this is nonsense.probably take up some leadership course and then forward to HR and let your boss aware.
you ever seen a case of a jerk doing this and is successful?
this is nonsense.probably take up some leadership course and then forward to HR and let your boss aware.
it’s called humility.this is honestly the answer
i only became a manager back then because i applied for it
got the interview, and during the interview i kinda acted like i didn't want the job but could do it
ended up getting it
so hor, guess another skill is need to know how to gehsiao and smoke
real advice from professionals in human resource.
you can also google to find abt this
“ LIKEABILITY “.
Honestly, where do you rate yourself on this ?
real advice from professionals in human resource.
you can also google to find abt this
“ LIKEABILITY “.
Honestly, where do you rate yourself on this ?
This is the only correct answer in this thread. Ignore the people that say you need to take on more sh*t. Visibility and networking are indeed the most important, it doesn't matter how much sh*t you take, if the right people don't know you are taking the sh*t it doesn't matter. Unfortunately the corporate world rewards people who speak up and are visible.
This is the reason why AMDKs take high paying jobs by mostly talking while Sinkies slog behind the scenes and clear sh*t
What is the role of a manager? I shall list a few key ones and you decide if you can do a good job.
1. Clear road blocks so that your team can do their job effectively.
2. Identify your staff individual strength and weaknesses. Assign tasks accordingly.
3. help the weak ones improve if he’s up to it. A highly skilled team is a joy to work with.
4 empower your team to make decision but you hold yourself accountable for it. Don’t throw them under the bus.
5 give them credit for a good job done publicly. As the manager, you don’t go chiong claim credit because if your team does a good job, it’s implied that you did a good job.
6 if your team made a mistake, tank it. Meanwhile conduct post mortem and perform corrections and corrective actions.
7 tank all unreasonable requests. Provide alternative and negotiate. Don’t pass through **** to your team. your team will appreciate it. In other words, manage your resources and keep the team motivated.
go seek out opportunities actively and be more visible. I must warn you though, if you got the job but do it badly, you’re the hamburger. Your team don’t support you and your boss lose confidence in you. I’ve seen too many of these.
good luck.
come one la,I worked in the same industry and same role for almost 10 yrs. I have the experience and skill sets but I am not good at talking, presenting myself and displaying leadership quality.
Also I lacked some career luck I guess. I've seen some colleagues who are even more introverted & bad at communications, not extremely strong in their work too but still managed to land themselves a leadership position
I really hope to make some progression in my career, even just move up 1 level. Any advice on how to break into your first managerial or team lead position?
Thanks in advance!![]()
come one la,
i work same industries, also never tio promote,
even my ex few manager from different coy, say by skill wise, i should have been promote long ago,
it becase i not good at interact and too blunt with work, often a not crash with GM and other manager.
some of colleague 2-3 years become manager, but i see how they work even worst than other junior that i train before, but issue is that know how to carry balls only.
if you are not able to get promote in this coy after 10 years , i suggest u quit and look for opening in another coy with simiar industry.
must learn to leave your comfortable zone,
i quit last year and till now i never regret, in fact, i am more happy now.
must know how to kneel down and become dogs.But many managers I come across are also extremely unlikable - but they also managed to climb the corporate ladder & become leaders
i freelance outside, once a while i receive calls asking if i am keen in this opening, while i never reject, but i make it seem that i am not keen.So after you join a new company, you got promoted to a managerial position?
But there must be other things you achieved at your new job right? Can't be simply change company and then you will get a promotion
i did that from then on, all the **** job they all throw to me. coz they complain they no time to do it, but left office at 6pm or slight laterTake up **** job that nobody wants to do. Do it well in a short amount of time - best within 1 quarter. By doing well means if there's history, you break new record in whatever is the kpi.
I leapfrog to associate director post this way without needing 10 years exp.
all i know if after i quit, they hire 2-3 more new staff.So after you join a new company, you got promoted to a managerial position?
But there must be other things you achieved at your new job right? Can't be simply change company and then you will get a promotion
Someone said its theatrics and it's somewhat true. If GM don't like, need to get higher up attention. Slogging quietly is not going to help... And when report card is nice enough to show, be brave to ask directly what you want.i did that from then on, all the **** job they all throw to me. coz they complain they no time to do it, but left office at 6pm or slight later
while expecting me to continue with my current job.
forcing me to return to offfice on sat and sun to complete it and week day i left as late as 11 pm.
and the GM super dun like me, when i complain overload, he say i got nothing to do, i only pretending to be busy, and ask me to get lose.
even thou i told him even pretend i dun need to pretend to come back office on sat and sun.
Don't have to be liked by everyone. Just have to be liked by your bosses.But many managers I come across are also extremely unlikable - but they also managed to climb the corporate ladder & become leaders
issue is my MD is aware that is is intention marking me,Someone said its theatrics and it's somewhat true. If GM don't like, need to get higher up attention. Slogging quietly is not going to help... And when report card is nice enough to show, be brave to ask directly what you want.
Management wants value. Cost savings and time savings are low value.
I worked in the same industry and same role for almost 10 yrs. I have the experience and skill sets but I am not good at talking, presenting myself and displaying leadership quality.
Also I lacked some career luck I guess. I've seen some colleagues who are even more introverted & bad at communications, not extremely strong in their work too but still managed to land themselves a leadership position
I really hope to make some progression in my career, even just move up 1 level. Any advice on how to break into your first managerial or team lead position?
Thanks in advance!![]()
Leaving is the correct choice. Though it would have been better to secure your next role instead of rage quit. Your ex colleagues cheered probably.issue is my MD is aware that is is intention marking me,
what the MD did was to transfer me to another place in the office far from them so as to avoid any contact with them, but the whole gang still dun want to let me off.
and keep on passing to me.
so i tulan and went over say i cannot handle, he hack care, so i just tell if he not happy, he can go tell MD and let MD decided.
then he does not to get the MD involve and remove some jobs from me, but left a lot of *******wei.
till i sibei tulan , and tender immediately.
next time in the noon, my MD ask me to work from home. and he told me not to touch any stuff from the GM, but i still proceed to quit, coz no point liao to me, in my opinion.
later the HR comment to me, the MD also very tough, coz he cannot be seen interfering too much with GM stuff, coz it will make the work of the GM very hard and also he need to gave GM face as well if not , how is he going to get his job done especially if relate to relationship between the colleague, very hard to for him to help, that why he thou by asking me to shift over to the other side of the office, can avoid confrontation.