Woman gets $1 a month in maintenance, after judge dismisses her appeal for spousal support

virtualape

How come she only gets 25% of the flat and no maintenance ah? I learnt from edmw that women always get at least 50% of everything no matter what leh :o
But she gets 40% of his other assets. She didn't pay instalment for the flat cos she isn't listed as co owner. She did pay but hdb refunded her as per the article.

The man still lugi. But good thing is got custody of the daughter and $300+ for kid maintenance from ex wife.

Laguna123

But she gets 40% of his other assets. She didn't pay instalment for the flat cos she isn't listed as co owner. She did pay but hdb refunded her as per the article.

The man still lugi. But good thing is got custody of the daughter and $300+ for kid maintenance from ex wife.
Think not bad liao, she didn’t pay a cent for the flat still gets 25% share of the flat.

icebleue

Make sure you aren’t working and need take care of child.
Wc protects vulnerable housewife women taking care of children.

if you are jobbed and kid is above 7 usually they award only $1/month aka minimum sum.

0nePunchm@n

Ms Angelina Hing, managing director of Integro Law Chambers, said the $1 nominal maintenance thus preserves the former spouse’s right to apply for a more significant sum of maintenance if there are material changes in her financial situation or needs.

Seem like keep that $1 nominal maintenance fee is like having a noose on the neck of the ex husband.
Sg men are just a very good target for extortion :s13:

Philipkee

Stay single. None of the assets would be matrimonial. :s13: :crazy:
https://hamlins.com/insight/squatters-rights-a-guide-to-adverse-possession/#:~:text=However, if the land is,fall within a justifying ground.

if I remember correctly, squatters law has been repealed in Singapore but it seems from here that for residential buildings, as opposed to public land, it’s vague

From a friend who practices law in UK, it seems it’s something like you let someone stay in your house beyond a certain number of years and you do not have a lease agreement, beyond that number of years, the person has some rights to your place

What might happen here is that let’s say you cohabit with someone in Singapore in your flat for years. It must be years. Then you separate. You are not married so it’s not a matrimonial home or anything. But by virtue of her staying for years in your place and she is not a tenant with a tenancy agreement, she might have some rights to your place

Of cos maybe no rights at all but I don’t want to be the first person to kenna this in court to find out for sure. But one lawyer told me that all your love letters like “we will stay together in this house forever” or “what I have is yours and what is yours is mine” might actually end up as evidence in court that you promised the house to her even if not married

No guarantees or comments on the verdict la. Just be careful what you message or write even if it’s love letters

NintendoSwitch

Wife former indian national. Should be marry foreigners so henta kaki?
Dat kind of policy still in place under the current talent-friendly leegime?

iu

hwarzoner

take note of the $1 dollar, if next time can claim more from ex hubby.

better to have a clean cut from a stranger or ex wife.

stupid wc why still need to pay a non blood related stranger money once divorced.

glarerder

https://hamlins.com/insight/squatters-rights-a-guide-to-adverse-possession/#:~:text=However, if the land is,fall within a justifying ground.

if I remember correctly, squatters law has been repealed in Singapore but it seems from here that for residential buildings, as opposed to public land, it’s vague

From a friend who practices law in UK, it seems it’s something like you let someone stay in your house beyond a certain number of years and you do not have a lease agreement, beyond that number of years, the person has some rights to your place

What might happen here is that let’s say you cohabit with someone in Singapore in your flat for years. It must be years. Then you separate. You are not married so it’s not a matrimonial home or anything. But by virtue of her staying for years in your place and she is not a tenant with a tenancy agreement, she might have some rights to your place

Of cos maybe no rights at all but I don’t want to be the first person to kenna this in court to find out for sure. But one lawyer told me that all your love letters like “we will stay together in this house forever” or “what I have is yours and what is yours is mine” might actually end up as evidence in court that you promised the house to her even if not married

No guarantees or comments on the verdict la. Just be careful what you message or write even if it’s love letters
Wiser choice would then be no cohabiting. At the very most is alternate weekend stay and she must also have her own house when. We reach a certain age. It's for our safeguard. We won't know one day govt may decide to backdate like how they did with the 99-to-1. I recall it wasn't illegal until iras said it is?

Chinese has a saying, easy to move in hard to move out.

trax06

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...udge-dismisses-her-appeal-for-spousal-support

This is especially since the woman – a former Indian national and Singapore permanent resident – cannot buy an HDB flat on her own, among other factors.

Former means give up her former nationality alr? Now is not alr? Either she still is or is not. Now if is spr, means she no nationality now?

Ms Chen said that if a flat is considered a matrimonial asset under the Women’s Charter, it is liable to be divided between the couple. This is even if one spouse fully financed the property, or the flat is under one spouse’s name only.

Wc is best. Stay single better😂

Eh sounds worse then syariah law.

Joseph12

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...udge-dismisses-her-appeal-for-spousal-support

This is especially since the woman – a former Indian national and Singapore permanent resident – cannot buy an HDB flat on her own, among other factors.

Former means give up her former nationality alr? Now is not alr? Either she still is or is not. Now if is spr, means she no nationality now?

Ms Chen said that if a flat is considered a matrimonial asset under the Women’s Charter, it is liable to be divided between the couple. This is even if one spouse fully financed the property, or the flat is under one spouse’s name only.

Wc is best. Stay single better😂
I think it's a cock up
She probably is still Indian and Singapore PR
Unless she is like US national and still Singapore PR?

iluvchickenwing

xiasuay...saf regular but never pay hdb until it got repossessed. their kid got such parents really sad.

Joseph12

Think not bad liao, she didn’t pay a cent for the flat still gets 25% share of the flat.
Well she did well cos she got PR and can work in Singapore for a foreigner

Can tell qualifications probably not fantastic cos she's administrative assistant and pay is only $2300

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.