[GE2025] Tampines GRC

Food_Lover

I think can close thread liao.. 99.9999% PAP wins.. 2 corner fight already very difficult.. 3 corner fight is an uphill task.. 4 corner fight Tom Cruise will come out.. mission impossible..

Looking at the replies here I feel very pessimistic about wps chance..it's a wrong move to contest here

I also agree. Anyway today got Lorry drive around my area broadcasting vote for workers party!
I beg to differ. As mentioned yesterday, the kingmaker for Tampines GRC is the Malay-Muslim communities. Faisal worked hard to bring up the obstacles faced by Malay-Muslims in Parliament.

Every 1 out of 4 voters in Tampines GRC is Malay electorate which consists of 24% of the overall Tampines population.

If out of 24%, 15-18% Malay-Muslims voters swing their vote to Faisal Manap (which is not impossible cus of unpopular Masagos) and WP just need to shore up the remaining 32-35% out of 76% electorates which are Chinese/Indians.

The real battleground this election with chances to flip is Tampines GRC.

TickTechToe

I beg to differ. As mentioned yesterday, the kingmaker for Tampines GRC is the Malay-Muslim communities. Faisal worked hard to bring up the obstacles faced by Malay-Muslims in Parliament.

Every 1 out of 4 voters in Tampines GRC is Malay electorate which consists of 24% of the overall Tampines population.

If out of 24%, 15-18% Malay-Muslims voters swing their vote to Faisal Manap (which is not impossible cus of unpopular Masagos) and WP just need to shore up the remaining 32-35% out of 76% electorates which are Chinese/Indians.

There is only one man who can stop PAP from winning.. that's Scrabby.. when he bet to chop his kkj if PAP did not win 10KKJ GRC... then WP got chance.. otherwise don't waste time lah..

icebleue

I think has also got to do with civil service jobs.
Used to have quite a substantial amount of them in civil service. Now we are seeing less in civil service. Less obstacles for them to try opposition for once.

roxyjas

You must be joking.. so so manny new citizens around me going to vote for pap. Don’t give false hope I don’t want to feel sad again on the night of the results..

CanIsayNo

People in other estates might not know, but do you know how proud we are of our tampines hub??

Can watch movie, basement all Aircon, 247 NTUC McDonald's enciktan, can run, swim, sing, read, gym all in a place. Holidays always have events. It's insanely useful. Everyday will have people there lepaking and studying. It's really the pride of tampines.
yea it's a place for the tampines peasants to congregate cos we dont want the tampines peasants stinking up other parts of singapore

CanIsayNo

As much as baey is a very open person, his estate is not very high quality one. Such a big neighborhood only have 1 mini NTUC, not the full big size 2 storey type. The Esso station, tjc area have very limited amenities like supermarkets, kopitiam, minimarts. The neighbourhood area really not vibrant at all. I wanted to bid the bto there also feel why this part of tampines too quiet.. So different from the tampines west and changkat one.
people who live that area.. those who moved in early had to wait for 1.5 years before any food options appeared. even when the first shops opened, they had no food options, unless you count pet food. but i hear that baey does show up quite a bit here and there. i guess that's enough to win votes. showing face

Food_Lover

You must be joking.. so so manny new citizens around me going to vote for pap. Don’t give false hope I don’t want to feel sad again on the night of the results..
I did not say WP will win Tampines GRC for sure. What i am saying is Tampines GRC is the main battleground that have chances to flip in GE2025 as Malay muslims will be the kingmaker.

Otherwise, WP will not even field star candidates like Dr Ong Lue Ping and incumbent MP Faisal Manap to Tampines GRC if they do not have the slight confident to win.

To conclude, the prospect of Tampines GRC going to PAP or WP is uncertain due to Malay-Muslim factors and the young electorate voters (many young BTO owners that are similar to Sengkang demographic). The result of GE2025 for Tampines GRC can go either way.

carlongerdidu93

WP’s Faisal Manap meets Tampines residents
https://www.straitstimes.com/live-singapore-election-nomination-day-2025

At a WP walkabout at Block 476 Tampines Street 44, a resident who declined to be named shakes hands with the party’s vice-chairman Faisal Manap, who is leading a team of fresh candidates to contest Tampines GRC for the first time.

be658c.jpg

The resident says he is excited about WP joining the contest. “It’s always good to have more choices. I won’t speak about the other two parties, but both PAP and WP have teams in Tampines that are equally strong,” he says.

Two other Tampines residents also exchange greetings with Mr Faisal and pose for a photo together. They tell the incumbent Aljunied GRC MP in Malay that it took him “long enough to finally come to Tampines”.

d2d0b3.jpg

ST PHOTO: DAVID SUN, AQIL HAMZAH

Food_Lover

WP’s Faisal Manap meets Tampines residents
https://www.straitstimes.com/live-singapore-election-nomination-day-2025

At a WP walkabout at Block 476 Tampines Street 44, a resident who declined to be named shakes hands with the party’s vice-chairman Faisal Manap, who is leading a team of fresh candidates to contest Tampines GRC for the first time.

be658c.jpg

The resident says he is excited about WP joining the contest. “It’s always good to have more choices. I won’t speak about the other two parties, but both PAP and WP have teams in Tampines that are equally strong,” he says.

Two other Tampines residents also exchange greetings with Mr Faisal and pose for a photo together. They tell the incumbent Aljunied GRC MP in Malay that it took him “long enough to finally come to Tampines”.

d2d0b3.jpg

ST PHOTO: DAVID SUN, AQIL HAMZAH
May Encik Faisal win the majority of Malay-Muslim votes!

-nyox-

Looking at the replies here I feel very pessimistic about wps chance..it's a wrong move to contest here
I agree it's a wrong move, tamp is a PAP stronghold.

Baey is v active in engaging his residents and so is Charlene, even though she is not an official MP yet.

Other 2 + 1 newbie are meh but I still think they stand a good chance.

alvincy

You stay which area?

I stay 800+.. the neighbourhood in tampines north is less vibrant than other areas.

That being said, I still like baey the most. He really quit his job to do this full-time and devoted his time to his residence. Go JB trip, have community fridge, only his estate have. The rest no sound one until elections coming.

Ah Baey is SPS for Transport. A Political holder. Cannot have another job.

Shion

Senior Mentor
i think over the years, many residents in tampines hope wp will go to their area to contest...???

s3nt1n3l

if people bother reading the manifesto, they would have known that WP also wants government to recognise Palestine as a state, which is something that many Malay-Muslims are concerned with.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.