i dont why ppl think take masters is the way to find job
i got 1 boss he last time director in US mnc
got 3 masters
after tio pok
jobless for 2 yrs liao

SpecialKeyboardService

I’m in my late 40s. Since 2020, I’ve sent out thousands of job applications. In six years, I only received one job offer — in 2023. I took it, worked hard, and was rated “exceeds expectations” in my performance review. Not long after, I was told I was on the retrenchment list. I resigned right before the official notice — to avoid the stigma and protect future chances.

I already had a strong and broad professional background when I left my permanent role at a globally prestigious firm to deepen and diversify my expertise further before 2020. I pursued a master’s degree in a different field at a top university, ranked #1 in its field worldwide, and graduated with distinction during the pandemic.

To stay connected and expand my network, I’ve been attending free public events. Often, more than half the people there were foreign professionals already working in Singapore. From what I observed, they didn’t have stronger profiles or wider capabilities than I do. Yet they had jobs. I didn’t.

I’ve been on the WSG programme for years, but they haven’t gotten me a single interview. I don’t own property, and without a salaried job, I can’t apply for a mortgage. With the cost of living so high, I’m now planning to relocate to a developing country — just to survive.

Imagine that — a highly qualified Singaporean, with a proven track record and wide-ranging skills, now has to leave the country he helped build because he can’t afford to live in it.

My great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, and I all contributed to building this nation. I served 2.5 years of full-time National Service, training and leading 60 combat personnel to protect this country throughout all my reservice duties.

So I ask honestly:
If even someone like me can’t survive here — what hope do older Singaporeans have? Can I now ask, what can this country do for us?
did you vote wisely?

cosmothecat

You already stated your main problem in the opening line, you are in your late 40s

Once above 40yo is no employer wants already, don't dream

This is not a Singapore only problem, you go any other countries, you will also face the same thing

DeadPeople

blame lao pei blame lao bu blame everyone.

late 40s liao leh what u expect. got grab driving to grab already good liao. dont wait until 5-10 yrs later, only can be security guard.

ramlee

Sinkies voted to be 2nd class shittyzens that thinks cdc vouchers is a godsend.

Sinkies deserves every single gaslighting episode, every slap to the face, every job loss and everything terrible that happens to them because they voted out of fear/selfishness/greed
If I can get more cdc vouchers, you can call me anything you like :(

1982-1994

Doesn't happen to me for the past 15 years though I am not highly paid
But I am likely not going to work again if I tio retrenched despite I am only 45

hardwriter

Singaporeans are mostly employed with good jobs.

How come you are the exception? So many data out there to prove singaporeans are over employed - rather than give foreigners the jobs.

silent_espy

lol ownself call ownself strong profile is pretty huge red flag for any employers.

is like if a man say "I am duaki and i chase many girls but none like me.. why?"

problem is yourself
A lot of sinkies think like you until they are the ones falling into the hole. I know quite a number of my peers thought like you then kena retrenched and kbkp. I used to think the same until my manager who got retrenched told me everyone will get older and then the chance of retrenchment will get higher.

Emperor_Hippo

I’m in my late 40s. Since 2020, I’ve sent out thousands of job applications. In six years, I only received one job offer — in 2023. I took it, worked hard, and was rated “exceeds expectations” in my performance review. Not long after, I was told I was on the retrenchment list. I resigned right before the official notice — to avoid the stigma and protect future chances.

I already had a strong and broad professional background when I left my permanent role at a globally prestigious firm to deepen and diversify my expertise further before 2020. I pursued a master’s degree in a different field at a top university, ranked #1 in its field worldwide, and graduated with distinction during the pandemic.

To stay connected and expand my network, I’ve been attending free public events. Often, more than half the people there were foreign professionals already working in Singapore. From what I observed, they didn’t have stronger profiles or wider capabilities than I do. Yet they had jobs. I didn’t.

I’ve been on the WSG programme for years, but they haven’t gotten me a single interview. I don’t own property, and without a salaried job, I can’t apply for a mortgage. With the cost of living so high, I’m now planning to relocate to a developing country — just to survive.

Imagine that — a highly qualified Singaporean, with a proven track record and wide-ranging skills, now has to leave the country he helped build because he can’t afford to live in it.

My great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, and I all contributed to building this nation. I served 2.5 years of full-time National Service, training and leading 60 combat personnel to protect this country throughout all my reservice duties.

So I ask honestly:
If even someone like me can’t survive here — what hope do older Singaporeans have? Can I now ask, what can this country do for us?
This fella dunno the basic principle - in Singapore, once u past 45, ur CEP oredi 锁死 liao, regardless u public or private.

i mean why ppl nit to go up ur pay when cost is the word? For the price of 1, the company can hire 3.

on top of sucking productivity grants, can also suck whatever's worth out of the younger works giving their 1000% just to prove themselves.

一旦把你榨干,就像榨过的甘蔗。当废材烧掉拿去填海。

alifffresto

Moi send out 50+ resume past 6 month, still 0 interview, but my profile ish cmi huan. So tough nowadays 😭

So I ask honestly:
song boh. hope more sinkies lose jobs and replaced by foreigners. GE has shown how useless sinkies are

grevq80o

So I ask honestly:
Who he voted for?

ballistixxx

So I ask honestly:
joined 2022 still junior member? LOL

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.