“One of the craziest things” about being a student in a local university is that she has already completed six internships, and she has not graduated

ceestudent

Weird, how come no bbfa suggested that she can open OF account or what?
All of you repent already ah.

matrix05

Looks mature for an undergrad. 23F why not grad yet? Doing PhD? Or did NS?

keechiu

Internship but no need study ok what, how to compare with those who work full time while studying degree or masters? Like that they kisiao already ar? :s13::s13:

rodimus_prime

My kid chatted with a UK professor who is teaching in one of local unis.

She is awed with the students here and pities them for not spending their youthful years as youths. Her students will bug her for next term's topics etc to read during the school holidays. When having field work, these students want the daily schedule in details and will complain if details were not given as they don't like not being able to prepare before hand.

Her question to my kid was "Sporean youngsters don't have hobbies?"
How to have hobby when so many out there wanting to steal our lunch ? They are cheaper so we have to be better and faster all the time.

rodimus_prime

Like, doesn't feel very healthy.

If she is doing it because she genuinely enjoys it, good for her.

But if she is doing it for the sake of doing it (to outcompete her peers)...ugh.
Many even delay graduation just to chalk up more internships under their belt to gain competitive advantage over their peers in securing jobs. LOAs are common today. Just plain ridiculous

KakiMeow

A butcher's knife wrapped in...

... Silk and jewels and hung in palace wall

Is still a butcher's knife...

A treasure sword thrown in mud and wrapped in rugsack...

Is still a treasure sword...

Be happy with what you have and make the best of it... :s11:

SayPorkGuy

How to have hobby when so many out there wanting to steal our lunch ? They are cheaper so we have to be better and faster all the time.
hobby means chu have leisure time. already say sinkiepolang not hungry enough. how can chu be hungry and yet have leisure time?

RadEoNic

I hired like at least 10 interns already
Some of them are even YPAP members holding some posts or sort one
I see their CV and shudder. Later I give too easy stuff kena complain how

mummynew

Most Singaporeans are generally boring / robotic / 1-2-3 people who can't think out of the box - mainly the result of our education system.

Many really don't have hobbies and living dog's life.

83sarahtan

Wah, siao one leh six internships and haven’t even graduate yet! Local uni students really power, like CV speedrun sia. Study already stress, still must chiong intern non-stop. But bo bian, job market competitive mah. No experience, later kena ghosted after grad.

Philipkee

She is awed with the students here and pities them for not spending their youthful years as youths. Her students will bug her for next term's topics etc to read during the school holidays. When having field work, these students want the daily schedule in details and will complain if details were not given as they don't like not being able to prepare before hand.

It’s not no hobbies but sinkie parents keep drilling into kids to take jobs that earn money. How many learn medicine or even AI because they love it and not because it’s the in thing that brings in money?

Then when the fad dies, these people can’t find jobs and a new fad arises. But the new fad can be something that was looked down upon just a few years back so it could be the FT or the cannot make it so go unpopular courses who get the job.

jeffrey745

Their hobbies are work, investments and making $$

mummynew

The new era ladies.

I am OK with tattoos on girls (seems like is a trend as many 'decent' young ladies whom I have met (2 teachers, 3 admin and 1 art curator all carrying tattoos proudly / confidently on them).

I am just still resistant if they share too much of their private lives in social media (unless wanna be influencers) coz they may regret when they grow further - my Boomer's thought.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.