Late 30s and Still Rejected: The Harsh Reality of Upskilling in Singapore

fatscaryuncle

neber listen to huatz the gahmen push for... they dunch even hab private sector experience... upskill huatz shiatz?? @fatscaryuncle :s22::frown:

the only way chiu ish can upskill to change career ish become security guards... cleaners... dishwashers this kind... :s22::frown:
For chiu ish ok lah... You belong to the winners group that will stay winning

OralMaster

GE over liao. All these late 30s and unemployed shd go do self reflect if they voted for this sad state of affairs of them. If yes, then ownself dig ownself grave lor.
but they look at the resale price of their flat and cope, then 5 years later vote for the same party.

StoicGuy

The execution of upskilling is really wrong and waste of tax payer monies.

Only a small pool of training companies benefitted. In which, there are plenty of them suddenly pops up.

When company employ anyone, they look at experience and knowledge depth. You wun get any good job just by attending training.

Instead, there should be more co-payment for gov to place the trainee to gov agencies or GLCs. Government will pay 50% of the salary for 1 year. Companies also happy to pay only 1/2 salary.

After which, job seeker will gain the necessary experience in their CVs.

Government handhold for one year. Better than to finance the Bangalow of training centre bosses..

marksnow44

I believe true blue sg men with education should not be doing these gig jobs.

This one thanks to PAP and tan sei long systematically eliminate Sinkies in Job market, thereafter, even a bank have vacanies, Sinkies cannot apply because they only have grab experience, no corporate experience.

4Dluckystrike

you are upskilling and no relevant experience. Expecting the same salary as you get before? Its impossible. Time to rethink about your salary expectation.

Fresh graduate, no experience (20s) vs late 30s with no relevant experience.

Doesn't mean you take X number of courses or certification means employer must employ you. Any tom dick and harry can do this too.

End of the day, it depends on your working experience.
From employer perspective why would they choose an over the hill chap who is restarting when they can get fresh or cheap talent..

jeffrey745

you are upskilling and no relevant experience. Expecting the same salary as you get before? Its impossible. Time to rethink about your salary expectation.

Fresh graduate, no experience (20s) vs late 30s with no relevant experience.

Doesn't mean you take X number of courses or certification means employer must employ you. Any tom dick and harry can do this too.

End of the day, it depends on your working experience.

Actually, it's not easy to do career switch without relevant experience, even after taking courses....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.