Am.I correct the area outside the property boundary wall is considered public land?

Lemonpeach

Just report them lar. A lot selfish neighbours does this kind of things.
How to report? I know the old owner. After selling to the new owner, don't know name. The contractor said he does not have the name as he was engaged by an architect. He said he knows the owner is not a Singaporean. The site project information board has no owners/developer name. Blanked out.

BlackWing1977

How to report? I know the old owner. After selling to the new owner, don't know name. The contractor said he does not have the name as he was engaged by an architect. He said he knows the owner is not a Singaporean. The site project information board has no owners/developer name. Blanked out.
I think can write to SLA or something lor... you are talking about landed right... not HDB...

KnyghtRyder

I had observed some neighbours extended their back walls farther, after renovation, rebuilt, than the previous position.

Others created gardens with concrete planter boxes outside their wall.

In both cases, I asked the contractors if any payment for purchase of extra land has been made. Both replied they were not aware of. They were instructed by the owners to simply follow their wishes.

Isn't a property area demarcated by drawings and properly surveyed?

Why they can expand, in that case, by 1.5 metres forward?

Is there some sort of flexibility or non-strictness by SLA?
If you wish you can bunk knife them to BCA/SLA

BlackWing1977

Even HDB also got some yaw siew neighbour trying to take up more space in the corridor even enroaching into the space in front of their neighbours who dun have the habit of keeping any plants or things outside.

Miss.Molly

The land between the back boundary wall to longkang is the public land, am I right? Normally, foreign workers engaged by NEA's landscape contractor will trim the grass or apply pesticide. Because the houses are contiguous, this stretch can only be accessed from the main road and walk along the grass patch parallel to the longkang.

The new owner extended from existing position by another approx. 1.5 metres. The owner now have an expanded rear area for laundry and washing because of new space

My curiosity was picked by how that could have happened.

Sorry, when I said: "The boundary should be the fence.", I should have been clearer - I am assuming owner/developer built their walls/fence on the boundary. In your case, need to verify if this is so. Perhaps as others have suggested, they did not originally, and now they are rectifying the situation.

If they are indeed encroaching, then they are both very blatant as well as very stupid. Because sometimes there are buried pipes running parallel to the longkang, and when there comes a time to do maintenance/replacement...

Miss.Molly

Non-Singaporean can buy landed meh?

Also, architect should be cognisant (and mindful) of boundary issues unless cowboy type.

Lemonpeach

Sorry, when I said: "The boundary should be the fence.", I should have been clearer - I am assuming owner/developer built their walls/fence on the boundary. In your case, need to verify if this is so. Perhaps as others have suggested, they did not originally, and now they are rectifying the situation.

If they are indeed encroaching, then they are both very blatant as well as very stupid. Because sometimes there are buried pipes running parallel to the longkang, and when there comes a time to do maintenance/replacement...
I guess I will just take a picture and the site project information board, and send to SLA. Let them sort it out.

Lemonpeach

Non-Singaporean can buy landed meh?

Also, architect should be cognisant (and mindful) of boundary issues unless cowboy type.
No idea. The contractor say. Who knows what. You know, in Singapore, all sorts of things happening.

I only care about fairness and even treatment. I'm not kaypo type. If the new owner is allowed, I'm going to ask SLA to equally grant me permission.

Miss.Molly

No idea. The contractor say. Who knows what. You know, in Singapore, all sorts of things happening.

Don't think so - SG mostly follows rules & regulation coz few risk-takers, whether the public or the civil servant.
But when you go and see the neighbouring countries, day can become night, black can be white, wrong can become right, macam2 one.

archie7

pls take photo and report to SLA
misappropriation of state land

Lemonpeach

Don't think so - SG mostly follows rules & regulation coz few risk-takers, whether the public or the civil servant.
But when you go and see the neighbouring countries, day can become night, black can be white, wrong can become right, macam2 one.
Maybe new citizen. Not my business.

focus1974

I had observed some neighbours extended their back walls farther, after renovation, rebuilt, than the previous position.

Others created gardens with concrete planter boxes outside their wall.

In both cases, I asked the contractors if any payment for purchase of extra land has been made. Both replied they were not aware of. They were instructed by the owners to simply follow their wishes.

Isn't a property area demarcated by drawings and properly surveyed?

Why they can expand, in that case, by 1.5 metres forward?

Is there some sort of flexibility or non-strictness by SLA?

no one report...
means no problem.
that's how it works nowadays .. in public or private properties.

remember the HDB ground floor with the fish tank outside?
or the gym or living room of some neighbour at the common area of HDB level.

Philipkee

Yes it is public land. Authorities usually close an eye if it is all kept neat. They actually encourage landscaping and decoration to some extent. Itnis one more area an SLA contractor needs not care about.

Did you know in some areas NParks will help you plant a tree on the land if you ask them?

I have the plot outside my house landscaped nicely. Nothing permanent of course. Pots and solar lamps can easily be removed if needed. The 500kg boulder might tricky, but nothing an excavator can’t handle.

==
The backwall extension in your opening message is the one exception. That one is real encroachment and SLA will throw the book at them if it is found to indeed be encroachment into public land. It is fine and dandy to decorate the land. It absolutely IS NOT to extend or erect permanent structures like a boundary wall.
Something like it’s ok to put shoe rack outside your house door as long as not causing instruction but not ok to build a permanent gate along the corridor

Miss.Molly

Will just send location and picture. And I ask for permission to do the same. Hahaha.

Have you checked SLA's OneMap?
I seem to recall one of the aims of the resource was to allow homeowners to check on boundaries without going physically to MND to check the maps and plans as before.
Also, in 2022 the new State land protection act has greater penalties on encroachments inc jail term.

Lemonpeach

Have you checked SLA's OneMap?
I seem to recall one of the aims of the resource was to allow homeowners to check on boundaries without going physically to MND to check the maps and plans as before.
Also, in 2022 the new State land protection act has greater penalties on encroachments inc jail term.
Will do. I don't really bother about these. Just leave it to the architect. I got the current place from my dad after he passed away. Many houses in the area been here for a long time. I ask my lawyer to check for me. Thanks

MyWill

Pls dont self pwn. Before buying a landed property, any decent buyer will hire surveyor to map out the property boundaries. Then check nothing/ nobody jiak into his land. If got ppl jiak or he ownself jiak, better settle first.

End of day, property boundary likely marked by certified land surveyor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.