[GE2025] Mountbatten SMC

Overture1928

This narrative is worse.

Can you live in a Bitcoin? The answer is no.

I for one have a significant disdain for the million dollar resale flats, and I actually like the ever appreciating cryptocurrencies.

But we should never mix both up, become more stupid and even more stupid by becoming greater fools to help others.
I think you are the one who is having it mixed up.

The topic has been hedge against inflation and the type of assets used.

But anyway, I’m sure you’re as enlightened as you can get

parchiao

No it isn't.

It a laughable to just pick one element of Bitcoin and another of HDB and come to the conclusion Bitcoin is better.

This is why I am more the more enlightened one.

Overture1928

No it isn't.

It a laughable to just pick one element of Bitcoin and another of HDB and come to the conclusion Bitcoin is better.

This is why I am more the more enlightened one.
You can laugh all you want. When you look at asset appreciation chart between a HDB and Bitcoin, you’ll get your answers.

I guess you haven’t examined the case for those fellas guys whose HDB leases are up and have returned their homes to HDB.

Anyway, perception of risk is up to individuals. You think BTC is a risky asset, that’s fine. Someone else thinks a decaying HDB is riskier. That’s fine too.

I think currency is a poor hedge. US with all their unlimited USD printing power has the biggest strategic reserves. Maybe they were printing to prop up bitcoin. Lol.

qhong61

You can laugh all you want. When you look at asset appreciation chart between a HDB and Bitcoin, you’ll get your answers.

I guess you haven’t examined the case for those fellas guys whose HDB leases are up and have returned their homes to HDB.

Anyway, perception of risk is up to individuals. You think BTC is a risky asset, that’s fine. Someone else thinks a decaying HDB is riskier. That’s fine too.

I think currency is a poor hedge. US with all their unlimited USD printing power has the biggest strategic reserves. Maybe they were printing to prop up bitcoin. Lol.
Ur choice

carlongerdidu93

GE2025: 15 Minutes with Jeremy Tan (Independent) | Primer With a Timer [Mountbatten SMC]

15 minutes to get to know independent candidate Jeremy Tan, who will be contesting in Mountbatten SMC.

Smarty22

But he has no real chance of winning even if you vote for him
I reckon he may get 25-30% of votes
I don’t know, may be he is using the election as a platform to push his BC narrative

kopiOkid

@jeremytansg I tell you truth: many rich people are unhappy with the way that PAP do things because they see it happening with their children and they are very worried.
There is a whole long list of policies and regulations made over the decades which really put various sectors of citizens at a disadvantage and the govt refuse to listen or change.

They greedily threaten the voters every GE that having more opposition representatives mean danger to the nation.

In actual fact, the ruling party just want majority seats in Parliament to bulldoze every Bill and policy every time.

They're getting overboard kind of arrogant and it's extremely unhealthy for us as a nation.

It's no longer a question of quality of opposition candidate but to send the message that we are not happy with being ignored and disregarded every time.

parchiao

It is outright stupid.

It does not follow that because HDB is a depreciating asset and for all the problems that will come with lease decay, these siao lang should ask the country to start to underwrite Bitcoin by purchasing it with CPF money and have the government guarantee the purchases.

mansae

Don't waste any more effort engaging with him. His replies paint a very close-minded view.

Overture1928

Because you people are scamming others.
Lol. I wished I was that sophisticated.

Your beliefs go as far as how much you trust a product or system. Whether it’s fiat, a decaying asset, a company like eFishery, Apple, or even fairydust.

At the end of it, we all know the BTC policy will never go through, at least for the next one or two decades.

What I think is more important is people to really examine the systems and think whether it is worthy of their trust.

parchiao

Lol. I wished I was that sophisticated.

Your beliefs go as far as how much you trust a product or system. Whether it’s fiat, a decaying asset, a company like eFishery, Apple, or even fairydust.

At the end of it, we all know the BTC policy will never go through, at least for the next one or two decades.

What I think is more important is people to really examine the systems and think whether it is worthy of their trust.

I am talking about the other fella hor.

And I am examining the intentions of the people here who keep promoting Bitcoin. The common theme to shut me up is to say I am narrow minded, I cannot understand etc. This is a big red flag.

Overture1928

I am talking about the other fella hor.

And I am examining the intentions of the people here who keep promoting Bitcoin. The common theme to shut me up is to say I am narrow minded, I cannot understand etc. This is a big red flag.
Ok, maybe there is too much focus on BTC.

I think the whole point of the debate is which asset class would better serve the people as times changes?

I’m quite sure those big-brained analysts in GIC are already using the barbell strategy with a mix of stable gains with a smaller mix of high growth, risky plays.

CPF could already be investing in cryptocurrency through proxies for all we know.

carlongerdidu93

“Stop thinking about democracy as only party politics”
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-campaigning-day-6-general-election-5090641

Mountbatten SMC hopeful Jeremy Tan wants to “set a high standard for independent candidates” so that they “know they have a benchmark to match”.

This is “so that we stop thinking about democracy as only party politics”, he told me during a walkabout at Jalan Seaview this afternoon.

The 34-year-old is up against the PAP’s Gho Sze Kee in Mountbatten. While he may not have a political party behind him, he has been getting recognition.

Some teenagers at Kallang Wave Mall asked him for a photo the other day, he said, adding: “They know me as Jeremy Tan, the bitcoin man.”

mnrt8z4R7MmU6Bi5F55G.jpeg

Independent candidate for Mountbatten SMC Jeremy Tan speaking to a resident on Apr 28, 2025. (Photo: CNA/Davina Tham)

Mr Tan said he has covered more than 65 per cent of the ground in Mountbatten SMC. Today, he made the rounds at some landed homes in the area.

“Very handsome guy,” I heard one resident say. She told him she hoped for more help for elderly residents like herself, who live alone or have few others to turn to when they fall sick.

Mr Tan told her he would assign a volunteer to each house who could respond to such incidents, if elected. Residents need only drop a call or a message that will reach a centralised system, he said.

Another issue residents face here is when drains get clogged by leaves, contributing to floods in the area.

To tackle this, Mr Tan said for the next round of town council contracts from 2027, he will ask private contractors to include additional services for landed homes when they put in tenders for cleaning, maintenance and mosquito control for the HDB blocks in the SMC.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.