[GE2025] Punggol GRC

Greygrey

If you talk to young people nowadays you will sense that many are critical and entitled. When things are fine they don't thank you but when **** hits the fan they kpkb and those bto new dwellers fit exactly in this category.... see news on delay in bto, lousy workmanship and high bto prices etc ... I actually think they dilute the incumbent votes...🤣

couch.potato

U mean got new bto means will like papaya? I got bto but I dun care one. Anyway bto prices kenna chop carrot liao. Seng Kang so many new flats yet 2020 up lorry so quickly
I don’t agree that Sengkang got a lot of new BTOs lah, unless u count Fernvale where the most BTOs are built, they are not under Sengkang grc. Rivervale got very few, Compassvale I think only the area beyond skgh.

obviously I’m not saying all that gets BTO will vote for pap, why must u be so extreme?
im saying a lot who are sitting on gold mines are still doing well in life and still support pap. That’s why I say, u go Bidadari and ask Lor. Maybe will get different response?

being in the Reno field on Insta for quite a while (home insta sphere) I know a significant portion of younger millennials who are very pro pap, and yes, getting their BTO especially in expensive areas did contribute a lot to that. But of course, we may be in different circles and see different things. Usually people group with like people, so you can be entitled to your ground census Lor.

Wah sian sia really cannot even say things like 65% now lol. Too long never come edmw.
anyway, even on Reddit many are similarly worried like me… I’m not alone so I know the reflection of true sentiments can be very different at different areas.

anyway I’m a proud slum stayer and opposition voter. So I’ve done my part.

jericho75

I don’t agree that Sengkang got a lot of new BTOs lah, unless u count Fernvale where the most BTOs are built, they are not under Sengkang grc. Rivervale got very few, Compassvale I think only the area beyond skgh.

obviously I’m not saying all that gets BTO will vote for pap, why must u be so extreme?
im saying a lot who are sitting on gold mines are still doing well in life and still support pap. That’s why I say, u go Bidadari and ask Lor. Maybe will get different response?

being in the Reno field on Insta for quite a while (home insta sphere) I know a significant portion of younger millennials who are very pro pap, and yes, getting their BTO especially in expensive areas did contribute a lot to that. But of course, we may be in different circles and see different things. Usually people group with like people, so you can be entitled to your ground census Lor.

Wah sian sia really cannot even say things like 65% now lol. Too long never come edmw.
anyway, even on Reddit many are similarly worried like me… I’m not alone so I know the reflection of true sentiments can be very different at different areas.

anyway I’m a proud slum stayer and opposition voter. So I’ve done my part.

if u cannot get 2nd property, all those wealth effects are just illusion.

couch.potato

if u cannot get 2nd property, all those wealth effects are just illusion.
As I’ve said before for a lot of cases it’s easier than u think haha sadly
A few of them already reach their MOP and upgrade to EC already (home insta sphere), or second BTO
And secondly as a long time edmwer (not IB) told me before right here on edmw
Their children will have own BTO, their parents BTO, and parents insurance payout. Don’t need worry for them one. Hence where u see the votes.

but believe it or not of course up to individual.
I signed up to volunteer for Oppo one, I also stay in Oppo ward for almost my whole life, so I’m not trying to sow discord, people can feel different things and see different things.

i (amongst many others) are extra disillusioned this time. Don’t ask why, I also don’t know. See online sentiments also sian. 2020 as I’ve mentioned before, was quite heartening for opposition supporters. I remember walking around my estate and seeing the tiny wp flags people gladly put on their gates. PAP candidates even got cold shouldered (according to an article recently). This time, I’m not so sure yet, that’s all.

hung around enough young people to know, money is big in their world.

happy voting everyone, I only humbly hope for Sengkang to do the needful.

couch.potato

Yupp that's wad I mentioned in another post, u will realise that there are fewer pinoys on the streets over the past few years, ever since covid ended.
Ya my Filipino friends and also colleagues(?) in a way (I remote work with some of the, previously) say Singapore also too hot for them hahahaha Canada is very good and cold

jeffrey745

As I’ve said before for a lot of cases it’s easier than u think haha sadly
A few of them already reach their MOP and upgrade to EC already (home insta sphere), or second BTO
And secondly as a long time edmwer (not IB) told me before right here on edmw
Their children will have own BTO, their parents BTO, and parents insurance payout. Don’t need worry for them one. Hence where u see the votes.

but believe it or not of course up to individual.
I signed up to volunteer for Oppo one, I also stay in Oppo ward for almost my whole life, so I’m not trying to sow discord, people can feel different things and see different things.

i (amongst many others) are extra disillusioned this time. Don’t ask why, I also don’t know. See online sentiments also sian. 2020 as I’ve mentioned before, was quite heartening for opposition supporters. I remember walking around my estate and seeing the tiny wp flags people gladly put on their gates. PAP candidates even got cold shouldered (according to an article recently). This time, I’m not so sure yet, that’s all.

hung around enough young people to know, money is big in their world.

happy voting everyone, I only humbly hope for Sengkang to do the needful.

Do you feel that your life has improved as compared to 2020?

In terms of career and finances?

Jus a side note, those earning high salaries are not affected by high COL?

jeffrey745

Anyway, Canada economy isn't very good the past few years....

They got high cost of living, high taxes and stagnant wages... Many Canadians have left and relocated to Asian countries...

alvincy

One house upgrade to another house is not sustainable.

This will only cause property prices to rise further for first time owner for their very first BTO.

PAP formula will only benefit those with multiple properties. They huat but majority of the Singaporean will suffer.

icebleue

If you talk to young people nowadays you will sense that many are critical and entitled. When things are fine they don't thank you but when **** hits the fan they kpkb and those bto new dwellers fit exactly in this category.... see news on delay in bto, lousy workmanship and high bto prices etc ... I actually think they dilute the incumbent votes...🤣
Go reddit lo.. funny as ****.. many say polling day is Saturday.. spoil they weekend travelling plans.. voting oppies liao... lol.

couch.potato

Do you feel that your life has improved as compared to 2020?

In terms of career and finances?

Jus a side note, those earning high salaries are not affected by high COL?
Personally for me and my partner by society standards yes?
2023/2024 was quite shun for both of us, promotions and moved to a more ideal place. But we were the “lucky” ones. And our jobs have a different type of stability.

We are doing comfortably but we are also on the frugal side so I know how much groceries have gone up in price for cooking at home and taking bus etc. and I’ve seen my relatives lose it all so I know how volatile everything g can be.

not sure if those earning high salaries are because my circle /subset is small so I can’t speak for them (people don’t always tell their salary mahhhh), but a lot of middle-high incomers I come across are fence sitters and this time choose pap… they say unsure of both sides so decide for safety.

I also told this anecdote elsewhere mah,,, I have an oppo supporting friend last time always say Sengkang very lucky got good Oppo can vote, say his side no chance. When he finally moved into his BTO, and this time got chance of good Oppo… he decided he still leans towards pap…

All these to say, of course the ones with empathy or doing badly will see that Singapore is going in a fairly dangerous direction, but will everyone vote wisely? Will there be enough impetus for the portion who are still doing well and never experienced recession, job losses before in their industry/life to change their decision? We don’t know.

I think Gen Z quite enigma to me. I cannot predict their vote. But a huge part of millennials are still quite staunchly PAP supporters as “ meritocracy” has served them well so far.

couch.potato

One house upgrade to another house is not sustainable.

This will only cause property prices to rise further for first time owner for their very first BTO.

PAP formula will only benefit those with multiple properties. They huat but majority of the Singaporean will suffer.
It is kicking the can down. The road. But the ones doing well currently don’t want to be told that, only hear the good stuff.

deemax

SXL is very well liked in Punggol West. If it was still her standing in for SMC Punggol West, chance of losing is almost close to 0. But now merged into a GRC and if it contains the super unpopular put2cherry as dead weight, won't be surprise if this follow Sengkang GRC footstep.

jeffrey745

Personally for me and my partner by society standards yes?
2023/2024 was quite shun for both of us, promotions and moved to a more ideal place. But we were the “lucky” ones. And our jobs have a different type of stability.

We are doing comfortably but we are also on the frugal side so I know how much groceries have gone up in price for cooking at home and taking bus etc. and I’ve seen my relatives lose it all so I know how volatile everything g can be.

not sure if those earning high salaries are because my circle /subset is small so I can’t speak for them (people don’t always tell their salary mahhhh), but a lot of middle-high incomers I come across are fence sitters and this time choose pap… they say unsure of both sides so decide for safety.

I also told this anecdote elsewhere mah,,, I have an oppo supporting friend last time always say Sengkang very lucky got good Oppo can vote, say his side no chance. When he finally moved into his BTO, and this time got chance of good Oppo… he decided he still leans towards pap…

All these to say, of course the ones with empathy or doing badly will see that Singapore is going in a fairly dangerous direction, but will everyone vote wisely? Will there be enough impetus for the portion who are still doing well and never experienced recession, job losses before in their industry/life to change their decision? We don’t know.

I think Gen Z quite enigma to me. I cannot predict their vote. But a huge part of millennials are still quite staunchly PAP supporters as “ meritocracy” has served them well so far.

I see thanks for sharing your insights... If one's job is stable and can progress further, all is good... They wan things to continue the same way and don't see any reasons to change...

For those who got retrenched/ resigned and hard to get new jobs, they will be struggling day to day....

For some of those Gen-Zs who have difficulties finding jobs or progressing in their career it might cause them to swing their votes to the oppo....

Let's pray for the best results come election day and oppo can make further inroads...

jericho75

They can sell Bidadari and buy slumkang. Earn a lot and upgrade to large 5 room :s13:

but anyways nvm I rest my case, I hope I’m wrong anyway

u need to cow first. dun think is sell rolex buy a seiko sure earn. :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.