original registered Singaporean, message will sent to food rider HQ and the next day the bogus deliverer will be caught. There is no way to circumvent this because the only way to get around this is to have the original Singaporean registered rider and the foreign rider (to which the sinkie rents out his food rider account) to deliver food together, which is pointless.
Good idea

But scarly during account registration time, the Singaporean meet up with the foreigner then when the app asks to show face, is use the foreigner's face

niefeng80

Got ah bang share with me when I was doing grab food that some of his friends got passive income by leasing out their account to JHK. Food panda, Grabfood, lalamove etc. Every month can get $400 to $600++ for doing nothing. Seems like win win situation to them.

pohw0008

Good idea

But scarly during account registration time, the Singaporean meet up with the foreigner then when the app asks to show face, is use the foreigner's face
Probably need the original ic also la.. if nvr check properly mean really lousy price.. just go thru motion..

tokong

Good idea

Cannot be leh. Singapass verification won't get through (but not sure register food rider need singpass currently, sorry not familiar with this field app).

Joseph12

There are just too many places, you want to activate thousands of officers everyday catch meh. I think got many better things to do.
It can be done
Only the incompetent and lazy civil servants under PAP give excuses and say cannot be done

Need one rule breaker who tells the minister what he requires like X manpower and Y resources and can get it done

batman_888

But come on la

Law is law

Break the law, must kena
but you affect the food delivery companies income who are heavily invested by MIW....

if they really care, they already take action on such pma, pmd on a stricter mode... or foreigner taking sinkie account

champion09

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/sing...o-for-making-illegal-deliveries-in-spore-this

"A question about illegal foreign delivery riders was raised in Parliament in November 2023.

The Manpower Minister said in a written answer: "The nature of food delivery work is decentralised and mobile. Hence, the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) relies mainly on complaints to detect possible instances of foreigners working illegally as food delivery riders, in order to carry out enforcement actions.

"From 2018 till Oct 18, 2023, MOM received a total of 163 complaints on suspected illegal foreign delivery riders."

So tis issue has been ard for yrs n even raised in parliament in 2023. Wat changed?

N dun say Singaporeans like to complain. Mom minister say they rely on complaints to take action. So no complaints they dun work😂
this sort of lame excuses also believe ah? You go after those who pay them. If illegal couriers are found and arrested, the hiring company (or whoevers that pay them) gets fine 1000x, you see whether if anyone still dare to hire or not.

Joseph12

Not really
It's a matter of want to do or not

There's one way but PAP refuses to do
Which is confiscate their earnings which PAP don't dare
If no money, go jail over 5 to 6 figures
It will be a long sentence

tessss

basically, it means they are asking we all to monitor for them.

this is foc outsourced monitoring.

and after we monitor and send them complains, they will suspect those are illegal foreign delivery riders.

so monitor and suspect, but no mention of action taken against the 163 complains

pohw0008

Fingerprint easy to fake though.. can be made then u just need to wear it to authorize.. face recognition probably harder to fake..

orpisia

Probably need the original ic also la.. if nvr check properly mean really lousy price.. just go thru motion..

Cannot be leh. Singapass verification won't get through (but not sure register food rider need singpass currently, sorry not familiar with this field app).
I think following from your suggestions

Best is now the platform operators grabfood foodpanda deliveroo require all the Singaporean or PR account owners go down to the platform operators HQs in person to re-take the face pic and check the IC

Do it in batches, like how govt give out money

Lydat once and for all settle can bo?

dambio

this sort of lame excuses also believe ah? You go after those who pay them. If illegal couriers are found and arrested, the hiring company (or whoevers that pay them) gets fine 1000x, you see whether if anyone still dare to hire or not.
They wun la. If not they'll take action long time ago.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.