• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

Damienic

Now the PAP leaders talks about the US tariffs every day. Even during today‘s unveiling of PAP manifesto, LW talks about the likely impact from US tariffs again. Really repeating like a broken record. But sometimes, when people hear something being spoken about every day, it will then become a form of truth for them in no time. Brain washing can work without people realising it

Philippng

If locals fail to find decent jobs due to competition from FT, you mean it has nothing to do with PAP govt readily allowing FT to come to compete with us for jobs?
Bros, you seem to suggest FT is competing with Singaporean. Do you then think the FT bring along the benefit
of the Talent which we may not have acquire to help us solve our problem.
I am not saying that "FT" which we brought in must be talent. The problem is not in bring in the FT, the problem
is in bring in so called FT which is not the FT we need and these so called FT is in competition with our local.
Another point is that our govt keep forcing companies bringing FT to pay then high salary where they are willing
to take on job at a lower salary on the rational that increasing the salary companies will opt to employ Singaporean. This line of thinking is flaw, this merely raise cost and thus result in high cost of living.

charleslee1989

Now the PAP leaders talks about the US tariffs every day. Even during today‘s unveiling of PAP manifesto, LW talks about the likely impact from US tariffs again. Really repeating like a broken record. But sometimes, when people hear something being spoken about every day, it will then become a form of truth for them in no time. Brain washing can work without people realising it
So it is up to opposition to band together to dispel the fear mongering....

Those who at least studied H1 economics in JC/MI or economics in IB or economics classes in polys will find it strange on how the ruling party is framing it as the tariffs will only hurt singapore where the true target all along is the PRC??

icebleue

But I dunno if my hunch is correct (I hope not). From the last few elections, it seems to follow a pattern. PAP doing well, then not well, then very well again and not so well. 2020 is not so well and i hope 2025 is not going to be one where they return to doing well again. 😳
No correlation.
2011 - Population White Paper (Mass importation of foreign talent from 2007 - 2011, resulting in improvement in quality of opposition candidates - Lee Li Lian, Hazel Poa, Nicole Seah, Gerald Giam, Chen Show Mao, Pritam Singh entered their first ge. First time LTK changed the entire image of WP... and won Aljunied GRC.

2015 - LKY effect, emotions run high after his death and all the hype with SG50. Many decided to give PAP a second chance. They also realised that many are unhappy with them after the mass import, scale down a bit.. 2013 saw WP winning Punggol east in a by election despite a three way fight.

2020 - COVID effect. Candidates werent as strong as 2011's candidacy. Due to Covid, opposition also didnt manage to get enough quality candidates to contest.

2025 - High cost of living, everything going up. Rising rentals caused many restaurants and SMEs to close down... HDB flat prices soar during COVID and never came back down.... HDB BTO also cost around $100,000 more as compared to 5 years back. Jobs scarce again as economy grew, PAP again mass import FT, fast track all the digital passes... if you are fresh grad, you are basically screwed... So we are talking about back to 2011 situation, just that time round no boomers to help them. (-5% boomers after many die enmass due to covid and age related.) 2021 also saw population decrease as many new citizens pack up for better pastures. Gaza issue seems to affect our local muslims somehow and with the ex NMP controversy things arent looking good.

icebleue

Must meditate - Jobs for FT... if they are really concerned they should stop all those fast track digital passes, SP, EP... if not how will our fresh graduates have a headstart in their career.

TwyPlasma

RP always score bottom or close to bottom in the proportion of votes for the last 3 election they contested
lol, of all the times they contested in amk, they always score lesser than the single attempt by wp suicide squad in 2006

peterlim95

I wonder if WP Tan Chen Chen is standing in this upcoming GE ? Last GE she was fielded in Punggol west smc n scored 39% against SXL . If she goes to Punggol GRC , there’s chance for WP to capture it …

Damienic

No correlation.
2011 - Population White Paper (Mass importation of foreign talent from 2007 - 2011, resulting in improvement in quality of opposition candidates - Lee Li Lian, Hazel Poa, Nicole Seah, Gerald Giam, Chen Show Mao, Pritam Singh entered their first ge. First time LTK changed the entire image of WP... and won Aljunied GRC.

2015 - LKY effect, emotions run high after his death and all the hype with SG50. Many decided to give PAP a second chance. They also realised that many are unhappy with them after the mass import, scale down a bit.. 2013 saw WP winning Punggol east in a by election despite a three way fight.

2020 - COVID effect. Candidates werent as strong as 2011's candidacy. Due to Covid, opposition also didnt manage to get enough quality candidates to contest.

2025 - High cost of living, everything going up. Rising rentals caused many restaurants and SMEs to close down... HDB flat prices soar during COVID and never came back down.... HDB BTO also cost around $100,000 more as compared to 5 years back. Jobs scarce again as economy grew, PAP again mass import FT, fast track all the digital passes... if you are fresh grad, you are basically screwed... So we are talking about back to 2011 situation, just that time round no boomers to help them. (-5% boomers after many die enmass due to covid and age related.) 2021 also saw population decrease as many new citizens pack up for better pastures. Gaza issue seems to affect our local muslims somehow and with the ex NMP controversy things arent looking good.
in your opinion, how do you think 2025 might turn out for the PAP?

peterlim95

So it is up to opposition to band together to dispel the fear mongering....

Those who at least studied H1 economics in JC/MI or economics in IB or economics classes in polys will find it strange on how the ruling party is framing it as the tariffs will only hurt singapore where the true target all along is the PRC??
We have an open economy with all countries so the decreased trade and shipping will affect sg too ?

xcodes

I mean they should be focusing on the latter lei, and not the former.

TS ... when you work and draw salary, your boss will voice out when you do wrong things right? or you want your boss to do the job you unable to perform? :s13:

charleslee1989

We have an open economy with all countries so the decreased trade and shipping will affect sg too ?

US has trade deficits with a lot of countries except a few.

The average american folk will buy buy and buy stuff. Their savings percentage is staggeringly low AF.

Tariffs hurts the export of a country to the US due to it being higher priced compare to other countries' export to the US.

But what if there is different levels of tariffs applied to different countries?? Those with the lowered tariffs suddenly find their price in the playing field being competitive in the consumer market compared to other countries. Guess only who in Asia has baseline tariffs?

The other option is for exporters to set up shop in the US.

Btw, our main big exports to US is actually services, semi conductors and electronics. All of which are not tariffed as of now.

So you tell me lor, the MIW got fear monger mah?

dqwong

I think right now it is hard to predict what would be the extended impact of the trump tariffs. In the short term the impact won’t be felt immediately but we cannot just sit still and watch the tide rise. We have to act in response and ensure that our ship doesn’t sink or get stuck in a bad spot.

xdivider

US has trade deficits with a lot of countries except a few.

The average american folk will buy buy and buy stuff. Their savings percentage is staggeringly low AF.

Tariffs hurts the export of a country to the US due to it being higher priced compare to other countries' export to the US.

But what if there is different levels of tariffs applied to different countries?? Those with the lowered tariffs suddenly find their price in the playing field being competitive in the consumer market compared to other countries. Guess only who in Asia has baseline tariffs?

The other option is for exporters to set up shop in the US.

Btw, our main big exports to US is actually services, semi conductors and electronics. All of which are not tariffed as of now.

So you tell me lor, the MIW got fear monger mah?
kinda obvious rite. TSL was talking about the evils of tariff but never mention how much we were exempted. this one basically is armchio while telling u stories with a straight face........

and no, im not saying no fear. im saying they are running around telling u the sky is falling. in uncertainty keep belts tighten and be prudent about eating 18 sgd pasta. it dun matter if they dun get a super majority unless its to increase GST to save the poor again.....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.