[need advice] paynowed to wrong number

Joseph12

seriously speaking, the Paynow mechanism should have a recall option if both parties are individuals.
There is right?
Or.some other app

Heard someone made payment then recall payment after got goods
Haha what an arse
But then seller is an idiot so deserved it

sacredrays

When not in a hurry, it is not a problem. I use paynow as well or certain transactions as it is not convenient to carry too much cash around. But when it is rush hour at hawker centers it is better to pay cash. Hawkers are not in favour of paynow as there have experienced occasions where payments do not go through.
ya i dun like those when about to pay then take out phone and slowly navigate.. waste a lot of time. i usually already standby to input the final figure while ordering.

some hawkers got phone to notify when they receive incoming payments. i guess those features add costs ba.

RichardXyn

ya i dun like those when about to pay then take out phone and slowly navigate.. waste a lot of time. i usually already standby to input the final figure while ordering.

some hawkers got phone to notify when they receive incoming payments. i guess those features add costs ba.
Hence, should pay cash during rush hours.

Laneige

The Hawker should protect himself by registering the number to his 'business' account.

anyway, I just offer a solution, the real stakeholders can consider and implement something. Maybe it can even protect account holders in scams. It's a dual edged sword.

I remember back in '05, I did digital bill payments in Aus, then return to Sg where banks explained that they are imposing a 3 day transfer period for bank transfers<-They explain Polis are concerned about crime proceeds being very rapidly transferred. They gave a mock scenario where the bookie is able to get his bets paid very fast by the punters.

Then after a few years, they relaxed the requirement to the point you get PayNow, PayLah, it's near instant. Now scammers also know it's near instant.
It’s getting backward when it’s not immediate

Laneige

Have cost
To hawkers they don’t do software rally is less time consuming
Imagine every single miserable earning n must go thru paynow etc to tally
The manpower not enough to cover if it’s not v profitable biz

Quala98

Contact the person.

If the person refuse to reply, then lie to it by saying that money was for funeral donations. If that person is a chinese and those pantang type, it will return immediately

Else make police case

Sent from satki Android device

Kenzo88

So how ar? Coming to 1 yr liao.
How long did DBS eventually debut the $18 from your account??
Luckily I have not deleted the emails from DBS.

From the day I reported, to the day DBS deducted the funds, almost 3++4 weeks. In between I contacted them, but DBS said they were overwhelmed.

Hakuna Matata

Wait for the bank to get back. Nothing else to do. It's a one year ago post. Hope your friend got his money back. 😉

Lolicious

siao bo 10k. if i suddenly received 10k transfer in, i also dont dare transfer. straight away block and report mata and follow mata instruction.

nowadays too many money mules and stuns

SpecialKeyboardService

My friend made over $10k paynowed to wrong number. And the recipient blocked my friend to contact. Only knows the recipient's name and phone number. already reported to bank however they say just wait. also report to police but no progress yet. Can anyone advise how to do in this case?
Made a dispute with dbs or ocbc or uob
the wrong number will assume ur friend is a scammer

karrenloh83

My friend made over $10k paynowed to wrong number. And the recipient blocked my friend to contact. Only knows the recipient's name and phone number. already reported to bank however they say just wait. also report to police but no progress yet. Can anyone advise how to do in this case?
make police report

sAVaGEmP5

These kind of money drop from sky i will jist transfer everything out a few acct, close down my paylah, change hp n delink n redo new 1.

Dun care if tat money use to care simi cancer patient u die ur prob lo.

Worth my time for 10k.

World no mercy me, me no mercy them too.

orlengtao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.