Market continues to crash

Sylar22

Consumer Sentiment:
  • Current conditions 56.5 vs 61.5 expected
  • Expectations 47.2 vs 50.8 expected -- lowest since the bottom of the pandemic
  • 1-year inflation 6.7% vs 4.9% prior -- highest since 1981
  • 5-year inflation 4.4% vs 3.9% prior -- highest since 1991

Eh, and you guys should see USD and treasury yields...

Something is really going on.
Chor liao

4.527%

smellyfish

Sometimes I feel it is because of Xi's paranoia that resulted in all this.

I remember China was at its golden age up till 2010s... When they start doing all those 'purges' in the name of anti-corruption. But many believe he's just consolidating power nia. Then after that, another round of purging near COVID (remember the ex-Premier tio purged while the committee hearing?), .etc etc.

All these purging also means he also purged talented and smart officials. Most of these officials that got purged are in opposing faction de. Though opposite, they are smart because of their experience and years being officials.

I guess that's why their leadership lost their edge as compared to the past...
i have never forgave them for what they did to Dongguan :mad:

I_am_bored

first weekly green candle. just stay invested.
we won't know where the bottom is, just buy in tranches and stay invested.

It's a induced crash, not a structural interest rate problem.

Will not be able to tell whether it's going to be V-shape, U-shape, W-shape recovery.
So stay invested and buy in tranches.

Godbleseu

The better than expected historical PPI data are meaningless actually, because its the past data, what matters most is the current trade war which will 100% increase inflation data be it you like it or not.

Hence I would take a view that market will continue to fall as we are already in bear market and a true recession in making as confirmed by President Trump.

AuraKUPO

Knn so fast u turn again US pls come clean
Just follow my predictions and you won't k n n next time. Recession is here, even Trump acknowledged. He didn't say he will prevent recession, he said a pain is required. What does that tells you? He is expecting a recession and he welcomes it.

Means what? QQQ SPY drop 30% at least in the coming month. Circuit breaker happening more often every week. The 90 day pause will not help, but delay the drop so that his friends can run.

Visor9999

Consumer Sentiment:
  • Current conditions 56.5 vs 61.5 expected
  • Expectations 47.2 vs 50.8 expected -- lowest since the bottom of the pandemic
  • 1-year inflation 6.7% vs 4.9% prior -- highest since 1981
  • 5-year inflation 4.4% vs 3.9% prior -- highest since 1991

Eh, and you guys should see USD and treasury yields...

Something is really going on.

So is fed going to raise interest rates due to inflation?

BunnyPancake

Unlikely... Probably stay at same rate.

Had Trump continued with his tariffs war with all countries around the world, then Fed may had to reduce rates to help the economy. But Trump has withdrawn and only fight with China head-on (until after the 90 days suspension, of course).

Powell already said many times... Their dual mandate has always been: 2% inflation rate, and good employment rate. And just recently, Fed officials also said before, sticky inflation is more important.

Since employment data seems relatively good, but with inflation still high, it is very unlikely... That is why yesterday CPI headline say numbers drop and the market rallied, but as soon as they said food inflation went up, market U-turn liao.

But with treasury yields already high after Trump's fiasco, and yields strangely going up even higher now, Fed want to increase interest rate also hard because it will make their interest payment higher.

They seem to be stuck...

Mechafanboy

Fed can only set the Fed Funds Rate.

The real interest rate is determined by free market, like the recent surge in 10 year yield which caused by bond holders selling off their treasuries... Why is that the case? The best theory I heard so far is, the US treasury market is facing an illiquidity problem at the moment.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.