[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

Audio8

Harassment / Cyberbullying
Oh just because of that, therefore he's not 'opportunist'? (Nevermind that he went on to become full minister drawing million-dollar salaries.. :s13:)
Yup lah. Unlike u who cannot even get GST Vouchers,CDC Voucher, Climate Vouchers, Utilities Rebates etc.

Hopeless, you cannot even vote. :ROFLMAO:

NTB2DO

Yup lah. Unlike u who cannot even get GST Vouchers,CDC Voucher, Climate Vouchers, Utilities Rebates etc.

Hopeless, you cannot even vote. :ROFLMAO:
I'm a local born 2nd gen (late parents also SG born) Singaporean lah. Voted many times already. TSL happens to be my MP (though I've never seen him even once these 5 years).

Audio8

I'm a local born 2nd gen (late parents also SG born) Singaporean lah. Voted many times already. TSL happens to be my MP (though I've never seen him even once these 5 years).
I know u lah. U go and vote for ur Anwar. Why waste time, go back and save ur country. Malaysia Boleh!

Audio8

Resorting to personal attack by making false allegation liao?
Malaysia Boleh. It is S$1 to 3.33RM yesterday. Another salary increment for you. You should be happy. I also feel happy for you. :)

Hope it will be S$1 to 4RM when I get my CPF. Thank you for your contribution to Singapore.

Eureka75

Working in US Navy will gain more real world war strategy than the wayang SAF or Singapore Navy, think she has more substance than our paper generals

Akky85

leader of opposition is title given to him, he didn’t ask or fought for it

also, they are the dominant opposition, why should they give way when they are fighting to build and consolidate on what they have fought so hard for and achieved?

This is not a being polite contest
Partly also. WP is the only opposition in Parliament at the moment.

Of cos the LOTO will look at WP's interest. That may however change, if another party gets their candidate into the next Parliament.

itedino

Jamus team is Damm lucky due to young voters wanting opposition and PMD saga helped them to win unexpectedly

WP cec also didn't expect they will win cos all new candidates.

Sengkang is strong with them.

Fernvale and jalan kayu is last plot of sengkang land they have to take down.

Tampines changkat young voters new tampines st 61. WP have high chance too

WP is creditable party. High chance they win due to high cost of living now

Eureka75

The irony, a thread created by an anti-wp pappie supporter has become the consolidated wp thread. Just like giving more publicity :s42:
There is no discussion thread on mosquito parties like NSP, PPP, PAR, SPP etc???

dqwong

There is no discussion thread on mosquito parties like NSP, PPP, PAR, SPP etc???
Please don’t create ah! No point feeding mosquitoes.
danger-mosquito-carrier-of-dengue-fever-concept-vector.jpg

Eureka75

‘Thought he is the leader of the opposition?’: Pritam Singh says WP not inclined to step aside for other parties​

step aside

Mr Singh said WP does not take part in talks aimed at preventing multi-cornered fights.

WP won’t step aside for other opposition parties: Pritam Singh​

Singapore may see more three-cornered fights in the upcoming General Election (GE2025), after Workers’ Party (WP) chief Pritam Singh declared the party will not step aside or give way to other opposition parties, according to The Straits Times (ST).

At a press conference on 19 Apr at the WP’s Geylang headquarters, Mr Singh made it clear: WP has no plans to participate in opposition talks aimed at avoiding multi-cornered contests.

He noted that the political landscape is open, making it likely that more three-cornered fights will take place in future elections.

The remarks came as the WP introduced its third batch of new candidates, signalling that the party is full steam ahead for GE2025 — regardless of whether other opposition parties enter the same battlegrounds.

Netizens question Pritam’s role as leader of the opposition​

Following Mr Singh’s comments, some netizens voiced disappointment, questioning his ability to lead a united opposition front. One netizen said they thought he was the leader of the opposition and questioned if it was only in name.

step aside

Source: Facebook

Another user questioned whether voters could trust him to form the next government if he “can’t even convince and unite” the opposition.

step aside

Others speculated that the WP’s stance could lead to vote-splitting and a “messy opposition” during elections.

step aside

Tough contest expected for Sengkang​

Besides Sengkang GRC, Aljunied GRC, and Hougang SMC, the WP has not officially revealed other constituencies it plans to contest, though possible candidates have been seen on the ground in PAP-held areas like Tampines and East Coast.

When asked about Sengkang GRC — WP’s youngest and most hotly contested ward — Mr Singh acknowledged that the party’s win in 2020 was by a razor-thin margin.

In a major upset back then, WP clinched 52.12% of the vote, unseating a People’s Action Party (PAP) team led by former minister Ng Chee Meng.

Mr Ng has since confirmed he will contest in Jalan Kayu SMC this time around.

Mr Singh was frank about the challenge ahead, telling Sengkang voters: “The more balanced political system that will be good for Singapore and Singaporeans starts with you and your vote.”

Abdul Muhaimin Abdul Malik

Source: MS News

This year’s WP team in Sengkang includes returning MPs He Ting Ru, Louis Chua, Associate Professor Jamus Lim, and newcomer Abdul Muhaimin Abdul Malik. They’ll face a revamped PAP lineup, helmed by Dr Lam Pin Min, the sole returning candidate from the 2020 team.

Similar to Mr Muhaimin, most of the 11 WP candidates unveiled in the past three days are in their 30s.

Mr Singh, 48, said the youth of these candidates signifies not only a generational shift but also the party’s growth and its commitment to staying connected with Singaporeans.

He recounted a conversation with former party leader Low Thia Khiang, who stepped down as he felt out of touch with younger Singaporeans.

Mr Singh emphasised the importance of bringing in individuals who can represent the dreams, aspirations, hopes, and concerns of their generation and present them in Parliament.

Proposing recognition of state of Palestine​

The WP’s latest manifesto includes a call for formal recognition of the State of Palestine.

Mr Singh said this isn’t a departure from the party’s usual approach, citing past statements such as WP’s stance on the South China Sea.

He noted that the Singapore Government has already expressed, in principle, support for a future Palestinian state — so WP’s position isn’t unusual.

He said that while the party maintains a cautious approach to foreign policy, it does not mean they are unable to express their views on the matter.

Following the launch of the WP’s manifesto on 17 Apr, Singapore’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs responded to media queries by stating that Singapore has consistently supported the Palestinian people’s right to a homeland through a negotiated two-state solution.

The Ministry added that, as the Minister for Foreign Affairs stated in Parliament in July 2024, Singapore will recognise the Palestinian state when the time is right.

The Ministry also noted that this position aligns with relevant United Nations Security Council resolutions, which aim to allow Palestinians and Israelis to live together in peace and security.

WP focusing efforts in north-east and east of Singapore​

For now, Mr Singh said the WP will focus on its traditional bases in the north-east and east, including Aljunied GRC, Hougang SMC, and Sengkang GRC.

He explained that, at present, much of their advocacy and political efforts are focused on the north-east and areas they have contested in previous elections.

He clarified that while there may eventually be a move westward, their current focus remains on the areas they have been active in for many years.

Featured image adapted from MS News.

WP need to be bold and contest in more areas if they have the ambition to be the next goverment of Singapore. Those mosquito parties are a group of people who contest election for the sake of publicity and not for the sake of serving the people or estate

Eureka75

leader of opposition is title given to him, he didn’t ask or fought for it

also, they are the dominant opposition, why should they give way when they are fighting to build and consolidate on what they have fought so hard for and achieved?

This is not a being polite contest
Politics is dirty and only the fittest, richest and most resources survive, if WP have ambition to deny PAP 1/3 of the seats or form the government they have no choice but to push out the useless mosquito parties who only make noise online and chope seats to warm the seats for the PAP

Teyemittisi

We will know this election, if WP has done their jobs at their constituency level. Tbh, i don’t have much impression of them at National level except for the 2 major screw ups. One LMW garnered more attention than whole of WP

coldish

What's there to ask. When the Gerard Ee Committee worked on what ministers should be paid, WP did their own calculations, and came up with very similar remuneration packages. So if you are still in doubt, go ask Low Thia Khiang lorh. Lol! :ROFLMAO:
https://www.straitstimes.com/politi...-2012-would-have-given-ministers-the-same-pay
The crux is on the 1st row; fixed component on median salary(60% on the top 1000 citizens)
Back in 2012, it is arguable that the total salaries would be close.
Why don't u compute the same part in 2025 and see how much the amount has grown compared to the WP one??
https://www.mof.gov.sg/news-publica...,$2.0 million, $2.5 million, and $3.6 million.

Why do PAP keep inviting billionaires, millionaire. Does this benefit them more or the average sinkies?

LTK has the foresight that PAP will get so greedy, isn't it?

yperic

He Ting Ru looks back on first interaction with WP teammate Jamus Lim

“Why is your screen off? Is it because you are not wearing make-up?”

Those were the first few words WP’s Jamus Lim said to his colleague, Sengkang GRC incumbent MP He Ting Ru, over a Zoom meeting when they were preparing for GE2020.

She recalled with a laugh in an Instagram video posted yesterday: “And for someone I didn’t really know… I was like okay, ‘who is this guy?’.”

Watch the video to see what else Ms He says about Mr Lim… it will warm the cockles of your hearts.

yperic

From a senior counsel to a former diplomat, here’s a snapshot of WP’s new faces

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.