Grab driver drove up to 16 hours a day to support his family, and kept himself awake by drinking Red Bull, he passed away recently from stroke

crazythen

WarMage87

The problem with phv

You see those hao lian what 8k 10k 100k earning one

They is use their life to trade for it one

Early death among phv driver is pretty common.

This not the first. Won't be the last

Your forgot to add:

PHV can do in the past.

Now, really is cannot do. They cut incentives, cut everything. You are doing it to fund the CEO's GCB.

Scarlet Tea

He need to work to single handedly provide for 2 teenage girls financially.
Cannot blame him for working.

Is like those work hard but get divorced by wife who said he is "not around", "always thinking of work", "work obsessed"
But when time to divorce she asked for 50% of his asset and compensation. This kind of women shld burn in hell

tatsit

There should be regulations to limit working hours, especially for vocational drivers be it PHV or bus drivers or cement truck drivers

But once again, hypocritical sg govt truly doesn't give a sh!t about safety

Cmonster

What do you estimate is the nett income for the different tiers after deducting rental and petrol?

Emerald could be barely driving at all.
Ruby 1K per week?
Sapphire 2K?
Diamond 3K?

these are nett earnings?

you are driving 40 hours a week, earning about 1k a week

your previous post estimated Sapphire/Diamond driving 100+ hours a week?
If you assume one day off, thats 16+ hours driving everyday

do you think can be sustained?

WarMage87

Grab has different tiers for drivers, the higher tier you are, you get more benefit (priority allocation, rebates, fuel discount etc). What is priority allocation? Say there is 5 customer booking a trip in the area and there are 6 Emerald drivers, 4 Ruby, 2 Sapphire tier and 1 Diamond driver... The Sapphire/Diamond drivers will be offered the job 1st and leftovers then the Emerald/Ruby drivers got chance. Rebates? Grab take a 30% cut and S/D drivers get 20% back as rebates.

Emerald tier basic
Ruby tier 600-1200 pts
Sapphire tier 1200-1800 pts
Diamond tier >1800 pts

Those diamond drivers (>1800 pts) drive 3 times the amount of trips as me (600ish pts). At 600pts, I driving 40ish hours per week liao. Either they drive 120ish hours and/or they rush rush rush nonstop without rest.

It is clear that Sapphire/Diamond drivers are OBVIOUSLY overworking.
No idea why MOM isn't doing anything about this discriminatory policy which encourage over working and recklessness on the roads. Eliminate this tier thing and more people will rest when they need to.

The only workaround is account sharing lor.

Like those Food Panda, you sell account to those JHK and they pay you...

sunsetbay

That is for those born before 1995

younger ones all compulsory contribution for CPF and Medisave

MOM too kind, I would have made it compulsory for all immediately

PHV drivers need to be 30yo & above, so all PHV drivers are born before or same year of 1995~

Compulsory one mostly target to those food delivery riders that are below 30yo~ :s22:

Mecisteus

The amount of long hours of stress on hectic roads of SG will do harm to your cardiovascular.

Plus the sugar spikes from red bulls.

Cmonster

PHV drivers need to be 30yo & above, so all PHV drivers are born before or same year of 1995~

Compulsory one mostly target to those food delivery riders that are below 30yo~ :s22:
They set the cut off based on year born, not age

The idea is MOM wants all younger Singaporeans born after 1995, which means now 30 yrs old and below

who are considering gig jobs to have Mandatory CPF savings

But they give chance to those older ones, to let them earn the full amount.
But i think this is unnecessary, should just apply it across all ages

inadatan

He’s still young in his late 40s. RIP to him..
Sad to see someone with PHV, hard working and yet pass on early..

sunsetbay

They set the cut off based on year born, not age

The idea is MOM wants all younger Singaporeans born after 1995, which means now 30 yrs old and below

who are considering gig jobs to have Mandatory CPF savings

But they give chance to those older ones, to let them earn the full amount.
But i think this is unnecessary, should just apply it across all ages

PHV drivers minimum 30; compulsory CPF contribution to those born before 1995~ when the compulsory cpf contribution policy implemented Jan 2025, all PHV drivers are not affected as they were born before 1995~

CPF OA is optional to them and even if they opt in, it's not the full amount like that other full time employees getting, the amount will slowly increase till full amount on year 2029~ :s22:

pwongkk

how much strength do you need to turn that steering wheel or pushing the accelerator/brake? The most tiring thing in driving is putting on the seat belt. How physically straining can driving be? Admittedly the Porsche 911 steering wheel is a bit heavier but it can be solved with an option and I really don't see many Grab Porsche 911 driver on the road. I drive everyday in jams and smooth expressways. Tell me what's physically straining about driving, compared to the Bangla doing heavy lifting at various construction sites?
Mentally stressing as you need to focus on the dynamic road conditions.

Cmonster

PHV drivers minimum 30; compulsory CPF contribution to those born before 1995~ when the compulsory cpf contribution policy implemented Jan 2025, all PHV drivers are not affected as they were born before 1995~

CPF OA is optional to them and even if they opt in, it's not the full amount like that other full time employees getting, the amount will slowly increase till full amount on year 2029~ :s22:
I think you don’t understand what MOM is trying to do and what I am trying to explain to you

yes all PHV drivers NOW are not affected

but all Singaporeans born after 1995 - WILL BE under compulsory CPF.

So any young Singaporean born in 1995, who can become PHV driver this year after their birthday.

they will be under mandatory CPF

and all the young ones after that from 1996, 1997 etc

its not hard to understand you know…

Cmonster

Only for those born after 1995.
Ya I felt they should have just implemented it for everyone, instead of only those born after 1995

because those born in 1985 to 1994 are only 30+ years old, and there is still ample time for them to build up their CPF savings for retirement

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.