News| ‘Have a life besides driving’: Death of private-hire driver a wake-up call, say those in industry

AuraKUPO

Tio suan by fellow phv drivers 555. But is true, own self know got family got kids still chiong without care.

TiedInsurer

This guy siao one. How can everyday drink 3 cans of red bull? He never learn in school meh? High sugar, high caffeine.
It's usually a gradual procedure. I was in the same situation once. At first, everyday one can to go that tiny bit further. Body feels like crap at first from overexertion, but slowly got used to it. Then add second can. The fatigue and exhaustion worse. But also got used to that eventually. Then add third can. This time cannot. Start to get heart palpitations. So i go back to two.

But some people will choose to ignore it and power through, because their dependants need the money. It's not up to them.

jq75

thot this kinda thing, ppl would know automatically to not over exert themselves

but to some, they are still thinking of making more money to make ends meet

telling themselves nvm, they can take that extra hours w/o adequate rest

🤷‍♂️
Like Gov say cannot vape
Still we see pple do it

nyvrem

question we should all be concerned is why must he over work to support his 2 kids.

working normal hours, eg 40hrs/week not enough?

:( :( :(

fandango

It's usually a gradual procedure. I was in the same situation once. At first, everyday one can to go that tiny bit further. Body feels like crap at first from overexertion, but slowly got used to it. Then add second can. The fatigue and exhaustion worse. But also got used to that eventually. Then add third can. This time cannot. Start to get heart palpitations. So i go back to two.

But some people will choose to ignore it and power through, because their dependants need the money. It's not up to them.
Just drink kopi o kosong lar. Healthier and got caffeine also.

TiedInsurer

Just drink kopi o kosong lar. Healthier and got caffeine also.
He died from exhaustion and overwork, not sugar overdose. The heart palpitations i got was also from pverwork. The culprit is the caffeine enabling people to work beyond what should have been possible.

coolmyth

Really need to start reviewing all these incentives, and assess if it's unwittingly pushing drivers.

Just like playing game, the harder the challenge, the more chiu wanna push yourself to win, so that you can reap the rewards and maybe brag about it. 🤔

priore

And then when the same happens to office worker, the narrative becomes "have a life besides working"...

We just have had a poll recently about ppl taking up 2 to 3 jobs isn't it?

Wanna guess why? I'm sure the gov alrdy have it all figured out alrdy.... Right?

Can't be just cost of living.... Right?

Compare to other countries, we arent as bad, right???

TiedInsurer

question we should all be concerned is why must he over work to support his 2 kids.

working normal hours, eg 40hrs/week not enough?

:( :( :(
It's not the 1980s anymore. 40hr workweek on blue collar salary can only support ownself. Cannot support kids.

lampano

drive grab need to chiong leh, no chiong really cannot earn much de
no incentives no bonus no cpf ( just 6%?)

miko66

Knn. Who dont want a life? But sg too expensive. No money need to work till uplorry mah.

Precisely

Now i understand y my oldman used to kpkb can die but cannot fall sick in SG !

bluerhino

It's not the 1980s anymore. 40hr workweek on blue collar salary can only support ownself. Cannot support kids.
Blue collar also got split in to got skill and no skill one. You see those crane operators can earn 5 figures consistently. Tipper truck driver, cement driver, commercial diver all can earn a lot. If you do grab those are no skill set needed kind of blue collar work with low barriers to entry. Of course won’t earn a lot.

TiedInsurer

Even close leg, spiralling costs in international marketplace, what makes u think companies wun offer contract? :s11:

and in the first place, why would i wanna offer perm contract and a monthly pay/stipend to an emcee who just runs my company d&d once a year on that one day? :s11:

is like sometimes i ask myself, "can i dun pay for those 3wks of school holidays for my kid's school bus?".
Emcee can man cashier. Frontline staff and even garbage men in europe earn a lot more then office workers, because europe don't open leg to drive down blue collar salaries.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.