Actually, why is the PAP obsessed with having a budget surplus?

Coaster

Prof Donald Low explains we actually have sufficient surpluses for rainy days. The issue is the govt obsessions with surplus accumulation.

The issue is our govt's obsession and policy for surplus accumulation which at a time when our population is aging, we do not need to accumulate so aggressively.

The full video is here. Good watch for those interested.

I think I know now why the secrecy of how much we have in the reserve.
If we know how much there is and how we have to sacrifice to continue putting more in the reserve, Singaporeans will be very angry with the government.

Forever84

If we know how much there is and how we have to sacrifice to continue putting more in the reserve, Singaporeans will be very angry with the government.
We need more. We should have more until we can fund 100% of budget based on NRIC instead of 50%.

if this is our own philosophy when it comes to managing our own budget why should it be different for government?

Coaster

We need more. We should have more until we can fund 100% of budget based on NRIC instead of 50%.

if this is our own philosophy when it comes to managing our own budget why should it be different for government?

Don't understand "We need more. We should have more until we can fund 100% of budget based on NRIC instead of 50%."

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
somehow they cannot spend on just about anyhow right?

tho' honestly me have no idea how much that the gov have spent up til' now

:s22:

Bumperbee88

I mean, so many countries in the world, including the largest countries like China, USA, Japan, etc are all not even obsessed with it.

You may not understand how vulnerable as a small nation. Those big countries are different. Mny Opps don't undersatdn either. Except WP is a more level headed Opps

dezzo69

excessive surplus collection is to fuel proliferate spending.

when you see eye watering things like $1B budget for People's Association, $30 B Healthcare spending its very clear indication of blank cheque spending IMHO.

$235m for founder's memorial? proliferate spending and more to glorify PAP IMHO.

wwenze

You may not understand how vulnerable as a small nation. Those big countries are different. Mny Opps don't undersatdn either. Except WP is a more level headed Opps
The individual is the smallest vulnerable unit. Yet people vote to send them to danger and injury all the time.

coyote

I think we maybe smaller flies but still must look at the big picture a little bit.

We are a very small and vulnerable nation with little backings. Same as ourselves, do you tell your enemies and your competitors how much fire power you have? Of course not. If I know you have 500B foreign reserve, I will prepare 800B to attack your currency, just like George Soros did during the Asian financial crisis. Thai baht, Malaysian ringgit suffered more losses and Singapore dollars suffered less. If they don't know how much reserves Singapore has, they will hesitate to launch an attack. This is Sun Zhi art of war, knowing yourself and knowing your enemy, 100 battles, 100 victories. So, do you as the citizen of Singapore wanted Singapore to reveal our reserve so that it give those internal hedge funds to come attack us?

Let's not be so narrow in our scope of views.

Coaster

I think we maybe smaller flies but still must look at the big picture a little bit.

We are a very small and vulnerable nation with little backings. Same as ourselves, do you tell your enemies and your competitors how much fire power you have? Of course not. If I know you have 500B foreign reserve, I will prepare 800B to attack your currency, just like George Soros did during the Asian financial crisis. Thai baht, Malaysian ringgit suffered more losses and Singapore dollars suffered less. If they don't know how much reserves Singapore has, they will hesitate to launch an attack. This is Sun Zhi art of war, knowing yourself and knowing your enemy, 100 battles, 100 victories. So, do you as the citizen of Singapore wanted Singapore to reveal our reserve so that it give those internal hedge funds to come attack us?

Let's not be so narrow in our scope of views.

That's one point of view. I'm just following up on Donald Low point of view that we have more than sufficient to fight off Soros and make Singaporeans lives better off. Both are not mutually exclusive. And he knows the number.

Let's not be so narrow in your scope of views.

ceestudent

I'm really hope more young people have mentality like TS.
Prefer to have deficit instead of surplus. I can retire early and you can work longer.

AndreFLo

On 1 hand obsessed with accumulating surpluses year on year, then on the other hand spend so much $$ on projects such as founders memorial :s8:

zhiguzai

Surplus due to reduce expenditure is good. But surplus due to collecting more taxes is another thing. Our government expenditure budget was increase by 6.6% in 2025. If still have surplus in 2025 despite the increase in expenditure, we can only conclude that tax payer being squeeze hard.

chaiscool

Budget surplus/defecit and Trade surplus/defexit are very different things
You expect trump fanbois to know meh haha
USA is a really bad example to follow. Their interest payment alone is > their defence budget, which is the largest in the world.

Which means every month the US tax payers is paying China…
Smlj it's pay to ownself lah. Biggest owner of US debt is to their own ppl sia. Even Japan has more US debt than China.

chaiscool

if China didnt accumulate surpluses, you think they can fight against USA now meh
Aiya big country where got care about surplus to fight US. You see Russia and middle east. All big countries will do whatever they want.

Dongbalek

Aiya big country where got care about surplus to fight US. You see Russia and middle east. All big countries will do whatever they want.
that is true...then why can't TS understand the importance of surplus for the tiny island then?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.