Time for ALL renovation companies to be licensed + CASE accredited

alex22

Case accredited mean like iso certified but then can change name of company or subcontract out or what.
Got like bank need fixed amount of liquidity?
If dun have then what is it for

ceestudent

Nope... Need to be gian png to bring the price and service down. Look at the cheap furniture from Taobao. Good and cheap. Compare to local castlery... Fugging expensive and buay gan
What? Compare castlery quality with taobao? Lol. Troll also not like this lah.

you just compare the quality from the photo is it? How to take you seriously when you just spew this kind of non sense...

batniss

These days, it seems like all the ID bosses are living it up in big, grand landed homes.

Also, our government continues to allow these kinds of “runners ID” to thrive unchecked. Brilliant move, really—very intelligent.

I repeat again, CASE is useless. If cannot find business then toast. What flawed logic.

Godeau

Why? That'll derail us of being a nation of laundromats, fraudsters and scammers

anchoraz

Jus like u r looking for a maid.

But the maid mus b certified. Talk and write english.

Mayb mus tune to the expectations. C wat requirements u really need? Like wash clothes, wipe floor, clean toilet or u wan the maid to tok to u english and write stories on how to clean the house?

U decide.

batniss

As in any other dealings,

1. Don't be too trusting
2. Don't gian png
3. Allocate enough time and don't be rushed
4. Do your homework and know what you want
5. Don't think too highly of yourself and feel you can manage or even pawn vendors
6. No such thing as "chanced upon a deal too good to be true"
7. In the business world you will drag payments so why in personal capacity you pay 100% upfront?
Then they say they can't do it. Really is lan lan. If continue to not be regulated

batniss

What? Compare castlery quality with taobao? Lol. Troll also not like this lah.

you just compare the quality from the photo is it? How to take you seriously when you just spew this kind of non sense...
Er. If you are willing to pay abit more yet still cheaper than Castlery...

Taobao quality products can be very quality

batniss

That's why all personnels registered individually. If property agents and insurance agents have authorities, I don't see why renovation cannot have govt body
Agree.

It feels like our government continues to let these businesses thrive unchecked, without any real accountability—yet they still expect the public to vote for them and believe they’ll do good.

Meanwhile, the cracks are everywhere… and no one seems interested in fixing them.

clipper

Maybe need to setup up banks custodian service to hold customer money temporarily.

same as buyer of private property . Cannot let lawyer hold customer money. Last time many lawyers absconded with client money.

and also setup dedicated tribunal court to handle renovations disputes. This need specialist knowledge on construction.

I am sure customer won’t mind paying for this kind of court fee.

Whimsica

Then they say they can't do it. Really is lan lan. If continue to not be regulated

It's easy to say regulation but what kind of regulations do you want?

A project bank account like property development? So the contractor will incur bank fees and have to spend time and do more paperwork and get his money based on work progress, possibly as certified by a third party? So why not just get to what I said - a more spread-out progress payment worked out between contractor and customer i.e. the market, and save costs that would be passed on to customers in the end?

Customers getting gian png or soft or rushed because they want to save time or didn't do their homework is the main issue.

Last year there was about 18K HDB and 10K condo units completed.

According to TS' article, there was < 1K complaints on reno contractors (and a lot of these might not be for residential or new units).

So for an approximate < 3.5% errant rate, you think it is wise to impose regulations (and higher costs and longer time) on 100%?

Lchlch

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/tod...-bridal-fail-deliver-restitution-loss-5176971

This has been the million times that news has reported fraud renovation cases etc. Time for government to set up strict rules on these errant IDs and companies. All renovation companies MUST be Case trust accredited if not just don't do.

Can't believe that this kind of news appear every year but government not doing anything to it. These people who cheated customers are scums and vermin's. Let's cut out these middlemen IDs bloodsuckers lol
Maybe government listen to their own scholars only.

satkimania

It's easy to say regulation but what kind of regulations do you want?

A project bank account like property development? So the contractor will incur bank fees and have to spend time and do more paperwork and get his money based on work progress, possibly as certified by a third party? So why not just get to what I said - a more spread-out progress payment worked out between contractor and customer i.e. the market, and save costs that would be passed on to customers in the end?

Customers getting gian png or soft or rushed because they want to save time or didn't do their homework is the main issue.

Last year there was about 18K HDB and 10K condo units completed.

According to TS' article, there was < 1K complaints on reno contractors (and a lot of these might not be for residential or new units).

So for an approximate < 3.5% errant rate, you think it is wise to impose regulations (and higher costs and longer time) on 100%?
Higher cost ki lan... Now got AI Liao... Just build program and automate the process

Whimsica

Higher cost ki lan... Now got AI Liao... Just build program and automate the process

Wow jin satki mens just talk down others and ownself talk from backside everything AI everything so simple.

Come I clap for you.

One of the stupidest comments I have seen on this forum - wow, AI can monitor reno and certify progress and handle disputes on quality and deliverable between contractor and customer.

You are the reason why the quality of discussions in this forum keeps becoming worse.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.