[GPGT] pro chef says NTUC butter fail and low quality. Who buys NTUC butter?

wanderandwondered

I think lurpak or scs are okay too, golden churn not as nice and I don't remember trying the NTUC butter.

I like good unsalted butter. Don't know why the guy is complaining about the butter not being salty enough. Just add your own salt if you want saltier butter? Less salt is healthy.

The best butters taste good even when unsalted. I like thin slices on hot toast. Eat it like cheese. Shiok.
"I like good unsalted butter. Don't know why the guy is complaining about the butter not being salty enough. Just add your own salt if you want saltier butter? Less salt is healthy."

Excellent point.

Geminiboy

The water is from SG leh

If you're interested, can read up on oyster sauce, soy sauce, and market share of China in the concentrated sauce.
Made in SG but ingredients from China. Yes. If I’m in Denmark and I see oyster sauce labelled made in SG, I would wonder where SG gets its oysters from, cuz SG doesn’t produce oysters. Still it is correctly labelled made in SG. The consumers have to be smart lor.

But the NTUC butter is made in Denmark as labelled. It’s just that it is made specifically for NTUC, using lower quality ingredients as agreed between the manufacturer and NTUC.

Checkyrmed

Stick to ghee or unrefined coconut oil for cooking, but avoid FairPrice house brands.

tanahgu

In

https://www.facebook.com/share/r/19APitcVJC/

There u go.

He does tests on different brand of butter.. even Malaysian farmfresh butter is better than NTUC's one.. more water than fat content is cheating.

ok, i seen both vids
i cant see which butter is spitting or splitting

the ingredient list on most butters already say 80~82% min fat
it is cheating if there is more than 20% moisture

rogze79

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1AZi9mjzYs/

Very surprised he consider SCS as low quality butter

He's not wrong. I ate lotsa butter. One 250g block in less than a week. Finally settled on Westgold salted butter (grass fed).

There's indeed noticeable differences when you sliced the different brand of butters.

Among the common brands like scs, ntuc, lurpak, anchor or butters from Phoon huat,
Only westman butter is the most perfect when sliced. Fully compact. (A sign of the true water content)

For the rest of the butters, the water content is dubious. There's minor lobangs, breakage, imperfections when sliced.

Of cos, westman gold salted butter tastes the best. But taste is subjective though.

AlmightyOnes

I think so far I only bought their house brand snack. I like their fried chicken cashew nuts leh.. not bad but unhealthy... (due to all the msg/sodium), the corn cashew also not bad... if u don't want to feel 'tired' or hurt your teeth chewing on the fried chicken cashew nuts.

ksapple

He's not wrong. I ate lotsa butter. One 250g block in less than a week. Finally settled on Westgold salted butter (grass fed).

There's indeed noticeable differences when you sliced the different brand of butters.

Among the common brands like scs, ntuc, lurpak, anchor or butters from Phoon huat,
Only westman butter is the most perfect when sliced. Fully compact. (A sign of the true water content)

For the rest of the butters, the water content is dubious. There's minor lobangs, breakage, imperfections when sliced.

Of cos, westman gold salted butter tastes the best. But taste is subjective though.

tat is what he say, for farm fresh too.

I make brown butter for baking, anchor lurpak and golden churn all dun splutter much only the farm fresh can make a big splutter that mess up my kitchen

Checkyrmed

Omega-6 eggs 🤣🤣

Eggs that will give you a heart attack.

5npQD9W.png

rogze79

I think lurpak or scs are okay too, golden churn not as nice and I don't remember trying the NTUC butter.

I like good unsalted butter. Don't know why the guy is complaining about the butter not being salty enough. Just add your own salt if you want saltier butter? Less salt is healthy.

The best butters taste good even when unsalted. I like thin slices on hot toast. Eat it like cheese. Shiok.
Salt elevates the taste of food. It is never the issue of too much salt. Try westman gold salted butter for once.

NoSouL

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1AZi9mjzYs/

Very surprised he consider SCS as low quality butter..
I thought SCS is good quality, which is why I had it for 8 years even though I find the taste not as good as expected.

Maybe a chef's expectation is different, like melting test, fats content.
my concern is the taste, and Anchor is the one for me.

I just cooked some lamb rack last night with Anchor Butter, taste good too.

Dracky

Butter is high fat, unhealthy food. It doesn't matter if it is NTUC or other brand. The basic constituents are the same.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.