Actually, why is the PAP obsessed with having a budget surplus?

chaiscool

Surplus due to reduce expenditure is good. But surplus due to collecting more taxes is another thing. Our government expenditure budget was increase by 6.6% in 2025. If still have surplus in 2025 despite the increase in expenditure, we can only conclude that tax payer being squeeze hard.
Wahh say squeeze hard like you pay tax a lot ah. SG tax is already low sia. Smlj a lot of ppl don't even pay tax. If you kena tax a lot means you rich lah so don't kpkb.
But they still world number one. Even now Trump say 75 countries kissing his backside.
He say a lot of things lol. Mexico got pay for his wall or not ah

fortunecat

I mean, so many countries in the world, including the largest countries like China, USA, Japan, etc are all not even obsessed with it.
Because the only thing we can fall back on is money and nothing else :(

chaiscool

Dun joke lah.
One of the monitors mentioned that large number of households can handle the GST increase.
Tbf gst increase is correct 2% nia but most ppl kpkb is the price increase due to the gst. So they say can handle gst increase, but never say about the price increase. Sneaky haha

Medicated Oil

Tbf gst increase is correct 2% nia but most ppl kpkb is the price increase due to the gst. So they say can handle gst increase, but never say about the price increase. Sneaky haha
I guess NONE of them will be talking about COL unless they are using the issued vouchers as the ULTIMATE solution.

carey

I mean, so many countries in the world, including the largest countries like China, USA, Japan, etc are all not even obsessed with it.
Because the surplus can then be "invested" by TH ;)

Eliwood

I think the focus is on balanced budget, not surplus.

It is set out in the constitution that the govt is required to have balanced budget over each 5 years term.

Ironside

A kid if get lots of allowances from parents can anyhow spend more freely to buy expensive nice clothings and eat expensive food and enjoy, can anyhow treat friends to gain popularity.

alpha_beta

lol so tt dey kan raid d leeeserves w/o ani1 noeing :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22:

tiagong during previous ah neh time dey ish laided d leeserves 28x :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22: :s22:

coyote

That's one point of view. I'm just following up on Donald Low point of view that we have more than sufficient to fight off Soros and make Singaporeans lives better off. Both are not mutually exclusive. And he knows the number.

Let's not be so narrow in your scope of views.

And you know how much George Soros has or more importantly do you know how much international funds he can gather(not his own money) to launch an attack on Singapore currency? You don't know. He doesn't know what is Singaporean reserve. So, he will not just launch an attack he has no confident in winning. We are safe for the time being, as long as no one stupid government going to reveal our reserves.

And you sais Donald Low knew, how he know something that even the state kept it as secret? How you trusted him and not the government that brought Singapore stability for decades?

We need to be smarter and have the bigger picture and a more global view instead of a myopic view of "release the reserve to make my life better". If that's what opposition is going to push for, I think more Singaporeans will be more repulsive of such irresponsible manifestos. Good luck to them.

Singaporeans in general are smart. That's why I always said, edmwers need not worry, Singaporeans have been voting wisely. ✌️🙂

coyote

Surplus have to come from someone and somewhere, should not be at the expense of the struggling citizen.

Big countries have oil, natural gas, minerals, rare earth, diamond, gold mines, huge farms, rice fields... That's where they derived their surpluses from... Where does Singapore's surpluses come from?

If everybody have these irresponsible mindsets that, surpluses should come from everyone else but me, then Singapore is doomed.

charleslee1989

Over 5 years, the budget must be balanced....

Covid year is special because of all the money used to just keep the economy alive...The reserves are thick enough to tank it because the reserves are there precisely for such events....

But to force everyone to cover up that hole in the covid year with increased taxes is unethical imho!

grevq80o

bcos of invory tower? ivory tower need feed alot of jiak liao bees
No..
Ish because PAP has too much absolute power. They hubris want to run Sg their way (PAP must be priority) instead of the correct way (Sinkie should be priority) .

Kiwi8

So that they can pay themselves the highest salaries for themselves as compared to office holders in other countries mah.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.