Today a taxi driver told me something shocking

byfun

Sinkie deserve it.. all wanna use paynow and that the main plan ask more hawkers to pay tax. Many hawkers personal tax also anyhow hamtan one.. now with all digital payment all guai guai need to pay more taxes.

If their earning decrease, next step is increase selling price, cold hard truth. But later sinkies kpkb why increase so much.... end of day market force decide. Just wait for boomer hawkers to die out, u see next round of huge hike.

Sinkies deserve it .. no complaint

focus1974

He say he hate people who paid cashless. He say cashless 10buck he only get 7buck plus because of mediasave and gst. He even use marker to blacken the comfort pair qr code.

then .. can paynow to him or not?
why don't he just paste his own QR code there

michael_thm

So the taxi drivers are not disadvantage in absolute renumeration ya.
Actually we are disadvantaged...
There is no CPF deducted on metered trips and hence platform does not have to contribute 17% CPF too.
My last 2 jobs this morning at around 4am were similar 10km job, one justgrab and one metered taxi...
For the taxi job, Grab does not have to contribute CPF. Customer pay $19.85, actual earnings $18.35.
For the Justgrab job, Grab have to contribute $0.95. Customer pay $30.80, actual earnings $27.25.

If2Tlet.jpeg

Ze9GjjL.jpeg

BunnyPancake

See this thread already can tell TS stirring nia...

Taxi drivers are considered self-employed individuals. They had to manually file income tax one, and they don't need to top up CPF unless voluntarily. CPF is optional but medisave is a MUST if you got income. Govt will then calculate based on the driver's income tax to see how much he needs to pay medisave. Again, the driver have to ownself pay de...

I'm a self-employed individual, so I know how it's done. Even a poster above has shared his testimony with screenshot.

And there's no such thing as "GST". The GST is already inclusive in the pickup fee... but not on meter-based, if I remember.

Also, no matter what they do, as soon as they switch on the meter liao... they cannot siam liao because it is recorded.

So whatever TS is writing... it is probably CSB and stirring misinformation nia. Can report to IRAS and Comfort Delgro de.

@sunsetbay FYI.
To substantiate my statements: https://www.iras.gov.sg/media/docs/...edfiles/pdf/taxi-driver-obligations-(doc).pdf

edit: also, the only thing businesses and service providers don't like is using NETS. Because NETS you need to pay transaction fee and it eats into their profits one. That is why they prefer cash or Paynow (way lesser charge). But some prefer cash since there's no transaction record, and they can pocket the money without reporting it as revenue (technically, tax evasion... However, taxi drivers meters are recorded so they cannot siam).

There's a reason why govt wants all of us to go cashless... It makes tax keeping easier and tax evasion harder.

kyang69

I always pay ca$h, so no problem. But please don't jjyy need to give me the change back with coins.
I like coins also.

bluerhino

He say he hate people who paid cashless. He say cashless 10buck he only get 7buck plus because of mediasave and gst. He even use marker to blacken the comfort pair qr code.
Oh ya, pay cash can don’t declare and siam tax. Meanwhile happily take government subsidy. In actually fact is leech off taxpayers. Ironic part is this kind taxi driver very anti pap one. Keep hoping win. Ask him why he just say pap no good but cannot tell why oppo good.

henghengonedragon

like this only...what is shocking is when a taxi driver once tried to gai siao his late 50 sister to me... i may rook old but chronologically me only 40.. :frown:
Cannot be! Normally BuiBui looks younger because of their bubbly fat! Unless you look like President Teo.

coyote

When he turns 50+ and started to going in and out of hospitals, he'll regret not having more medisave... Then again, such people do not remember what they said and did, by then he will spin you another story about government is very black hearted and never give him more medisave....😓🤔🤷

Take taxi drivers talk with a pinch of salt...😅

boyinhersense

Useless. When the QR code doesn’t work, I just pair by entering the taxi licence plate.

strangequark

A Comfort taxi driver scolded me loudly for using cashless payment also. He said he didn't want IRAS to track how much he made. Yes, the QR code pasted in his taxi was also disabled, but i input the taxi plate number manually to pair the ride with the CDG app.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.