Late 30s and Still Rejected: The Harsh Reality of Upskilling in Singapore

NuaMan

A few years ago, I bought into the dream that upskilling would change my life. I signed up for project management modules, took data analytics courses, and spent countless evenings and weekends learning new things. I genuinely believed that if I worked hard enough, if I kept improving myself, I’d eventually land a better job or maybe even start a new career.
Just curious who sells you such dream ?

chaiscool

Henceforth, networking ftw. You see all those biz / sales ppl huat, you think they got cert and technical skill? Ppl network so easier to find jobs too.

Most jobs don't need a lot skills one, hence ppl rather hire and work with those they can get along.

On paper some ppl can appear great but then no chemistry with team how sia. Moi know 1 principal level with masters and decades of experience, no one wants to work with him. He's the kind who ask you to help so will treat you lunch, then next day ask you to pay back for the lunch. A lot of weirdo ppl one.

mike-q

Recent years I noticed a lot of age 30+ guys who speak good english driving grab. Anyone who takes grab a lot should have noticed that. Though it's nothing to be ashamed of, I believe true blue sg men with education should not be doing these gig jobs.
while people from third world nations with questionable qualifications are able to secure jobs here

coyote

I offered lower pay.

You were offered lower pay than your expectations?

Was it because they considered you have no experience in the new different field than your current? Sometimes have no choice to start anew when the old trade is dying and suffered lower starting pay...?

86technie

Yes I agree been in TS shoe before.
Spend 3 years Diploma under WSG, employer still say I not good.

Morale of the story if employer send you for case than Gov upskilling works.
If you go on your own is counted self improvement.

coyote

SG is really deteriorating under tooooo many jlb pap that dont solve our issues at all n waste our Premium S&CC !! .... 😮💨😭😡

Must Vote for Opp to reset n end our sufferingS asap 💪💪💪

How will opposition help give everyone jobs with good pay?

pizza235

I’m writing this because I need to be honest about something that’s been weighing on me for a while.

A few years ago, I bought into the dream that upskilling would change my life. I signed up for project management modules, took data analytics courses, and spent countless evenings and weekends learning new things. I genuinely believed that if I worked hard enough, if I kept improving myself, I’d eventually land a better job or maybe even start a new career.

But now, after sending out hundreds of job applications—each one painstakingly customised, every cover letter rewritten for the role—I’m still stuck. Most of the time, I don’t even get a reply. When I do, it’s another polite rejection. It’s hard not to take it personally after putting in so much effort.

The truth is, upskilling in your late 30s or beyond isn’t the magic solution it’s made out to be, especially if you are a local. I’ve realised that age really does matter in the job market for s Singaporean, no matter what people say. Employers talk about valuing experience and lifelong learning, but when it comes down to it, they still prefer someone younger, someone who fits neatly into their expectations.

It’s not that I regret learning new things. I’m proud of what I’ve achieved, and I know I’m more capable now than I was before. But the reality is, all these new skills haven’t helped me break through the invisible wall that seems to go up once you hit a certain age. My years of experience in a different field are suddenly “irrelevant,” and my new certificates don’t seem to matter.

I’ve tried networking, reaching out to people, even offering to intern or volunteer just to get a foot in the door. Still, nothing changes. The advice always sounds so simple—“just keep trying, keep learning”—but it’s draining to keep putting yourself out there and getting nothing in return.

I’m not writing this to discourage anyone from learning. But I do think we need to be honest about how tough it is for mid-career Singaporeans in Singapore. Upskilling is important, but it’s not a guaranteed ticket to a new job or a fresh start, especially when employers aren’t willing to take a chance on someone older.

If you’re going through the same thing, I just want you to know you’re not alone. I’m frustrated, tired, and honestly, starting to lose hope. Maybe it’s time we have a real conversation about what mature workers actually need—not just more courses, but real opportunities.
on 3 May
u can give feedback by voting wisely

nyvrem

I’m writing this because I need to be honest about something that’s been weighing on me for a while.

But now, after sending out hundreds of job applications—each one painstakingly customised, every cover letter rewritten for the role—I’m still stuck. Most of the time, I don’t even get a reply. When I do, it’s another polite rejection. It’s hard not to take it personally after putting in so much effort.

The truth is, upskilling in your late 30s or beyond isn’t the magic solution it’s made out to be, especially if you are a local. I’ve realised that age really does matter in the job market for s Singaporean, no matter what people say. Employers talk about valuing experience and lifelong learning, but when it comes down to it, they still prefer someone younger, someone who fits neatly into their expectations.

It’s not that I regret learning new things. I’m proud of what I’ve achieved, and I know I’m more capable now than I was before. But the reality is, all these new skills haven’t helped me break through the invisible wall that seems to go up once you hit a certain age. My years of experience in a different field are suddenly “irrelevant,” and my new certificates don’t seem to matter.

I’ve tried networking, reaching out to people, even offering to intern or volunteer just to get a foot in the door. Still, nothing changes. The advice always sounds so simple—“just keep trying, keep learning”—but it’s draining to keep putting yourself out there and getting nothing in return.

I’m not writing this to discourage anyone from learning. But I do think we need to be honest about how tough it is for mid-career Singaporeans in Singapore. Upskilling is important, but it’s not a guaranteed ticket to a new job or a fresh start, especially when employers aren’t willing to take a chance on someone older.

If you’re going through the same thing, I just want you to know you’re not alone. I’m frustrated, tired, and honestly, starting to lose hope. Maybe it’s time we have a real conversation about what mature workers actually need—not just more courses, but real opportunities.

Say real one, how much u put for salary

:o:o:o

EJB

Of course... youwent for the wrong job upgrading.

You should have gone for
- bartending, can work at clubs, get tips from customers
- cleaning, can work as toilet cleaner or hawker center cleaner
- nursing, can work as nurse or at hospice or a caregiver
- bus driver, can work as bus driver with sbs etc.
- construction, can join as construction site foreman or hard labourer.

All the white collar jobs are taken by FTs liao, you still want to squeeze with them, of course cannot find job la. Upgrading is only good if your job requires it, not because you want to find a new job in the area. Who want to hire without experience?

mewmew

super white! at 30s chiu notch even considered matured and rendered useless , remember to vote wisely

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.