[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

evildoer

Alternative Revenue Channels to the GST​

WP MPs voted against the increase in GST to 9 per cent. We remain concerned that increased GST adds to Singaporeans’ cost of living burdens. The party proposes several less regressive revenue options which, in combination, will be sufficient to close the gap in anticipated increases in health and aged care costs.

• Allow the revenue from the first nine years of land sales to be booked as current revenue in the government’s budget. This is consistent with the government’s own treatment of leases of less than 10 years, while continuing to direct additional land sales revenue beyond the ninth year into government reserves;
  • Increase the Net Investment Returns Contribution (NIRC) from the current 50 per cent to 60 per cent. This will not diminish the principal reserves;
  • Increase corrective taxes on goods such as alcohol, carbon or tobacco;
  • Impose a net wealth tax of between 0.5 and 2 per cent on the assets of the top 1 per cent of wealth holders in the country; and
  • Implement a minimum corporate tax rate of 15 per cent, consistent with our commitments under the Base Erosion Profit Shifting (BEPS) framework of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). This increases the effective rate for MNCs, but maintains an effective 3 per cent tax rate for SMEs.

i think during rally , i hope they can elaborate on this , put it in a laymen term... i only understand they want to rise cigarette and beer price.

i meant whenever you argue with PAP supporter.. they will always ask where the money come from ? then most of us diam diam liao

i think this is very important to show that opposition don't just come up with any policy that has no base.

yperic

What would WP’s Gerald Giam say to his younger self if he met him for coffee?

yperic

“Is She An Actress?”: WP’s Alexis Dang Called “Prettiest” Candidate Of GE 2025 (So Far)​

However, other netizens are saying that the General Elections are not a beauty pageant.

“Is She An Actress?”: WP’s Alexis Dang Called “Prettiest” Candidate Of GE 2025 (So Far)

Last Friday (Apr 18), the Workers' Party (WP) announced four new potential candidates for the upcoming General Elections.

They are Dr Ong Lue Ping, senior clinical psychologist at IMH, Andre Low Wu Yang, staff product manager in a global fintech company, Jimmy Tan, co-founder of Immanuel Engineering, and Alexis Dang, senior director of global ad tech firm Teads.

Although the WP has yet to announce where the four new faces will be fielded, there has been buzz online surrounding 39-year-old Ms Dang, whom netizens are now calling the "prettiest candidate in this GE".

Clips of Ms Dang, who has worked in both banking and tech sectors, have made its rounds online, with many leaving comments on her "goddess-like" good looks.

"Is she an actress? So pretty," wondered one netizen, while others have commended her for having both "beauty and brains".

Some even asked that Ms Dang be deployed to their GRC, with one remarking: "Meet-the-people sessions are going to be very crowded."

Perhaps the most complimentary comment of them all read: "I will move out of my good class bungalow and move into a 2-room HDB in her constituency to vote for her."

For real?

However, there were also those who echoed this sentiment: "The general elections are not a beauty contest".

"Is being prettiest important?" questioned a netizen, while another wrote: "This is the elections, not Miss Universe."

One also said that we need a "capable MP who can think and work, not just a vase", but was quickly told by another that being pretty is simply "a bonus".

She's definitely gotten attention online

Photos: alexisdangwp/ Instagram, CNA/ YouTube, CNA/Jeremy Long

yperic

【我的五件事】48岁的王锐斌博士被视为工人党本届大选的王牌新人之一,他为何要将心理学家视角带入国会?他主张“十年直通车”教育理念又是为什么?马上来看“我的五件事”。https://zb.sg/HYKE

byfun

We will know this election, if WP has done their jobs at their constituency level. Tbh, i don’t have much impression of them at National level except for the 2 major screw ups. One LMW garnered more attention than whole of WP

I see it as .. WP work and operate in the way majority sinkies wanted them to be. Just see the more negative comments LMW get online vs WP.

LMW style does not appeal to the middle ground or PAP voters while WP can appeal to those groups hence they are called PAP lite.. and obviously thats what most sinkies like.. a less vocal and mild opposition to do the check and balance on PAP.

To me personally i have no issue with LMW style but to many they felt he asked and talked too much and object for the sake of objection. How many times have we heard this familiar phrase ?

Lets face the truth u need votes to get into parliament and whatever party has to appeal to what the majority like to gain ground.

yperic

Same, same, but different?: Analysts give their take on WP’s new faces

6b2ce0.png

The WP wrapped up its reveal on Sunday of new candidates contesting the general election, including a senior clinical psychologist, former diplomat and media professional.

WP chief Pritam Singh also introduced the new faces as a “a broad range of individuals from different walks of life, different age groups, different backgrounds and different experiences”.

But some have noted that the candidates also seemed to be picked based on their credentials and qualifications, with some making comparisons to PAP’s line-up and calling them as “elite” as the latter’s.

Senior political correspondent Tham Yuen-C speaks to analysts on their observations on the new slate.

READ MORE HERE

PHOTOS: WORKERS’ PARTY/KEVIN LIM

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.