Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

Kiwi8

That being the case, do u still believe the WP stance is in the best interests of Singapore?
No, but really dun have to worry about WP manifesto being implemented mah, so can bravely vote for the oppo!

BohemianSG

The truth is no single party can solve all of Singapore’s issues overnight. Not the WP and not even the PAP.

WP has improved. They are tabling serious policies, drafting motions, and asking the tough questions in Parliament.

Letting WP grow gradually could be a safe way to balance power, without rocking the boat too hard.

Just enough to send a clear signal to the PAP - Don’t take Singaporeans for granted.

The clear signal i see so far is that WP has gifted 5 seats to PAP on nomination day.

Because what you say about the clear signal on not taking Singaporeans for granted does not align with what wp is actually doing.

BohemianSG

No, but really dun have to worry about WP manifesto being implemented mah, so can bravely vote for the oppo!

Why not? Because WP can say what it wants on its manifesto because they are not expecting it to be implemented?

Damienic

People’s Action Party’s (PAP) Ong Ye Kung said that the Singapore Democratic Party’s (SDP) Chee Soon Juan needs to give a better explanation on why he “abandoned Bukit Batok to come to Sembawang West".

Speaking at an election rally on Thursday (Apr 24), the second day of the #GE2025 campaign, the anchor minister for Sembawang GRC said that if the SDP chief became MP for the adjacent Sembawang West SMC, he would not be able to properly take care of residents there.

Saying that Sembawang West SMC residents were “still part of the big Sembawang family”, he urged voters to choose PAP candidate Poh Li San to keep the “strong family ties”.

Mr Ong was among the speakers at Woodlands Stadium, along with Ms Poh and Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC candidates, Mr Zaqy Mohamad, Mr Alex Yam and Ms Hany Soh. PM Lawrence Wong gave the final speech of the night.

Full story here: https://cna.asia/3GmI2Wm

Ong Ye Kung really lost the plot with this move on CSJ.

Forever84

The truth is no single party can solve all of Singapore’s issues overnight. Not the WP and not even the PAP.

WP has improved. They are tabling serious policies, drafting motions, and asking the tough questions in Parliament.

Letting WP grow gradually could be a safe way to balance power, without rocking the boat too hard.

Just enough to send a clear signal to the PAP - Don’t take Singaporeans for granted.

Eventually we need to mature into a true 2 party system. This allows us as Singaporeans to have options and not become hostages of the system.

But a strong opposition cannot be built overnight. So it can't be that if one day something goes wrong we try to scramble the nation to build an opposing party.

I agree with that we must let WP grow. But it's clear they had issues bringing in new candidates, as starters, Singaporeans should put more support behind WP. If other parties make it in, it will dilute their candidate pool even further.

This is the long game.

Kiwi8

But gotta to admire PM Wong bravery tbh... all past Prime Minister GRC are 5-man GRC...

He rather stay on.
Ok leh.... even if it is a 4-seat GRC I think he is safe there since he already is incumbent there.

s3nt1n3l

So both the WP and PAP is ok with recognising Palestine. Thanks for letting me know.

But in that case, in your opinion, why would the Punggol candidate bring up palestine in the rally. Is it something she will advocate for if elected as MP?

What are your thoughts ?

My thought is that if it's something that the candidate decided to bring up during the rally, we should expect her to advocate and follow through it if elected right ?

Whether she'll continue advocating it after the election regardless of the result, I'm unable to tell you the answer since I'm not the candidate or someone from WP.

handwritten past

So both the WP and PAP is ok with recognising Palestine. Thanks for letting me know.

But in that case, in your opinion, why would the Punggol candidate bring up palestine in the rally. Is it something she will advocate for if elected as MP?

What are your thoughts ?
She takes issue on the lack of proactiveness of her PAP MP, who simply gave her a template answer from MOE. In other words, she asked a hard question only to receive a template answer

It is the WP MPs who voiced her concern in parliament, which the PAP MP should have done.

Palestine happened to be her topic of concern. If you want to know what was discussed, it is recorded in the hansard

Kiwi8

Eventually we need to mature into a true 2 party system. This allows us as Singaporeans to have options and not become hostages of the system.

But a strong opposition cannot be built overnight. So it can't be that if one day something goes wrong we try to scramble the nation to build an opposing party.

I agree with that we must let WP grow. But it's clear they had issues bringing in new candidates, as starters, Singaporeans should put more support behind WP. If other parties make it in, it will dilute their candidate pool even further.

This is the long game.
All First Past The Post System eventually evolve into two-party system, Singapore cannot avoid it if the election method is not reformed. Countries like USA, Taiwan, Japan all have similar two-party or two-coalition systems.

mike-q

What are your thoughts ?
PAP only want to recognise Palestine with condition if hamas willing disarm

WP wants unconditional recognition of Palestine

Kiwi8

Why not? Because WP can say what it wants on its manifesto because they are not expecting it to be implemented?
Please stop harping on this.

If u seriously feel that PAP can be out of power in this election I will not become the same crazy as u. U can continue to be crazy yourself. :s22:

Forever84

All First Past The Post System eventually evolve into two-party system, Singapore cannot avoid it if the election method is not reformed. Countries like USA, Taiwan, Japan all have similar two-party or two-coalition systems.

Yes and it's not a bad thing. The question is who do we as voters allow to grow?

The more seats WP wins, the faster they will grow. If other parties win, they will also be able to draw more candidates. One way will be faster than the other for obvious reasons.

My take is that, other parties should step aside. Let WP win the 1/3, let them be the next dominant force first. Their agendas can come later.

Why? Because lot of them, they might have attracted 1 or 2 good candidates, but the rest? Meh. They can't make up for the lack of quality and thus is better to reduce the contesting parties and allow WP to be the dominant opposition force.

yperic

The People's Action Party held a rally for Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC at Woodlands Stadium on Thursday (Apr 24). Those who spoke included former Members of Parliament Hany Soh, Zaqy Mohamad and Alex Yam. Health Minister Ong Ye Kung, candidate for Sembawang GRC, and Poh Li San, candidate for Sembawang West SMC, also delivered speeches. PAP's secretary-general Lawrence Wong gave the closing speech.

Everything you need to know about #GE2025: https://cna.asia/ge2025

Carnage

Obviously Singapore cannot solve the palestine issue. Singapore is a small city state, our influence is limited.

It is WP who brought it up. So why should PAP be the one with the solutions?
WP brought it up because the candidate who brought it up pointed it out as a matter that was close to her heart. What's wrong with that?

Toonsy92

@Kiwi8 what's your thoughts of this GE2025 vibe so far?

Do you reckon opposition party(ies) could secured 1/3 of 97 seats this GE?

Or in total at least 20 seats? :s13:

s3nt1n3l

The clear signal i see so far is that WP has gifted 5 seats to PAP on nomination day.

Because what you say about the clear signal on not taking Singaporeans for granted does not align with what wp is actually doing.

if you are referring to MPBH, it's wholly inaccurate to say that WP has gifted PAP 5 seats.

MP-BH is a constituency held by PAP. WP gifting PAP seats will only be applicable if for e.g. WP chose to abandon Aljunied completely and let PAP just walkover there.

And there's no rule that says WP is mandated to contest there.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.