Grab driver drove up to 16 hours a day to support his family, and kept himself awake by drinking Red Bull, he passed away recently from stroke

iluvchickenwing

just curious if daughters are minors, then the hdb loan still need to pay? or auto cancel and they get to inherit the house? wont kena kick out by hdb rite?

0nePunchm@n

Seem to me there are no rule or restriction… They don’t encourage, so they only advise driver to take a rest after 10hrs.
just another day, another death.. nothing gonna change.. no improvement to society we're in..
let all form of slavery be glorify in this red dot, no more Swiss dream:s13:

winningeleven

Extremely irresponsible, not only towards himself and his family but also towards his passengers and other road users. Lucky no one innocent was hurt
Agreed .
I am about to post the same thought .

Passengers taken his ride are extremely in high risk of involving in traffic accident.

No doubt he worked hard but then he didn't rest well enough to ensure the safety of the passengers.

The_King

In SG if you poor or in the middle, dont get married, IT does not give a F if you single or married, IT only scare if you dont work

In SG if you poor or in the middle, but want to get married, then be semi retired DINK (dual income no kids) IT does not give a F if you dink or not, IT only scare if you dont work

In SG if you poor or in the middle like me then i choose to be single and be semi retired

we can always import and be low income to get all the benefit

endlssorrow

that y i always finish my salary. dont save for other coz myself wan enjoys the max

Checkyrmed

The money is good so he work two shift. His mental say he can do it, just drink Red Bull but his cholesterol maybe over limit and likely he got high blood pressure but never control.
There have been significant changes in dietary health trends, not due to food in general, but largely because of one key ingredient, linoleic acid, also known as omega-6. With the MOH taking centre stage and promoting unsaturated oils, linoleic acid is now pervasive in almost all cooking oils and cooked foods in Singapore. This widespread presence contributes to inflammation, oxidative stress, oxidized cholesterol, and metabolic dysfunction while increasing small dense LDL particles.

The primary concern should be with unsaturated fats, which contain double bonds that make them highly susceptible to oxidation when heated. This oxidation process breaks down fatty acids and generates harmful compounds, including aldehydes, alpha and beta unsaturated aldehydes such as 4-HNE and MDA, epoxy aldehydes, acrolein, trans fats, oxidized fatty acids, and free radicals. Many of these aldehydes are highly reactive, damaging cellular components such as DNA and proteins, and have been linked to chronic diseases, including cardiovascular disease, neurodegenerative conditions like Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s, and certain cancers.

In contrast, saturated fats are much more stable at high temperatures, making them a preferable option for cooking to minimize the formation of these harmful substances. The rise in insulin resistance closely parallels the MOH continued promotion of unsaturated fats.

virtualape

Agreed .
I am about to post the same thought .

Passengers taken his ride are extremely in high risk of involving in traffic accident.

No doubt he worked hard but then he didn't rest well enough to ensure the safety of the passengers.
The app should have mandatory rest of 1 hour after say 5 hours of drive. Those who want to continue on, after the 10th hour, there should be a 7 hours break before the driver starts again.

0nePunchm@n

The app should have mandatory rest of 1 hour after say 5 hours of drive. Those who want to continue on, after the 10th hour, there should be a 7 hours break before the driver starts again.
GRAB just heck care.. act blur.. not their problem.. who's problem actually?

tokong

Whatever it is, hit 50 liao, take a step back in life, 不要逞强.

We Chinese have a habit of saving and earning more and grinding through tough times, it is a virtue but also a hazard. We always want to save more for our kids' education or even overseas education if they cannot get into the top 2 unis, but in the end a floppy health.
I googled and someone wrote 8-9hr comfortably 4-5k

This guy work so hard so I assume 8-9k.

Delivery is about 4.4k per month. I would rather choose to deliver parcels or food rather than picking passengers.

"""
My husband is currently working as a delivery driver (using a car), work for 11 hours a day with 1 hour break, 5.5 days a week.

After cutting petrol & car weekly rental cost, brings back about $4.4k or with incentives $5.8k close to $6k.

A pretty great gig but this is not a long term career though.
"""

Lchlch

Whatever it is, hit 50 liao, take a step back in life, 不要逞强.

We Chinese have a habit of saving and earning more and grinding through tough times, it is a virtue but also a hazard. We always want to save more for our kids' education or even overseas education if they cannot get into the top 2 unis, but in the end a floppy health.

Delivery is about 4.4k per month. I would rather choose to deliver parcels or food rather than picking passengers.

"""
My husband is currently working as a delivery driver (using a car), work for 11 hours a day with 1 hour break, 5.5 days a week.

After cutting petrol & car weekly rental cost, brings back about $4.4k or with incentives $5.8k close to $6k.

A pretty great gig but this is not a long term career though.
"""

We always hv this mindset that saving not enough.

SkyNinja

Many married men work like mad to feed the family yet reach home to hear the housewives nag like a broken radio.

Courage

Lol.

EDMW - "driving 16 hours a day is not strenuous".

Sometimes I wonder what kind of people are behind the keyboard.
how much strength do you need to turn that steering wheel or pushing the accelerator/brake? The most tiring thing in driving is putting on the seat belt. How physically straining can driving be? Admittedly the Porsche 911 steering wheel is a bit heavier but it can be solved with an option and I really don't see many Grab Porsche 911 driver on the road. I drive everyday in jams and smooth expressways. Tell me what's physically straining about driving, compared to the Bangla doing heavy lifting at various construction sites?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.