How to break into first managerial job? Serious career advice needed

Evcats

Apply for manager jobs like some mentioned. Train interview skills. Usually thats the best chance to “upgrade”. However doesnt guarantee you can do well or stay in your managerial role even if you get it…

Shion

Senior Mentor
Serious answer: be willing to take sh1t first

The core job scope of a Manager is to clear sh1t

my side here is manager push all the sh1t down to us

below ppl 1 by 1 quitting now

they not hiring also, and the work nobody wanna take up, all stuck now

parkson

Network and Visibility

Network for opportunities in career.
Visibility for you to get promotion or progression.

If you are always the behind the scenes guy, chances are , it will take forever for you to become a manager.
This is the only correct answer in this thread. Ignore the people that say you need to take on more sh*t. Visibility and networking are indeed the most important, it doesn't matter how much sh*t you take, if the right people don't know you are taking the sh*t it doesn't matter. Unfortunately the corporate world rewards people who speak up and are visible.

This is the reason why AMDKs take high paying jobs by mostly talking while Sinkies slog behind the scenes and clear sh*t

sAVaGEmP5

u essentially alredy point on what a manager need but u dun have. Now look for a manager in ur coy that is jus t like u, cannot present and talk and etc. if ur coy allow then ok, their bar very low.

Teyemittisi

You will need a godfather, a mentor , or a sponsor to push you up. Work hard and be visible to top management. Have a balanced view. Get along with everyone.

Epee

What is the role of a manager? I shall list a few key ones and you decide if you can do a good job.

1. Clear road blocks so that your team can do their job effectively.

2. Identify your staff individual strength and weaknesses. Assign tasks accordingly.

3. help the weak ones improve if he’s up to it. A highly skilled team is a joy to work with.

4 empower your team to make decision but you hold yourself accountable for it. Don’t throw them under the bus.

5 give them credit for a good job done publicly. As the manager, you don’t go chiong claim credit because if your team does a good job, it’s implied that you did a good job.

6 if your team made a mistake, tank it. Meanwhile conduct post mortem and perform corrections and corrective actions.

7 tank all unreasonable requests. Provide alternative and negotiate. Don’t pass through **** to your team. your team will appreciate it. In other words, manage your resources and keep the team motivated.

go seek out opportunities actively and be more visible. I must warn you though, if you got the job but do it badly, you’re the hamburger. Your team don’t support you and your boss lose confidence in you. I’ve seen too many of these.

good luck.

diequick

I worked in the same industry and same role for almost 10 yrs. I have the experience and skill sets but I am not good at talking, presenting myself and displaying leadership quality.

Also I lacked some career luck I guess. I've seen some colleagues who are even more introverted & bad at communications, not extremely strong in their work too but still managed to land themselves a leadership position

I really hope to make some progression in my career, even just move up 1 level. Any advice on how to break into your first managerial or team lead position?

Thanks in advance! 🙏
local or MNC/MNE? Local, just apply mgr job.
MNC/MNE, well, individual contributor is gd too. To b mgr, if u tell ur mgr, u want to be mgr, u think got chance bo? u need to talk to ur mgr mgr, or be an IC reporting to a director (mgr mgr) or at least a snr mgr. the 1st mgr role is a line mgr, deal with daily sai kang/ops, and need to prepare slides for director to present, occasionally kaki present. Best is the mgr (with no reports) reporting to director, b4 slowly kena assigned reports. This is what i observed in tech, hence alot need to kena flattened! so may nt apply to u.

Be ppl mgr, communicate is key. For IC, is just be responsible for self, kaki do nia. Good mah.

charliebrown

wat so good abt b manager? see e people to manage also sianz.
some people r jas hopeless..
if u wanna live ronger, dun be a people manger.

Phen8210

if u wan to be manager, start managing your colleague like a narcissist

TA20222025

I worked in the same industry and same role for almost 10 yrs. I have the experience and skill sets but I am not good at talking, presenting myself and displaying leadership quality.

Also I lacked some career luck I guess. I've seen some colleagues who are even more introverted & bad at communications, not extremely strong in their work too but still managed to land themselves a leadership position

I really hope to make some progression in my career, even just move up 1 level. Any advice on how to break into your first managerial or team lead position?

Thanks in advance! 🙏

If you already know your problem, then you have to improve yourself.

While acquiring speaking, presentation and leadership skills may not necessarily translate to an immediate managerial position in your current company but at least, they would help you to improve your chances if you apply to such roles externally.

Milodrink

Serious answer: be willing to take sh1t first

The core job scope of a Manager is to clear sh1t

Er depends.

See some FT as manager is to shift s h I t s to downstairs, blame all executive.

Manager good life.

Worst also can sack your subordinates, say poor performance, who can know sia.

Only sg manager honest sheep style.

FT managers are are sneaky cunning, esp certain types. Those know will know. Cannot say too clear.

Lchlch

Thanks in advance! 🙏
probably take up some leadership course and then forward to HR and let your boss aware.

Milodrink

my side here is manager push all the sh1t down to us

below ppl 1 by 1 quitting now

they not hiring also, and the work nobody wanna take up, all stuck now

This is 1 good example to what I said above.

Worst most cmi mgr aka boss are those.

If TS too HONEST and guai type even in manager position also cannot sustain long.

Politics comes from up and down left and right. Only the fittest survive, either u got network / power / sneaky.

Most guai do honest working are stuck at middle level not for no reason.

LoaGong12

Thanks in advance! 🙏
real advice from professionals in human resource.
you can also google to find abt this
“ LIKEABILITY “.
Honestly, where do you rate yourself on this ?

Luqknight

Why would you want to work on a role that is not being you? Sound like a painful exeperience once u stucked on the role. Everyday need to roleplay as somebody else.

Instead just improve ourselves and see where we fit best.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.