[CONSOLIDATED] Lchlch's office issues

Lchlch

Sometimes ppl are just sharing but colleagues think you are haolian..lol actually it's not easy to keep to himself esp when it's a colleague whom you see 8-10hours everyday and his personality is not those secretive type.. so think twice before sharing with others about your retirement plan because most of the time you won't find ppl who are genuinely happy for you. That's human nature unfortunately.
Agreed.
Colleagues become your colleagues if they hear your down fall.

Lchlch

True… I only answer call from my customer whom is kind those sour wan I just text a few reply msg….. I nvr tell them I fully retired but just taking 3-6 mths break them move … I even stop my wife from telling my friends I had quitted lolx …. Ppl thoughts run wild when they heard I stop working
And they super happy if you cannot get a job too.

Lchlch

Its good that he is planning for his retirement and actually working towards it.

Treat it as a sharing session also can.

If you're close to him maybe can ask him why he always share about his retirement plans and why he like to b!tch about throwing letter but never do so yet.

I mean, nothing wrong with asking him as long as he don't take it the wrong way lah.
His ego super high.
No point asking.
He even want me to follow his style.
And brag his friend, husband wife follow him.

sanukboy

He still wanna work so he can have another source of income ~ that forms a safety net. He's just being prudent.

He probably wanna leave something more for his family after he passed away.
Or maybe he has MORE THAN ONE FAMILY...

white_prince

Bro , oh no, I am not unhappy whatever.
It's just that why keep on telling colleagues throw letter and yet still here working n planning lesser to last quarter of the year.
TS unhappy because TL didnt resign and go but just blowing trumpet much less about how he is going to retire or his FD.
Just tahan, maybe he need more time to throw letter.
It could have been in his plan.

Lchlch

TS unhappy because TL didnt resign and go but just blowing trumpet much less about how he is going to retire or his FD.
Just tahan, maybe he need more time to throw letter.
It could have been in his plan.
Abit stress , that's all.
Due to his kan cheong spider perfectionist high ego guy.

white_prince

Abit stress , that's all.
Due to his kan cheong spider perfectionist high ego guy.
Truly understand, dont worry takes time to execute his plan.. just bear with it
I have encountered tons of similar people in my last work place.

coyote

Just a colleague, nothing more.
He see himself very up.
So no point giving advise.
I just keep quiet n let him praising himself.

I don't think he see himself very up. He's probably ignorant... Or oblivious of the superb benefits of being Singaporean. Again, heck care especially he's not your friend.

WWH123

TS, I believe you are around 50.

It is a matter of planning.
You should be living off PASSIVE income; not savings.
PASSIVE Income can mean CPF Life, FD interests, stock dividends.

For myself, current PASSIVE income already reached 70% of ACTIVE income (only salary) which is what most of financial experts advocate.
Principal is left untouched for children excluding insurance.

CoolSunnyDay

My team lead planned meticulously on his daily expenses n the excess salary all transfer to Malaysia fd.

Keep showing covert to Malaysian dollar n each month fd interest mry$9k to $10k

My thoughts.
Yes we plan ahead but how about unforeseen unprecedented financial issue arises?

Oh year, my lead told me he gonna buy new car n maybe drive grab or other jobs.

The catch is, he told me can retired with healthy interest of myr$9k to myr$10k monthly, but why still drive grab or other work in Malaysia?

Lol. Reminds me of this team lead when I took over some new teams last time.
This team lead repeatedly showcased to me he can retire anytime through small talks. Then said he stayed in this company only because there is work*life balance (delusional mindset ) and will consider to leave if the balance is tipped. Haha.

Unlike other team leads in the company, he doesn't tank groundwork when needed and tend to avoid tough issues. He behaves more like a HOD delegating any work I pass to him to staff below him. Usually, if any legacy issues surfaced, he will blame it on someone who left the firm.

His main goal for telling me about his ability to retire anytime was - so that I won't pressure him to do too much work and cut him some slack. Game theory wise, he had the upper hand, as I just joined the firm and there were many critical problems swept under carpet due to him, the ex-head and upper management. And as well as handful of delayed/overdue projects due to lack of ability to direct to fruition.

Yuripa

His ego super high.
No point asking.
He even want me to follow his style.
And brag his friend, husband wife follow him.
Either you listen 1 ear in then 1 ear come out

Or just tell him nicely you're not interested in whatever he's sharing 😆

It's good to post about him here and see how different forum users will react lol

Anyway, I still feel it's just his way of making conversations

So see your mood and see how you wanna react to his chats bah

Don't feel too much about it

Lchlch

Either you listen 1 ear in then 1 ear come out

Or just tell him nicely you're not interested in whatever he's sharing 😆

It's good to post about him here and see how different forum users will react lol

Anyway, I still feel it's just his way of making conversations

So see your mood and see how you wanna react to his chats bah

Don't feel too much about it
Yes bro..just go with the flow...
Anyway just listen n nod n let him talk non stop about his achievements.

Lchlch

TS, I believe you are around 50.

It is a matter of planning.
You should be living off PASSIVE income; not savings.
PASSIVE Income can mean CPF Life, FD interests, stock dividends.

For myself, current PASSIVE income already reached 70% of ACTIVE income (only salary) which is what most of financial experts advocate.
Principal is left untouched for children excluding insurance.
Yes I was planning but due to drastic things happen recently that I nvr think of . And it throw me in a direction financial situation now. If you follow my story, u will know bro.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.