DINK on the Rise, Y?

coyote

Last time one ang mo lady ask me to piak her and CIM, and I told her what you just said. She replied that the child may make this world better. And insist to have my baby.

Such was the difference in attitude of Westerners vs Asians.

How to have baby with cim? You any how CSB?

jack-320

I don’t see DINKs in my life

all I see are married couples with babies or is going to give birth

just another unverified nonsense

coldish

Less societal pressure. You don't even see mainstream media n drama advocating procreation even thought the PAP govt claimed they are pro-family.

High COL. Need me to say more?

Losing faith in humanity. Self explanatory.

VIPHUAT888

people too stress until fertility drop lah.

freeze egg also jin expensive and got age cap for ladies

want have kids , relax lah!

so stress you all wait until ovulation also boh children

rhexis07

If I'm honest, the amount of stress and uncertainty in the future is the #1 factor. I am in an extremely comfortable position with my wife although we're not high earners, but the moment I have a kid I know my QoL factor will drastically decrease and I will be constantly worrying about all the small things. It just doesn't seem worth it, and the future is quite bleak given how competitive the society will be. I am already dealing with **** load of politics in my working industry, can't imagine 20-30 years down the road how drastic the working industry may change, how AI will affect the future, etc.

Milodrink

If I'm honest, the amount of stress and uncertainty in the future is the #1 factor. I am in an extremely comfortable position with my wife although we're not high earners, but the moment I have a kid I know my QoL factor will drastically decrease and I will be constantly worrying about all the small things. It just doesn't seem worth it, and the future is quite bleak given how competitive the society will be. I am already dealing with **** load of politics in my working industry, can't imagine 20-30 years down the road how drastic the working industry may change, how AI will affect the future, etc.

Super agree.

Have kids affect the woman career somehow whether want admit or not.

Yet with the COL and SOL, no way can depend on only 1 income.

QOL sure GG. Nowadays many study until university until 20yo plus. Haven't enjoy life enough need to faster slog for another human for what.

The earth won't lack 1 kid or 10000 kid then GG.

But YOLO, the awaken gen knows investment on ownself is then the more certain and rewarding experience.

Not to mention 1st world country environment mostly are self centred, many until 40yo 50yo still single. True love is for those Primary school kids or novel romance story.

week3nd

Because people realise there is a life beyond getting married and having kids

Milodrink

Because people realise there is a life beyond getting married and having kids

This not standard social narrative.

Misery loves company, married ppl unhappy either secretly wish more like them or kind enough to advice not.

dereth

This not standard social narrative.

Misery loves company, married ppl unhappy either secretly wish more like them or kind enough to advice not.
I'm happy with just my wife and I.

But I'll always advise people to have kids if you can, because I am unable to. 🥲

OddEye

Government is going for import strategy whether you are giving birth or not.. competition is going to get worse what is the point then?

semiret

从前是养儿防老, 现在是养儿烦恼 says it all. This generation's mindset already changed. They no longer require kids to support them after their retirement. Due to high COL and housing they also don't wants to still support them or help them acquire house after they retired. Also everyone might have their unique situations? Just my thought.

Ethan_

Think many fear the responsibility of having kids bah. They were not brought up that well to prepare for it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.