Am.I correct the area outside the property boundary wall is considered public land?

Lemonpeach

I had observed some neighbours extended their back walls farther, after renovation, rebuilt, than the previous position.

Others created gardens with concrete planter boxes outside their wall.

In both cases, I asked the contractors if any payment for purchase of extra land has been made. Both replied they were not aware of. They were instructed by the owners to simply follow their wishes.

Isn't a property area demarcated by drawings and properly surveyed?

Why they can expand, in that case, by 1.5 metres forward?

Is there some sort of flexibility or non-strictness by SLA?

Spike

I had observed some neighbours extended their back walls farther, after renovation, rebuilt, than the previous position.

In both cases, I asked the contractors if any payment for purchase of extra land has been made. Both replied they were not aware of. They were instructed by the owners to simply follow their wishes.

You need to look at SLA certified plans to see where are the boundary lines.

Certain older landed developments (30 years or more) did not max out their walls. So when they rebuild their properties, boundary walls are extended out.

Infringing on public land is an offense..

wlalala

the walls might not have been sitting on the boundaries originally

need to find the boundary markers and do land survey to confirm actual boundaries.

last time my house right outside got a boundary marker, the wall was not fully built to the boundary.

eggie011

Your neighbor did that, you didn't. So you are unhappy and want to pawn him?

Lemonpeach

Your neighbor did that, you didn't. So you are unhappy and want to pawn him?
As the above edmwers said, they may be within their land due to old marking or inaccurate drawings.

Either way, fairness is important. If no encroachment, and the authorities have exercised control, that is fine.

But many sinkies are cheapo.

This is a quiet estate. Everyone's back walls are backing to each other, but there are also many in-between longkangs with a fair bit of land aside.

If encroachment onto public land, the owner by my rough calculation, can save several hundred thousands of dollars.

Because no one goes to the back, the new wall position will not be visible from the road.

I'm fine if it is done within the law.

This is no different from hoarding and encroachment onto common corridors in HDB. Why the unfairness in treatment. To me, justice and fairness are important. Why permit some people to get away?

In this case, the owners are fairly well-to-do. No need to be cheapo. But again, they may be within the law. Only SLA can verify.

DragonFire

Yes it is public land. Authorities usually close an eye if it is all kept neat. They actually encourage landscaping and decoration to some extent. Itnis one more area an SLA contractor needs not care about.

Did you know in some areas NParks will help you plant a tree on the land if you ask them?

I have the plot outside my house landscaped nicely. Nothing permanent of course. Pots and solar lamps can easily be removed if needed. The 500kg boulder might tricky, but nothing an excavator can’t handle.

==
The backwall extension in your opening message is the one exception. That one is real encroachment and SLA will throw the book at them if it is found to indeed be encroachment into public land. It is fine and dandy to decorate the land. It absolutely IS NOT to extend or erect permanent structures like a boundary wall.

Dracky

Take photos and paotor them to SLA in the guise of asking whether you'll be in breach of regulations if you do the same.
Just outright report them and put pressure on SLA to act by posting photo and details on social media.

Miss.Molly

Usually the public drain plus a little buffer is the boundary line.

"Public drain" is on public land and therefore govt has responsibility for maintenance of it.
It cannot be the boundary or on the boundary.
The boundary should be the fence.

Lemonpeach

"Public drain" is on public land and therefore govt has responsibility for maintenance of it.
It cannot be the boundary or on the boundary.
The boundary should be the fence.
The land between the back boundary wall to longkang is the public land, am I right? Normally, foreign workers engaged by NEA's landscape contractor will trim the grass or apply pesticide. Because the houses are contiguous, this stretch can only be accessed from the main road and walk along the grass patch parallel to the longkang.

The new owner extended from existing position by another approx. 1.5 metres. The owner now have an expanded rear area for laundry and washing because of new space

My curiosity was picked by how that could have happened.

BlackWing1977

Just report them lar. A lot selfish neighbours does this kind of things.

Lemonpeach

Don’t look now, but you already ownself answered ownself there.
After reading edmwers' posts. I know SLA exists. But never thought of complaining or feeding back to them. Each of us in the estate mind our own business. I happened to see the rebuilt of back wall.

win_man

Can is can until it goes into TikTok and kena sexposed. Just like the Tampines HDB fish tank

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.