[need advice] paynowed to wrong number

Philipkee

I tell you a true story. It just happened. A bit sian

I went to a hawker. It was a new hawker so I thought of trying it out. Wanted to pay by paynow but there wasn’t a QR code so I was given a number to type

1 - I key in wrong telephone number
2 - I told hawker xxx name and he said yes
3- I showed hawker the screen and he said correct
4 - I then swiped send

When the hawker wanted to take a picture of my transaction record, he said oh wrong number :(

I told him but I say the name u say yes I show the screen u say yes…. I think he was a bit pai sei then said something like it’s ok but I also didn’t feel its right (it’s a new hawker and he’s quite young) to take a meal for free so I sent a second transaction to pay him. He was grateful and gave me two extra big fish balls

So now I called the bank to try to reverse the wrong transaction. Not having much hope but money loss wasn’t so great (how much can a fish ball mee pok cost in a hawker?).

Lesson learned? I dunno. Cos yea while I should have paid more attention to the number I was keying in, I did say out the name of the account holder and showed the screen to the hawker and swiped “send” only after he said “correct”

you called the bank already. is for the bank to follow up. unsure if filing a police report will help but the other end is not suppose to keep the money considering you informed the bank liao.

to play safe, just file a police report with user name, account number lor.
Just wanna update. The money has been recalled to my bank Liao

So yes, the steps to take when paynow wrongly is to just inform the bank and the police.

For me, no issue. About two weeks (since 19 May) for the money to be recalled.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.