Market continues to crash

tazzycorner

gxgx... power. Can enjoy your weekend liao.
Few days ago I also made one sad mistake... I see CRWV dropped to 33... then slowly going up. I thought going in at 35 but I think, "aiya, maybe Trump will release somemore bad news" so I didn't go in...
Now...

laugh.gif

laugh.gif

if u bought, u would hv bought much lower than me

BunnyPancake

if u bought, u would hv bought much lower than me
Guess it's time to reflect on my strategy and setup... Missed a lot of trades liao. Dulan.

Guess it is that fear that's stopping me... Always got the fear that that Trump will appear and say something wtf then tank the market...

Now I no need to see graphs or market liao, cos all missed the boat...

Oh well, life goes on~~

harbinger255

Guess it's time to reflect on my strategy and setup... Missed a lot of trades liao. Dulan.

Guess it is that fear that's stopping me... Always got the fear that that Trump will appear and say something wtf then tank the market...

Oh well, life goes on~~
It happens with all of us during this period also lah.... that's why I never touch tesla also.... musk too ready to sprout nonsense on socials.... but trump makes him look sane lor

tazzycorner

Oh well, life goes on~~

just to give u a more complete picture, I am holding a mixed of green and red stocks

most of my mag 7 holdings which I bought much earlier are still in red

I don't claim 100% win rate but I believe if I can hold long term, I should be good overall

BunnyPancake

today like still green
Few factors I still worry... (and why I just cancelled my non-excuted trades by 11PM)

Alphabet Earnings
I just got a feeling it may 'not' be so good. Again, this is just my opinion and don't let my post affect your decision. I shared earlier in this thread (a long WOTs) that you should consider before investing in Google.

Anyway, there's one more huge highlight that investors always look for... Their capex.

Their Q3 2024 revenue was great, but capex was the huge red flag and that sparked the mass tech stock selloff, if you all remember. It was the same time when Biden wants to crack down on AI chips then a lot of stocks tanked.

Q4 2024 revenue was good but their cloud revenue not so good. They're struggling liao.

Q1 2025 revenue will definitely be 'okay' but not stellar as before... However, I got one huge concern.

If you realize, they keep putting "AI Overviews" on the search results. They started this since Q3 2024, but it was only Q1 2025 they rolled out even further for all topics, keyword searches, .etc. I remember a statistic showed 40% as compared to 10-20% back in Q4 2024.

The problem is this AI Overviews uses a lot of processing power. Not many people are aware of this. AI answers use 10x more power than a regular Google Search (source: https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/what-do-googles-ai-answers-cost-the-environment/).

And let's not forget they were struggling against ChatGPT and the others in the AI chatbot market... They had been giving out Gemini free trials, and whatnot. People also use the free Gemini. However, they have no idea how to monetise on these AI platforms yet other than the paid subscription. AI overviews also gives direct answer, then why would people still want to click on ads (non-product search).

So I got this feeling their capex will still be high, and this time round their operating expense may be high too. That is why if you remember Google and Microsoft are considering investing in nuclear power, just to reduce this operating cost.

Don't forget all their lawsuits too..

Again, this is just my speculation... Maybe they already have ways to manage them.

The concern here is... if it fails to appease investors, you will definitely see a huge selloff in tech stocks again (exactly like past 2 earning quarters)...

Then...

Consumer Sentiment data tomorrow

High chances it will be awful and jialat as before. Whether you see on social media, Fed biege book, and whatever... consumers are reporting high food prices, high inflation, and they're saving up. Somemore the data is for April... the time when Liberation Day kicked in, and retailers were increasing prices.

I believe many investors know about this, so we may see some selloff before market closes.

Again, I may be wrong ah, so take it with a pinch of salt... Because if the 2 points above suddenly show up the opposite (good consumer sentiment, and Alphabet investors happy) then knn, tech stocks will boom until you can go teh neh neh at siamdu this weekend liao.

homer123

Major laosai whole market dropping now! Looks like the rally yesterday is another dead cat bounce.

This is my trade yesterday:

1. Sell DITM SPY options on Monday when it dipped near it's peak. Unable to catch the very bottom. But managed to catch the 2nd best bottom.

2. Waited 2 days (yesterday) and the options is 45% in profit. I close out at the peak this time, managed to catch the peak. Later, the market drop back.

My whole month expenses settled within 2 days. Whatever profit remaining will go to my entertainment splurge.
Completely wrong.. market continue to rally :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

dereth

you are joking right? its pretty obvious china observer is a propaganda channel
Of course it's anti-china propaganda. Unacceptable!

There is absolutely no poverty in China.

How dare the channel hire paid AI bots to stage the false hardships of experiences by the Chinese people!

Food Quality is 100% safe, natural and fresh!
Employment Rate is 100% without 996 and with fair progressive wages!
House Ownership is 100% with no tofu dregs or unfinished buildings!
Freedom of Speech is 100% with absolutely no Penalties and everyone can express their own political views!
Happiness Index is 100% with smiling faces all over the countries with no organ trading or racial genocide!
Everything is 1000000000% thanks to great leader XI JIN PING!!!!

3yR3sA2.jpeg

mooseolly

Of course it's anti-china propaganda. Unacceptable!

There is absolutely no poverty in China.

How dare the channel hire paid AI bots to stage the false hardships of experiences by the Chinese people!

Food Quality is 100% safe, natural and fresh!
Employment Rate is 100% without 996 and with fair progressive wages!
House Ownership is 100% with no tofu dregs or unfinished buildings!
Freedom of Speech is 100% with absolutely no Penalties and everyone can express their own political views!
Happiness Index is 100% with smiling faces all over the countries with no organ trading or racial genocide!
Everything is 1000000000% thanks to great leader XI JIN PING!!!!

3yR3sA2.jpeg
Poohs so cute 🥰

Emperor_Hippo

all i see is no trade relief with China, not back to square 1 meh.
Yah. But this is 1 person analysis vs the whole market sentiment mah.

Market is typically doom and gloom until there's a spark of good news, then the market will rush.

But I thought (my risk appetite different) that it's better to hold a majority of defensive elements like 75% or higher with medium risk elements 20% and high risk pegged at 5% or lower.

Not enough to stay GCB, but at least enough to keep head above water.

知足常乐 is the key.

Godbleseu

the market situation is very different now, with 3-4x interest rates cut on the table, bull run will continue.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.