GE2020’s result - PAP had 61.24% win.

Eureka75

Not the 2023 pe results?
a resounding 70% for ex pap mp presidential candidate.
Because its Tharman who is a good orator and the most popular guy in PAP, the other 2 candidates look like kopitiam uncle how to vote. Now he is not contesting GE

Eureka75

My prediction is 54-57%, PSP to win West Coast, WP to win Punggol, 10KKJ and 10KKJ Changkat and SDP to win Bukit Panjang and mosquito parties to get slightly lower votes than 2020 as swing voters tell them to **** off

askxyz

If below 61.24% is it considered strong mandate? I was just reading through the below news, the GRC fight very intense leh. All in the 50%-ish range. That 2-3% range is really “every vote counts”

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2020-general-election-final-result-pap-wp-952471

Close percentages from 2020:
Seng Kang GRC - WP (52.13% win)
East Coast GRC - PAP (53.41% win)
West Coast GRC - PAP (51.69% win)
Bukit Panjang SMC - PAP (53.74% win)
Bukit Batok SMC - PAP (54.8% win)

May the odds be ever in our favour 🫰
as long as pap has more than 2/3 (supermajority) in parliament is consider strong mandate liao.

Monstruo^

My prediction is 54-57%, PSP to win West Coast, WP to win Punggol, 10KKJ and 10KKJ Changkat and SDP to win Bukit Panjang and mosquito parties to get slightly lower votes than 2020 as swing voters tell them to **** off
What’s 10kkj ah

Youareme

don't fantasize a big win for the alternate parties.
2015 was the last chance for true blue singaporeans, and it was lost forever.

with huge waves of foreign born citizens over the past 10 years, and
huge waves of singapore born children of economic refugees who always compare to their 3rd world or commie countries,
these two groups will always vote the pappies.

ShinnAsuka

Well i don't want to jinx this election but...

1. I think it is already good enough if WP keeps their Aljunied, Hougang and Seng Kang. Frankly, except for Hougang, the winning % isn't sky high too. Anything can happen. Even for Hougang, don't take for granted it will always be WP's. 5 years is a long time, new people could have moved into Hougang and they can be PAP supporters.

2. There's a real chance Aljunied and Sengkang might lose. Really. Just like in PE... the voices of supporters for the other two candidates is loud too. But who knows the PAP man won landslide?

3. Maybe there's a fight in the ward for Paul Tambayal. CSJ... was doing great until that aunty jinxed it for him.

4. I really don't think WP will take both Tampines (grc and smc). They are traditionally PAP's stronghold.

5. Also don't underestimate NCM in Jalan Kayu.. hearsay that's a PAP stronghold.

6. West Coast i feel will be a big win for PAP... after knowing the thin margin last run... i'm sure the redrawn of boundaries will have some effect. THEY are not stupid to sit around 5 years for the same voters to vote the same result 5 years ago which they might lose.

7. East Coast also PAP will win. Cause of the redrawn bounderies. If it's the same as 5 years ago then i say might have a chance. But obviously now it's so heavily redrawn.

8. Other areas also generally PAP large win. Well, as much as i support oppositions... we all know the louder oppositions supporters' voice is the more PAP will win. It's always like this. And we thought the GST issue or whatever issue will stroke heat in most Singaporean's heart? Nope... alot of singaporeans doesn't read it this way. To them these issues is just a minor inconvenience. Alot of singaporeans are too smart for themselves, they rather keep the tooth tiger in the same cage with them than a "useless" house cat. A friend of mine in PSP vs PAP ward.. tells me he thinks LMW talks sheet... i was stunned. I didn't bother to carry on because it'd end up as arguement. To me and alot of people we know LMW has done very well. But well.. some people just read things differently. Like my friend... he reads people by the way they speak and the way they behave instead of the actual content of his speech. Everyone is different. Like some people like surface things like good clothes good car good food while some people prefer inner beauty.

And remember... majority of the population does not consume the same social media as us. A large form of voters does not use tick toks, youtube or internet. They watch TV and newspapers. All these are heavily manipulated by who we all know.

Seriously, the best weapon of theirs is gerrymandering. With only 60% of mandate they could still have over 90% of seats in parliament. How powerful their manipulation is?
Agree. Gerryman is the best weapon they have. 2nd is sinkie daftness. Really no logic.
Probably is the rally fatigue. Same feeling as in ge2020. You thought the oppo will win but turns out the other way round, due to the above two reasons.

Punggol will be the East Coast #2 because of the dpm thing. Sinkies won’t learn their lesson. Some don’t want to rock the boat, many expect things will be better but they themselves don’t make any changes.

just hope my gut feel is inaccurate

virtualape

1. I think it is already good enough if WP keeps their Aljunied, Hougang and Seng Kang. Frankly, except for Hougang, the winning % isn't sky high too. Anything can happen. Even for Hougang, don't take for granted it will always be WP's. 5 years is a long time, new people could have moved into Hougang and they can be PAP supporters.

2. There's a real chance Aljunied and Sengkang might lose. Really. Just like in PE... the voices of supporters for the other two candidates is loud too. But who knows the PAP man won landslide?

3. Maybe there's a fight in the ward for Paul Tambayal. CSJ... was doing great until that aunty jinxed it for him.

4. I really don't think WP will take both Tampines (grc and smc). They are traditionally PAP's stronghold.

5. Also don't underestimate NCM in Jalan Kayu.. hearsay that's a PAP stronghold.

6. West Coast i feel will be a big win for PAP... after knowing the thin margin last run... i'm sure the redrawn of boundaries will have some effect. THEY are not stupid to sit around 5 years for the same voters to vote the same result 5 years ago which they might lose.

7. East Coast also PAP will win. Cause of the redrawn bounderies. If it's the same as 5 years ago then i say might have a chance. But obviously now it's so heavily redrawn.

8. Other areas also generally PAP large win. Well, as much as i support oppositions... we all know the louder oppositions supporters' voice is the more PAP will win. It's always like this. And we thought the GST issue or whatever issue will stroke heat in most Singaporean's heart? Nope... alot of singaporeans doesn't read it this way. To them these issues is just a minor inconvenience. Alot of singaporeans are too smart for themselves, they rather keep the tooth tiger in the same cage with them than a "useless" house cat. A friend of mine in PSP vs PAP ward.. tells me he thinks LMW talks sheet... i was stunned. I didn't bother to carry on because it'd end up as arguement. To me and alot of people we know LMW has done very well. But well.. some people just read things differently. Like my friend... he reads people by the way they speak and the way they behave instead of the actual content of his speech. Everyone is different. Like some people like surface things like good clothes good car good food while some people prefer inner beauty.

And remember... majority of the population does not consume the same social media as us. A large form of voters does not use tick toks, youtube or internet. They watch TV and newspapers. All these are heavily manipulated by who we all know.

Seriously, the best weapon of theirs is gerrymandering. With only 60% of mandate they could still have over 90% of seats in parliament. How powerful their manipulation is?

Write so much but you missed the most important point. I add point 9 for you.

9) If the above doesn't happen, I'll chop my kkj.

mike-q

if pap wins big means the pushback on them will be big in next GE

Starabby

After gone through so many times disappointed GE results, I don’t see any difference this time, PAP might get even over 70% to your surprise.

sickoflife

Agree. Gerryman is the best weapon they have. 2nd is sinkie daftness. Really no logic.

Probably is the rally fatigue. Same feeling as in ge2020. You thought the oppo will win but turns out the other way round, due to the above two reasons.

Punggol will be the East Coast #2 because of the dpm thing. Sinkies won’t learn their lesson. Some don’t want to rock the boat, many expect things will be better but they themselves don’t make any changes.

just hope my gut feel is inaccurate
Nah punggol couldn’t care less about GKY. The inherent PAP support over here is huge to begin with. Just see the previous election results

ksapple

Haiz pap no 85%vote mean failure this time round

Once hit liao can
Reshuffle
Review salary
Increase 1% within nxt 5 yrs

kmkimlo

if pap wins big means the pushback on them will be big in next GE
Always treat each election as the last to get alternative voice.

if we take a different look, all the GRC/SMC that are not contested by WP, PSP & SDP are 100% wins by PAP. Base on this itself, PAP already have the super majority in this election. Base on previous statistics, the smaller parties are likely to get 25 to 40% max.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.