Ong Ye Kung I am dismayed at the monthly rental bid of over $52,000 (or over $1,000 psm) for a GP clinic in Tampines

alvincy

all these ministers got talk to each other or not?

if someone wanted 10m population, then Desmond must make sure got schools for my children, OYK must ensure hospitals got enough beds, the waiting time to see specialist/surgery, CHT must make sure enough HDB for people, not few yrs of waiting, MOT new guy must make sure public transport able to handle the load, TSL must make sure enough jobs……

marksnow44

If the doctor has to recover all the cost and his salaries, he has to do more patients (may not have), or do more for patients, each do additional tests, blood test, ecg, audio, ear syringe, so each patient need to pay $150 -200 to get out.

CantStopWhining

He didn't quite explain the evaluation criteria though. 70% quality of care means if you can prove you can provide the highest quality of care, you can charge even higher than 50k?

The problem is govt has a conflict of interest. They want the highest rental yet also expect the cost not to be passed to consumers. In theory, to make sure cost isn't passed to consumers, should it be determine based on quality then the lowest bid? But I think the bid is still based on the highest?

Correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks in advance.

cyke69sg

He didn't quite explain the evaluation criteria though. 70% quality of care means if you can prove you can provide the highest quality of care, you can charge even higher than 50k?

The problem is govt has a conflict of interest. They want the highest rental yet also expect the cost not to be passed to consumers. In theory, to make sure cost isn't passed to consumers, should it be determine based on quality then the lowest bid? But I think the bid is still based on the highest?

Correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks in advance.
Cost is borne by the doctors. Not the patients.

CantStopWhining

Cost is borne by the doctors. Not the patients.
Not sure what you mean.

Doctors can be salaried. It's the owners that bear the cost. But will owners want to suffer a loss? They will just charge higher consultation fees, isn't that so?

KPO_SAHM

Block the rental. Force it to be lower.

Just like how dr bill patient got ethical limit as per Dr Susan Lim case. There should be ethical limit on rental for clinic space.

Dr Susan Lim case.......
What case?? Any link?

tExtra

Build a polyclinic next to him loh. Confirm close shop. :frown:

dambio

Nvmind...just let everything in sg keep rising. I wanna see where's d limit 😂

HoLoGram

Why oyk never shoot eggmy when she say higher rental does not affect "selling" price. And ib jin cham. They tried so hard to weasel their way to justify eggmy speech now see oyk like that say dont know what to do liao.
When I saw articles of her saying that from way back, sounded damn stupid, how can it be. But when I went to read more, she was referring specifically to HAWKER CENTRES - controlled by NEA. Not coffee shops, not malls, etc which are private. So over the years, quoted out of context.

To be fair to her, hawker centres' rental is much much lower. But still quite tone deaf. Shld have said affects less for hawker centres and not "do not directly affect food prices".

Sauce: https://lkyspp.nus.edu.sg/docs/defa...ct-food-prices-amy-khor.pdf?sfvrsn=9273720a_2

HoLoGram

Dismay? I still disjune and disjuly.

Volunteer and go fix the problem la. Dismay got what use
don't be so dismayed.. his FB post did say the concrete steps MOH and HDB taken to fix it, believe it or not, THIS MAY. lol

Roundtreex

Not sure what you mean.

Doctors can be salaried. It's the owners that bear the cost. But will owners want to suffer a loss? They will just charge higher consultation fees, isn't that so?
Exactly. You dont need to be doctor to open clinic.
You can be boss opening clinic.

yperic

Ong Ye Kung ‘dismayed’ at $52k bid to rent Tampines HDB clinic​

I-Health Medical Holdings won the tender to operate the 50 sq m ground-floor unit at Block 954C Tampines Street 96 in March.

I-Health Medical Holdings won the tender to operate the 50 sq m ground-floor unit at Block 954C Tampines Street 96 in March. ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR

SINGAPORE - Health Minister Ong Ye Kung said he was “dismayed” at the $52,188 monthly rental bid for a general practitioner (GP) clinic in a Tampines HDB estate as it may lead to higher healthcare costs for residents.

He pointed out that going forward, bids for future HDB GP clinics will be assessed using a model that focuses less on price, and more on quality of care, he said in a Facebook post on June 4.

Mr Ong said the high rental bid would “translate to higher cost of healthcare one way or another” and negate the Health Ministry’s efforts to keep the cost of primary healthcare affordable.

“More importantly, higher rental bids do not necessarily translate to the best healthcare that the community needs,” he added.

I-Health Medical Holdings had won the tender to operate the 50 sq m ground-floor unit at Block 954C Tampines Street 96 in March.

But the issue recently came to public attention after a doctor called the $52,188 monthly rent “obscene” in a LinkedIn post. It sparked discussion over rising rentals and healthcare costs.

Mr Andrew Chim, 37, the co-owner of I-Health Medical Holdings, had said told The Straits Times that his bid was based on the attractive attributes of the area.

He said the unit is in the middle of five Build-To-Order projects with 5,000 households, and near upcoming developments like a new mixed-use project and a shopping mall.

On June 4, Mr Ong pointed to the new tender approach for GP clinics that MOH and HDB had first launched at the Bartley Beacon development in May.

Under this new “price-quality evaluation model”, quality of care will account for 70 per cent of tender evaluation and rental price the remaining 30 per cent.

The Bartley Beacon tender closed on May 29, and Mr Ong said MOH received proposals with rental bids significantly below that for the Tampines site.

He noted that the Tampines clinic launched for tender in December 2024 and was awarded in March 2025, before tenders took on the price-quality evaluation model.

The new model which will be the norm moving forward and shift the focus away from rental rates.

“It will be a meaningful shift, both in improving primary care, and ensuring greater affordability,” Mr Ong said.

General practitioners who run clinics in HDB estates either rent directly from the state, or from landlords who own HDB commercial units.

GPs that the The Straits Times spoke to felt the $52,188 rental was too high to be sustainable. Some doctors that rented from private landlords described a volatile rental market that has seen prices rising after the pandemic.

Dr Conrad Chin, who runs the E. L. Chin Family Clinic and Surgery in Clementi, said he thought the rental amount was outrageous.

“Most older doctors do not pay above $2,000 for rent. I doubt that the ($52,188) price is sustainable in the long term,” he added.

Dr Wong Choo Wai, who runs two HDB clinics in Bedok and Jurong, said if rent is not sustainable the clinic will have to pass on the cost to patients.

Dr Wong, who rented before buying his own units in 2009 and 2015, said the rental market has been volatile.

“When the clinic starts doing well, private landlords may jack up the rent,” he said.

In 2009, the landlord for his Bedok unit asked for a 40 per cent increase in rent. As the rent “did not make sense” for the clinic, Dr Wong bought a neighbouring unit for about $750,000.

“I’m thankful I made the decision to buy, else I will be at the mercy of the landlord,” he added.

A doctor who runs a clinic in Clementi, and declined to be named, said he hopes the $52,188 rent will not trigger rent hikes as small businesses are already struggling with rentals.

“Anything over $10,000 would be difficult for me to run the clinic. As solo GPs, we don’t make that kind of money to justify the rental,” he said.

Parkway Shenton chief executive Tay Wee Kai said that rents at their clinics in HDB estates have increased across the board post Covid-19.

“This is partly due to inflation and also due to some landlords adopting a “catch-up” mentality and expecting higher rent,” he said.

Mr Tay added that during the Covid-19 pandemic, rents remained stagnant and even went down at some locations. Their branches in HDB estates comprise about half of their more than 30 clinics.

• Isabelle Liew is a journalist at The Straits Times. She covers housing issues in Singapore, with a focus on public housing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.