[GE2025] Punggol GRC

rider83

Unfortunately Punggol residents are just as adversely affected by the rising cost of living (make worse by GST increase) as residents elsewhere..

Municipal issue is one consideration, but so are national issues.

National issues are important to Punggol. But WP's speech about PAP not doing enough for Punggol, I think really cannot stand. However, it will be good to focus more, much more on national issues if they want to capture Punggol

xLupDup

National issues are important to Punggol. But WP's speech about PAP not doing enough for Punggol, I think really cannot stand. However, it will be good to focus more, much more on national issues if they want to capture Punggol
Seems like you know punggol better than the residents sia 👍

handwritten past

LW just cheapened the hard work of the civil service, in particularly the MFA and MTI, whose staff worked behind the scene to prep, nego, setup meetings, etc., so that te minister can appear and to sign the contract.

this is typical of any deals that requires protocols and processes.

minister do not personally do all these and nego the deals, though they may be consulted or set the framework.

by saying Gan, or any other ministers are indispensible, LW or any PAP candidates, PAP is discounting the efforts of the civil service.

that is why civil service MUST be independent from ruling Govt of the day. Govt may change during GE, but civil service does not.

LW just cheapened the hard work of the civil service, in particularly the MFA and MTI, whose staff worked behind the scene to prep, nego, setup meetings, etc., so that te minister can appear and to sign the contract.

this is typical of any deals that requires protocols and processes.

minister do not personally do all these and nego the deals, though they may be consulted or set the framework.

by saying Gan, or any other ministers are indispensible, LW or any PAP candidates, PAP is discounting the efforts of the civil service.

that is why civil service MUST be independent from ruling Govt of the day. Govt may change during GE, but civil service does not.

PaP is stirring dangerous fear mongering This GE.
This.

The duties of CS and POHs are blurred.

CS can do the assessment and creation of policies and present it to POHs factually

It is the duty of POHs to decide how these policies affect the public and their party lines, and the comms to the people. If not, veto the policies and get them reassessed

To quote pritam's speech, MAS assessed that GST hike will increase inflation to up to 40%. This is MAS's assessment. Our POHs made a decision on this. Is this the correct decision? Did they think for the people?

The other thing i noticed is, POHs claiming credit for the work CS done. Your job is not doing the work for CS. Your job is to use the assessments from CS, decide on a policy direction/decision. If required, run them through the parliament for debate

NTB2DO

Doubt Punggol voters will get angry and vote against WP.. just because WP said PAP not doing enough for Punggol..:s13:

xLupDup

Not a resident of punggol but go there often. punggol is nice place to visit for shopping and weekend, but not good for staying.
And we have one champion here saying residents happy staying in punggol wor

rider83

Doubt Punggol voters will get angry and vote against WP.. just because WP said PAP not doing enough for Punggol..:s13:

This comment reflects two things:

1. Harpreet is not familiar with Punggol. He is leading the team in Punggol
2. This comment will anger SK residents, including those who voted for WP the last time.

In my humble opinion, I would think among all the GRCs in Singapore, PAP did the most things for Punggol.

coldish

New station at Coast mean the crowd is less at Punggol station. The congested NE line is due to the increasing population in Punggol, nothing to with the new station. New cross island line will relieve this congestion.

Coast mall is leaking but ask yourself, do the residents in Coast rather not have the mall?

Teo Chee Hean's stronghold has always been Pasir Ris. But some PAP MPs in Punggol are good. Example is SXL, she works hard and also make sure her residents know she works hard. I also heard the PAP MP for Punggol East is quite popular as well.
Punggol is alrd congested. Neither do people like another new station or the newer district.
Nobody likes a crowded estate, nobody like to travel and packed like sardines during peak hours. Even cars are jammed everywhere there. Why do I say this? The direct implication is commuters in SK, Buangkok, Hougang, Koran and PG themselves would not be able to take NE line if the train is so congested from the start of the line. If you are driving, take a look at the roads around there too.

The existing residents would not like more people coming in PG, not destroying the forests and more urban heat. Less people coming in means PG don't have to be developed in this way. Residents at the coast would like the mall but that doesn't mean they are impressed with it.

Teo Chee Hean was the anchor Minister of PG-Pasir ris. Let's not ignore the fact he has the responsibility to oversee and manage the whole GRC. I did not see PG MPs speaking up much for their residents.

vaxvms

impressive speech last night by WP

finally happy singh show his color

mama bear jin zai

but SXL well liked in punggol

so see hoot those swinging vote over

next gen future depend on punggol /SK /jalan kayu/ tampinees voters liao

28cMostlyCloudy

In my humble opinion, I would think among all the GRCs in Singapore, PAP did the most things for Punggol.

Nah. Its MND doing the most thing. Punggol have many big plan and project. But it's plan out by civil service people. Not PAP

For PAP you look at town council level.

Things like sheltered walkway to school
A extended shelter to protect rain from going into letterbox

These are thing PAP as town council handle

And as a punggolrian i will say PAP town council here is MEHHHHHH

coldish

I heard about it too. But Harpreet's speech yesterday commented that Punggol does not have enough infrastructure, I think this may p*ssed SK residents because they are the ones not having enough of anything (pre-WP win).
Every estates have different demographics.
I an also say all pap estates are angry because they don't have the shuttle buses like what Marine Parade have.

xLupDup

impressive speech last night by WP

finally happy singh show his color

mama bear jin zai

but SXL well liked in punggol

so see hoot those swinging vote over

next gen future depend on punggol /SK /jalan kayu/ tampinees voters liao
Mama bear speech is the bestest of all.

coldish

2. This comment will anger SK residents, including those who voted for WP the last time.

I have 2 things for you too.
1. LTK led his team to capture Aljunied. So did Jamus n Co in SK. Were they familiar at the start?
2. Your comment will anger all pap residents too because u said PAP did the most for Punggol

NTB2DO

Pt 1 is true if it were still TCH helming the PAP team. GKY is just as unfamiliar with Punggol (given that he was deployed here only on nomination day), isn't he?

As for your pt 2, I don't get it. Punggol team is Punggol team, SK team is SK team. They are 2 different teams. No reason for SK voters to be angry with Punggol candidate over comments on Punggol right?

rider83

I have 2 things for you too.
1. LTK led his team to capture Aljunied. So did Jamus n Co in SK. Were they familiar at the start?
2. Your comment will anger all pap residents too because u said PAP did the most for Punggol

Point 1, which a bro correct states, the vote shift towards opposition is due to unhappiness in the residents. How unhappy are Punggol residents?

Point 2, my comment will anger anyone who does not agree with me. But at least allow me to defend my point. How many GRCs have all these in one place:

1. Multiple MRT stations and include an interchange, and also bus interchange
2. University or Digital District
3. Safra
4. Hub or sport Hub
5. HDB designs that look like Condos
6. A waterway that dubbed "Venice"
7. An island for itself for recreation in nature
8. More than one shopping malls
9. Huge childcare centre + multiple other smaller ones
10. Feeder bus service + LRT running parallel

I list 10 above and all these are found just in Punggol. Maybe there is more I missed out But my main point is all these 10 above are found in Punggol. What more can Punggol residents ask for? To move the Parliament building there as well?

rider83

Pt 1 is true if it were still TCH helming the PAP team. GKY is just as unfamiliar with Punggol (given that he was deployed here only on nomination day), isn't he?

As for your pt 2, I don't get it. Punggol team is Punggol team, SK team is SK team. They are 2 different teams. No reason for SK voters to be angry with Punggol candidate over comments on Punggol right?

As for Pt 1, GKY is new but he didn't make comments that lead residents to think he is unfamiliar with Punggol.

As for Pt 2, what I mean is Harpreet may put WP SK team at risk because of his comments

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.