• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

Coffeelix

Ong Ye Keung parachuted into Sembawang with Khaw Boon Wan as anchor minister after losing in Aljunied in 2011.

Has he spoke to his party leaders about contesting in Aljunied again? Why is it always a bunch of nobodies contesting there all these years?
The phrase : The pot calling the kettle black

Carnage

Please be consistent. U say cost of living is an issue. I respond by saying WP candidate in Punggol talk about Palestine issue instead. Suddenly its an electoral issue for singaporeans?

WP can solve the palestine issue?

I'm saying both are issues. The reverse can also be asked, has the PAP been able to help Israel resolve their issues with Palestine?

keywin

Tonight

8PM - Channel 8 chinese
9PM - Channel 5 English
tonight is the party broadcasts right? it's just one person per party talking to the screen.

I'm asking about the debates, the one where Jamus dropped the cockles in GE2020

Kiwi8

tonight is the party broadcasts right? it's just one person per party talking to the screen.

I'm asking about the debates, the one where Jamus dropped the cockles in GE2020
I think debates is not a compulsory thing as mandated in the laws. The ones organised in GE2020 were probably just one-off and also needs the agreement of the participating parties.

Coffeelix

This boy is so promising …
His clarity of thoughts and speaks simple English with messages gets to heart of listeners
He should beat liang po po flat.
Go SDP…

s3nt1n3l

I was responding to this guy who said COL is a major issue so i told him the candidate from WP talk about palestine instead.

WP can solve palestine issue?

and there were other WP candidates that spoke about COL and also other issues that concern Singaporeans like education, Singapore identity, accountability from incumbent etc. Yet you chose to only focus on that one candidate that spoke about Palestine issue.

if WP can solve Palestine issue, they can get Nobel Peace Prize liao lo.

surfman

but there are many Muslim Singaporeans that are concerned about the issue so their voices should be heard as well, even though it might be perceived as sensitive issue.

Personally it doesn't concern me but at the same time, not every topic has to be about COL.
It is 5 min out of a 2.5 hour rally
Those people who keep complaining about it are trying to smear wp…

BohemianSG

and there were other WP candidates that spoke about COL and also other issues that concern Singaporeans like education, Singapore identity, accountability from incumbent etc. Yet you chose to only focus on that one candidate that spoke about Palestine issue.

if WP can solve Palestine issue, they can get Nobel Peace Prize liao lo.

i just responding to the guy who listed the issues ah. So i am asking is Palestine a WP issue for this election since the candidate brought it up? Is it cannot ask question?

A straight answer will do.

wongminmin

This boy is so promising …
His clarity of thoughts and speaks simple English with messages gets to heart of listeners
He should beat liang po po flat.
Go SDP…

this 1 got potential. At least he dun speak from script... he speak from his heart!

BohemianSG

I believe the Palestinian issue is of importance especially to the Malay community and also of the wider population too for those who are concerned with the human rights of the Palestinians.

Noted your answer that the palestine is an important issue in this election. Are you saying it as your own belief or as part of what WP should stand for.

BohemianSG

I'm saying both are issues. The reverse can also be asked, has the PAP been able to help Israel resolve their issues with Palestine?

Obviously Singapore cannot solve the palestine issue. Singapore is a small city state, our influence is limited.

It is WP who brought it up. So why should PAP be the one with the solutions?

Kiwi8

Noted your answer that the palestine is an important issue in this election. Are you saying it as your own belief or as part of what WP should stand for.
Whether WP got mention or no mention it is really up to them lor.

Anyway on this issue it will still be hard for any party to score points no matter PAP or oppo, cos the Palestinian issue is complicated anyway. Every party is parity on this issue. Better to focus on Bread and Butter issues as Singapore voters are always number one priority on.

Of course, Calvin Cheng should stop talking until election is over since he pissed off the Malay community with his "send the activists to Palestine" comments.

testart

Anyone feel keeping up with cost of living is like NS unit route march and company run?

During route march or company run, you need to keep constantly pushing forward, maintaining pace, cover up and striving not to fall behind the group

Those with stamina and determined still can keep up pace and move forward smoothly, while those without stamina will struggle and fall behind at the back.

Some of them will just fall out and give up halfway

Those who still can keep up the pace know that they are not alone in this run.

s3nt1n3l

i just responding to the guy who listed the issues ah. So i am asking is Palestine a WP issue for this election since the candidate brought it up? Is it cannot ask question?

A straight answer will do.

to answer your question, yes. It's in their manifesto.

https://www.wp.sg/manifesto

Recognise the State of Palestine​

The Israel-Palestine conflict is one of the most enduring and complex disputes in modern history. Many Singaporeans care deeply about the pain and suffering of the people in these lands, and wish to see a peaceful resolution to the conflict. We support a negotiated two-state solution where two democratic states, Israel and Palestine, live in peace within secure and recognised borders.

Singapore should formally recognise the State of Palestine, even before negotiations on a two-state solution are concluded. Such recognition would lend legitimacy to our two-state position.
Progress towards and achieving a durable two-state solution will ultimately bring greater hope, peace and security to Israelis and Palestinians, and the wider Middle East region. It will also diffuse racial and religious tensions over this issue among local populations in Southeast Asia. We have to ensure this conflict does not precipitate social divisions within Singaporean society.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.