[GE2025] Punggol GRC

kimsix

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...t-team-says-more-opposition-will-weaken-spore

Don't seem to me that he is perhaps very important to LW leh.

If he willing to take such a huge risk by putting GKY there,

either is

1.) He just using GKY as a chess piece to force voters into making a difficult decision
or
2.) GKY is totally Not important at all and used as a pawn. Which means that he can be afforded to be lost.

Does not seem like he is someone important whom LW wants to rely on to negotiate with the US on tariffs?

As PS mentioned, if really value him will put him in a safe ward like AMK GRC which they did to Victor Lye.

prata already call him out. 2) likely

sadly GKY will have last laugh.

Prime 13

Chiu all see the ng chee meng.
Pple voted him out, ended up the alliance sagat.

Sho lesson ish chiu all better vote in gan kim yong.
Coz if he kenna voted out, who knows where he will go, what damage he will cause.

Lolz.

CRW

too many non voters / foreigners so no one chup him ... all sinkies voters busy working

itedino

I feel sorry for him, felt very humiliating. Not a pap supporter but wouldn't wish to see him being treated like that. He would look like a cute and helpful senior in my company if he is not the minister.
He super rich and richer than you. He wun be sad only feel lonely

Nuclear Boy

Chiu all see the ng chee meng.
Pple voted him out, ended up the alliance sagat.

Sho lesson ish chiu all better vote in gan kim yong.
Coz if he kenna voted out, who knows where he will go, what damage he will cause.

Lolz.

TBH, if NCM can mess up outside of gahmen, can you imagine the potential carnage he could have unleash onto Singapore if he were a Minister?

HushiePuppies

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...t-team-says-more-opposition-will-weaken-spore

either is

1.) He just using GKY as a chess piece to force voters into making a difficult decision
or
2.) GKY is totally Not important at all and used as a pawn. Which means that he can be afforded to be lost.

Does not seem like he is someone important whom LW wants to rely on to negotiate with the US on tariffs?

As PS mentioned, if really value him will put him in a safe ward like AMK GRC which they did to Victor Lye.

LW is actually very smart if he really make that decision to field gky at seng kang.

if gky win, his party win and he continue to be PM.
if gky lose, he can say is punggol wp too stonk but yet he get rid of his taichi corlick.

to him is win win on either terms. also don't forget he no matter what will still form the next government and still remain as PM. with so many lao jiaos gone, who can control him? only pm lee and him considered the lao jiao liao.

BBClone

either is

or

Regardless of which way it is, the downside risk has to be controlled and mitigated.

Losing GKY, Putucherry and SXL is no big deal, they are simply fringe politicians and not core to the 4G cabinet. With or without GKY, makes no real difference really. It is more important to protect people like TSL and ET, or even CHT. CCS/OYK needless to say. NCM and TCJ were supposed to be part of it, but we all know what happened to them.

jericho75

Regardless of which way it is, the downside risk has to be controlled and mitigated.

Losing GKY, Putucherry and SXL is no big deal, they are simply fringe politicians and not core to the 4G cabinet. With or without GKY, makes no real difference really. It is more important to protect people like TSL and ET.

papaya also funny lor. erection is about winning and losing. got wanna erection dun wanna lose? in usa everytime also got candidates voted out and their congress about 1/2 1/2. they are still the most powerful country in the world. :ROFLMAO:

TickTechToe

Those people who knew him, if you not voting for him.. at least greet him or shake hand with him lah.. he is our minister.. he still deserves some respect... I suggest at least get someone to stand with him.. got someone to talk to..

ST Optimist

most MP and MOS were just normal corporate employee before joining PAP
a few doctors and lawyers here and there but most are just normal corporate employee which you seem to despise

those of us who have been thru NS knows, how hard is life for scholars in the army? the most hard work they put in is to become scholar then their future is secured already.
you talked as if 3 star general fought in some war before

Which part I despise ...I just want to highlight that in politics u no need to be educated....u can be MP as long as r able to make ppl listen to U n give u the vote ....it was LKY that make the entry barrier high by emphasizing that his candidate go thru rigorous test in sch, work , life then can join.....

As for scholar in army.....u say until they no need to go thru all the different officer course, different vocation course (armour, guards,commando, air force,navy, etc ..) , say until like go thru all these course n training is like holiday camp to them......
I duno what kind of scholar u met.....the scholar I met also need to go thru everything non scholar go thru...the only difference is they r given more chance to prove themselves ....n not all scholars climb the rank at the same rate .....some cannot make it also remain where they r for a long period of time until their bond is up....it is not a guarantee path of upward trajectory..

Ec7171

Strange logic. The same applies to most new candidates from PAP. The WP candidates are mostly volunteers with the party for years whereas many PAP candidates joined PAP not too long ago.

Which PAP candidates just join PAP not too long ago and is in running for election?

ST Optimist

if you are not from the shipping industry, better read up before talking about it
NOL bought APL in 1997. And made lots of profit in most years other than 1998 due to the asian financial crisis.

NOL was sold to CMA in 2016 due to many years of under investment and mismanagement.
CMA was able to turn things around within 2 years of buying APL
It was not due to under investment ...it was due to oversupply.....the more ships u own ....the more losses u make everyday .....with freight rate going down....every trip u make is a loss...
The more trip u make ....the more losses u gana....

The 2016 shjipping crisis, also known as the "container shipping industry's annus horribilis," was largely caused by a combination of factors, including a global trade slowdown, oversupply of ships, and the bankruptcy of Hanjin Shipping. This led to significant losses for the industry, with container lines losing an estimated $10 billion in 2016. The crisis also saw a dramatic drop in freight rates, forcing many shipping companies to cut costs or seek alliances.
Key Aspects of the 2016 Shipping Crisis:
Hanjin Shipping Bankruptcy:
The bankruptcy of Hanjin Shipping, the world's seventh-largest container shipping company, in August 2016, was a major catalyst for the crisis. This left 66 of its ships carrying goods worth US$14.5 billion stranded at sea, disrupting supply chains and causing significant losses.
Global Trade Slowdown:
A slowdown in global trade, coupled with an oversupply of shipping capacity, contributed to the decline in freight rates and profitability.
Excess Capacity:
The industry had seen a surge in the construction of large container ships, which, while intended to improve efficiency, ultimately led to an oversupply and fierce competition that drove down prices.
Falling Freight Rates:
Freight rates for container shipping plummeted, with some analysts reporting a 50% decline in the cost of sending a container from Shanghai to Europe.
Industry Responses:
To cope with the crisis, shipping companies implemented various strategies, including mergers, acquisitions, and re-alignment strategies to optimize capacity and expand geographic coverage.

ST Optimist

Best part SG as one of world busiest port we dont even have our own national shipper. This is a strategic and national security importance to us as we import most of our food and goods.

The joker ex general who sold NOL away still can say its the best decision ever when asked by reporter did he regret the decision that the french company turn it around within a year.
World busiest port no need to own ship... .they only need ports ....just like the world biggest economy USA no need ship. ...they early early sell all those difficult to make money industry like APL n pump money in Google n Gang.....one quarter profit in Google, facebook, nvidia .....is more than 10 yrs of shipping company profit .....

byfun

World busiest port no need to own ship... .they only need ports ....just like the world biggest economy USA no need ship. ...they early early sell all those difficult to make money industry like APL n pump money in Google n Gang.....one quarter profit in Google, facebook, nvidia .....is more than 10 yrs of shipping company profit .....

U say liao world biggest economy and biggest military power. SG on par with US ?

Prime 13

TBH, if NCM can mess up outside of gahmen, can you imagine the potential carnage he could have unleash onto Singapore if he were a Minister?

Singapore style ish if chiu and govt and made a mistake, chiu should die die no wants to admit.
Ownself insist ownself ish right, let mistake continue, let pple suffer.

Then years later chiu fix the mistake and narrative ownself as hero.

Chiu commit wrong, chiu are hero.
Chiu fix ownself wrong, chiu are hero.
No way chiu can lose.

Lolz.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.