[GE2025] Punggol GRC

valkyrie112

lol. That one is land use management which is under ura masterplan. Dun frighten ppl lah

U sounds like what I was thinking as a teenager back in 1991 when gombak goes to opposition. Moi fren and I say next time no police car patrolling at our area liao then we can play basketball until very late. But police patrol still comes. 😂

No lah. What I meant is even if WP won, Punggol Digital District will not be affected as not under their purview.

In SK, the WP MPs can't even use the CC here to host events. Just learned it from The Daily Ketchup podcast.

jericho75

No lah. What I meant is even if WP won, Punggol Digital District will not be affected as not under their purview.

In SK, the WP MPs can't even use the CC here to host events. Just learned it from The Daily Ketchup podcast.

Exactly. Who wins the decision for national projects will still go ahead

dqwong

Frankly speaking, life still goes on as per normal in the opposition wards. There’s no changes to your MRT or amenities. In fact you enjoy a slower rate of town council fee increases in opposition wards.

28cMostlyCloudy

You previously voted for PAP because of SXL? I am assuming you are in Punggol West.

Nope. First time punggol voter.

I belong to the big chunk of BTO dweller post 2020 election

Then i am pretty active in my estate and community.

So i know alot of ground sentiment of the BTO dweller post 2020 election People

that's why i don't really look at the past election here.

Because punggol like sengkang.

Is ever changing with new voter in and old voter out.

It's not like those older mature estate that people live there 3 4 election liao.

The mentality of who to vote is different

It's more about these 5 years what the incumbent has done for us

valkyrie112

Frankly speaking, life still goes on as per normal in the opposition wards. There’s no changes to your MRT or amenities. In fact you enjoy a slower rate of town council fee increases in opposition wards.

Yes. Hopefully due to the close proximity to SK, the residents can see that they need not worry too much about the estate and amenities.

Saw the PAP MPs giving speeches to ask for vote so they can represent the resident in parliament. But how many actually speak up on the concerns?

valkyrie112

It's not like those older mature estate that people live there 3 4 election liao.

Not all residents are as active in the community. They may also not express openly their thoughts. Sumang Matilda area is considered new too. I know of residents there who hope for an MP that can really represent them in parliament and not just organise this and that. Recently one where they had to queue up in the warm weather just to collect some goodies.

dqwong

Do you find the opposition side of Sengkang to be any different from PAP side of Punggol? Everything is almost the same right? Cleanliness, facilities and etc.

couch.potato

Just hope majority of the residents know. Saw Channel 8 news earlier. One elderly when asked simply replied will just continue to vote for the incumbent.
Opposite for Tampines, it seems like
The older gen waiting for WP to go there and contest.

but anyway why will Punggol be affected? They already get everything. MRT plans all in motion.

Slumkang on the other hand got nothing before the GE and now even more will get nothing.

punggol enjoyed being PAP’s pet project so everything is done swee swee already.

28cMostlyCloudy

Not all residents are as active in the community. They may also not express openly their thoughts. Sumang Matilda area is considered new too. I know of residents there who hope for an MP that can really represent them in parliament and not just organise this and that. Recently one where they had to queue up in the warm weather just to collect some goodies.

Sumang matilda very near sengkang.

Very rebellious and naughty also :s13:

28cMostlyCloudy

Do you find the opposition side of Sengkang to be any different from PAP side of Punggol? Everything is almost the same right? Cleanliness, facilities and etc.

Errrr one biggest difference sengkang and punggol

Is those improvements program lo.

Build shelter la build playground la repaint hdb la all these

Punggol is definitely more "efficient" in this as compare to sengkang

But many of my sengkang friend told me WP is improving liao in this.

And they got more "say" in thing like this. Like they buay song the color they buay song the design buay song how the shelter is build etc

They can easily find these WP MP to feedback

Punggol lei is basically like spoonfed lo. Everything plan out for us nice nice we never really have to say anything all they do we just see they do lo

jericho75

Yes. Hopefully due to the close proximity to SK, the residents can see that they need not worry too much about the estate and amenities.

Saw the PAP MPs giving speeches to ask for vote so they can represent the resident in parliament. But how many actually speak up on the concerns?

seng kang and punggol are younger people who are mostly affected by mass importing of ppl.

EdenHazard

Wp will win punggol. This time wp will sweep aljunied, sengkang, punggol and hougang. 5+4+4+1 = 14 seats

howcownowbrown

Wa lao my wife just now suddenly out of nowhere ask me i voting for WP ah. Is it because of Alexis

How. Should i tell her the truth?
Of course not! Say it is because your friends because of her suddenly very interested in politics and wanna see her on TV more, so you are helping to do it for them...

dqwong

Errrr one biggest difference sengkang and punggol

Is those improvements program lo.

Build shelter la build playground la repaint hdb la all these

Punggol is definitely more "efficient" in this as compare to sengkang

But many of my sengkang friend told me WP is improving liao in this.

And they got more "say" in thing like this. Like they buay song the color they buay song the design buay song how the shelter is build etc

They can easily find these WP MP to feedback

Punggol lei is basically like spoonfed lo. Everything plan out for us nice nice we never really have to say anything all they do we just see they do lo
That’s the key here: We must also give some slack to WP as they have just taken over SK during the difficult period of COVID. Now it’s 5years on, the WP Sengkang team has become much more experienced already.

Right now we really need more checks and balance in the system. Singapore really needs Punggol voters to make the right choice to shape Singapore’s future for our children’s sake. This is not a game of cards.

vegaspace

Based on this video, there seems to be a decent level of support for WP on the ground in Punggol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.