• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

yperic

‘I welcome more responsibility’: WP’s Pritam Singh responds to PM Wong’s comments on opposition representation in Parliament

9832d7.jpg

Responding to Prime Minister Lawrence Wong’s comment at Monday’s lunchtime rally that the opposition only wants more seats in Parliament but not more responsibility, WP chief Pritam Singh said: “I welcome him to give us more responsibility. He can have us on committees.”

He added: “If you remember, I believe it was 1959 when the state emblems and flag were being determined. It was an all-party committee in Parliament that contributed to how the Singapore flag would look like. So there’s nothing stopping the Government from reaching out, and we welcome that, because if we want to work in the interests of all Singaporeans, then that is one way to do it.”

Mr Singh also responded to comments by Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office Indranee Rajah, who had said that opposition parties often urge voters to support them and bring voices into Parliament, but rarely acknowledge that such voices are already guaranteed through the 12 Non-Constituency MP seats.

In response, Mr Singh said NCMPs have no voters and no residents that they can solicit feedback from.

“They don’t have an office under a block in the constituency where they have worked at and, essentially, this is where the PAP wants to keep the opposition. They don’t want elected opposition MPs, and I know why, because only an elected opposition can take any pressure and push the Government,” Mr Singh said.

Also present were incumbent WP MP for Hougang Dennis Tan and party chairwoman Sylvia Lim.

Speaking to the media, Mr Tan highlighted issues raised by Hougang residents, including the cost of living, healthcare costs and public transport.

991190.jpg

In particular, he said he has received a lot of feedback about bus service 112, which he has conveyed in Parliament.

“There was some improvement in services, but they are insufficient,” he said, adding that if re-elected, he will continue to raise the issue.

ST PHOTOS: TARYN NG

ceres2357

It is often said that Singaporeans are daft for repeatedly voting for the People’s Action Party (PAP), seemingly without questioning or challenging the status quo. However, a closer examination suggests that this accusation may be unfair. It is not necessarily stupidity that drives their choices, but rather a rational calculation of self-interest. Many voters may believe that the PAP offers the best guarantee of stability, economic prosperity, and personal security — things that directly affect their lives and futures. From this perspective, their voting patterns could be seen as pragmatic rather than blind.
That said, while self-interest can explain much of this behavior, it may not fully capture the complexity of the situation. Factors such as political culture, fear of uncertainty, limited opposition presence, and even a sense of national identity intertwined with PAP’s legacy also play significant roles. Therefore, labeling Singaporeans as simply "daft" overlooks the deeper motivations and historical context behind their electoral decisions. The reality is likely more nuanced than either blind loyalty or pure self-interest alone.

Bumperbee88

Dear all,

This is from infamous person.

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.

We will see more people in this forum losing jobs soon, if Trump continue his nonsense.

ahlim13

ME also think PAP win BIG! only left hougang or maybe pap take all !!!

Rally is just entertainment . Dont think too much .

Bumperbee88

Had stopped watching Mr Loo videos~ not bcos of his political stands but his "financial" videos were merely reading the headlines and gave many wrong suggestions~ :s22:

Aleast he is slight better than those influencers recommend people to buy this and that. Later many lose money along the way.

coyote

We will see more people in this forum losing jobs soon, if Trump continue his nonsense.

They will blame the incumbent instead of their favourite party that told them it's just fear mongering.

Plus bashing me and anyone who cautioned on the impact on the economy for fear mongering.

XiaoJinLing

You know my parents old liao, cant even walk properly... then i told them they dun void is ok nevermind wan... then wat they reply really I make me give up...

My mother say cannot dun vote (n must vote "correctly"), garment (lightning) say 犯法, n they will know later if what to need help do things will have obstructions and we (their kids/grandkids etc) will not hv priorities or may jus kanna something... wait even cdc vouchers or money cannot give us... I was like... aiyo...

Really give up liao

Bumperbee88

EDMWers and their opposition party said this economic onslaught is fear mongering leh...
That's the problem with those opposition prties, that know notihing of what external factors are coming upon us. Many are just for their instead. So far WP is still better.

kuti-kuti

No venture no gain.

Lets give oppo parties a chance.
We may even get to have a better gov that listens and cares for rising cost of living.

200w.gif

Come'on Lets Go! Rock It Babe!

Lemonpeach

Thumping majority

99.9% of voters will vote them in.. Wan Tsui!

remaining 0.1% are trouble makers or dun wan Singapore to have wise leadership from PAP.
Doubt 99.8%

I'm looking at 57-60% for PAP. This is the number churned by very sophisticated analysts with excellent listening points and programs. Not just talking in the air. As long as PAP wins, there is BAU.

PAP needs to be bruised in its ego to bring it to heel. On the other hand, the Oppo with left-leaning ideas are not welcomed.

whatheheck

Lets give oppo party a real chance. 40% parliamentary seats

how ? got so many red indian oppo chiefs chup one leg , do those multi corner fights, and then complain about roundtable format . all deluded that they have a big chance

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.