Food cost $6.50. you used $2, $5 cdc vouchers. Should stall return you $0.50?

• Yes. It is the right thing for stall to return the balance change

Votes: 57 51.4%
  • No.

Votes: 54 48.6%

• Total voters

JustForFun

There are quite a few things to consider.
One is the physical voucher, annual budget from Gov (accounting stuffs) , meant to offset spending yet letting money goes around in SG promoting business in a way, so date is to prevent hoarding also.

Vendors if collected actual paper voucher , need to submit to collect back the money also.

Business need to want to be part and some things not so simple la. verification or what not...cos it is GOV money moving around.

The acceptance for business quite lax one...since massage also can ..kekeke..but if business wanted very easy to get onboard so just dun want to be on it

Physical voucher can remain status quo, but digital voucher can work flexibility and inclusivity like cash as per my suggestions ?

Make vouchers uncontrolled spending like cash in Singapore instead of tightly controlled to certain industry and businesses bosses Huat even citizen find alternative cheaper sources or buying in bulk to lower COL ? This relates to open businesses competitiveness among businesses in Singapore only which is legit ?

This can also as good factors to promote acceptance of digital vouchers ?

ZacharyA

I have always wondered what is CDC vouchers official stand on this question

You use other vouchers elsewhere, got give you change?

If not then you already got your answer.

The stall who want to give you change in cash is because they kind hearted and don't want to eat your money but don't expect it is a given. kym?

ZacharyA

oh i see. so the reason is not to allow people from "loophole" encashing it by paying for something $2 and using a $10 voucher

please la

loophole has always been there and exploited.

you know the business / stall owner, you ask them to cash out for you. You spend all the CDC vouchers there and they give you cash. If you nice you can treat them kopi or bubble tea

tomsss

follow rules lei. already got printed black and white say excess no refund

i thought sinkies always like to fall back to black and white?

or only select cases then say close eye?

ZacharyA

Will be good if move towards no denomination just like cash ? Pay whatever purchase up to 0.01 cent ?

Will be good not to segregate whatever supermarket or neighbourhood different voucher but combine as simplified ONE type universal voucher for all usage ? Make things easy not complex for citizen users and businesses ?

Will be good no expiry if works like cash and can spend same like cash in voucher form ?

Will be good to include all new businesses as part of businesses registration setup ?

Will be good to include all existing businesses ? E.g. Pharmacy ??

In such above voucher implementation, Gov can collect natural data spending (by different factors and categories) and understand where is citizen needs and spending requirements and maybe look into those to lower pricing to support citizen and needy ? Data Analysis and AI ?

When you need to spend the last few cents it's very hassle.

I tried it with the $200 NS Men credits in LIfe SG app, spent some odd number with cents in a supermarket.

Then the next time I want to fully expense the balance credits the person must punch the calculator to manually PayNow the balance.

ZacharyA

follow rules lei. already got printed black and white say excess no refund

i thought sinkies always like to fall back to black and white?

or only select cases then say close eye?

Some people wake up the eyes never wake up lor.

I don't make the mistake of my eyes will open just because the sun is up okay!

JustForFun

When you need to spend the last few cents it's very hassle.

I tried it with the $200 NS Men credits in LIfe SG app, spent some odd number with cents in a supermarket.

Then the next time I want to fully expense the balance credits the person must punch the calculator to manually PayNow the balance.

Such is systemic issue if relevant but can be easily solved in computing and database settings ??

Small concern in computing world and in connected and digital Singapore is a non issue to any techie or developer or devOPs .

Relates to what policy and objectives the Project Management role out and also System Analyst information gathering from different stakeholders with users like you and me and all fellow citizen ?

ZacharyA

Such is systemic issue if relevant but can be easily solved in computing and database settings ??

Don't give vouchers then no issue.

Give already sinkies find it hard to use.

If the denominations are all huge then it's the govt fault.

I generally find it very reasonable already, what else? Maybe the CDC vouchers in Supermarket category should cut the $50 into more $10s and $20s lor

madcampus

the hawkers near my place give change. what's even better is they allow me to cash out everything if the vouchers are expiring soon. really nice people
This is as good as selling your CDC vouchers for cash, which is prohibited. That's also the reason why climate vouchers have to verify user's singpass or IC while purchasing. Cannot anyhow pass or sell to someone.

batuchka

actually hor oredi in digital form just make it work like digital wallet lah simi got fixed denominations like $2, $10, $50 i dun even...

skytan13

Small concern in computing world and in connected and digital Singapore is a non issue to any techie or developer or devOPs .

Relates to what policy and objectives the Project Management role out and also System Analyst information gathering from different stakeholders with users like you and me and all fellow citizen ?
which when u have cents and dollars vs what not.
The database and reconciliation is very different in the processing needs ba.

I get what you coming from but i think this straight forward way now is not bad for vendors la.
Else alot of weird situation during payment one, once every few days will have many pattern

byfun

many boomers already selling their physical $500 for $450 cash in chinatown area. 😂

ahnyaahnya

Will be good not to segregate whatever supermarket or neighbourhood different voucher but combine as simplified ONE type universal voucher for all usage ? Make things easy not complex for citizen users and businesses ?
Nope. Will defeat the original purpose of the vouchers.
Iirc originally not usable in supermarkets. Later let us use half in supermarkets, good enough.
But I have difficulty finishing up the half for heartland shops . Supermarket half can finish within 1 or 2 months

bighead9nn

if type out here, it's the end for them and my kang tao

suggest you slowly find friendly stalls who accept cdc. make friends with them by buying from them always. of course the food must be good. then open mouth ask

Lets say you alone and left with $10 cdc mean need to whack all the foods worth around $10 or abit more $10 to topup extra?

Doesn't make sense then is okay. I don't favor CDC as quite complicated especially those elders.

Kiwi8

Gahmen dun like people to encash the vouchers, otherwise they would have directly gave out cash liao. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.