how come Singaporeans don’t want to become a pilot?

gilcrest

Then why other countries can afford to train?
Because other counrtries got lots of aviation academy that trains then cheaply than in sinkieland. Got one country in Asea got lots of pilots, air engineers nurses doctors caregivers oversupply

gilcrest

The fact you use the word ECA shows that must be damn long ago already.

Guy must have good family background /handsome and can study. rsaf selection was know for that criteria. Same as that F16 pilot that need to pray 5 times a day as his family was in the military

The_best2

phobia of height for me.. shortsighted
And sinkie pilots too expensive liao. Is much cheaper to engage foreign pilots especially from south asia at a fraction of the salary , real or fake pilots is ok as long as cheap

lizzykai

too expensive ......... literally low and middle class family can go pokkai for son to fly 1 propeller plane and coach

cheaper version is go JB

imagine this , plane few hundred thousand even in AMDK country , can only fly few thousand hours ..... add in profit margin .... add in uniquely SG tax .... add in air traffic control , airport tax and parking fees ..... leaded fuel for the engine ..... engine overhaul cost .... accident insurance ... everything total divide by per hour ..... very high
So why hire from developing nation? Is salary cheaper?

forests_gump

Every year so many applied for sia and scoot cadet and got rejected without chance of interview. Then they perfer to hire experiencd pilots from airfore and other countries including from the cannot be named place.
Why train when you can steal ? Typical of translator genes

lizzykai

Because we poor? Pilot school needs lots of money. And I know they don't care academics since I know someone who flunk his A levels but became pilot because parents rich.

k94WnYc.png
We poorer than developing nation?

Botakkid

the requirements are too strict here for aspiring pilots. SIA pays for training but they are super selective, SCOOT when I applied, doesn't pay for training, ask you take bank loan and no guarantee you get a job with them after passing

Other countries got alot more airlines so more chances for people to get in and fly

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.