Time for ALL renovation companies to be licensed + CASE accredited

ceestudent

Wow jin satki mens just talk down others and ownself talk from backside everything AI everything so simple.

Come I clap for you.

One of the stupidest comments I have seen on this forum - wow, AI can monitor reno and certify progress and handle disputes on quality and deliverable between contractor and customer.

You are the reason why the quality of discussions in this forum keeps becoming worse.
He should be at young punk age. No real life experience and don't know how industry works.. Just give some simple suggestion to make him sounds genius. Lol

glarerder

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/tod...-bridal-fail-deliver-restitution-loss-5176971

This has been the million times that news has reported fraud renovation cases etc. Time for government to set up strict rules on these errant IDs and companies. All renovation companies MUST be Case trust accredited if not just don't do.

Can't believe that this kind of news appear every year but government not doing anything to it. These people who cheated customers are scums and vermin's. Let's cut out these middlemen IDs bloodsuckers lol
I always thought IDs and renovation companies are licensed.

ceestudent

Er. If you are willing to pay abit more yet still cheaper than Castlery...

Taobao quality products can be very quality
The things is how do you ensure the quality just from the photo and some review? Not forgetting same photo can have different price.

Say you are ready to spend on some 1500$ dining table, will you just bite the bullet and trust the review? For me, i won't do that without seeing the actual product in the shop. Buying furniture is about touch and feel.
This is unlike some electronic stuff where you can ensure the model by one look.

Of course if just want to get by and buy cheaper stuff then it is ok. Anyway, it is ok. Taobao buyer and castlery buyer is different demographic. I understand.

sharpshooter9

But some consumers also really one kind la.. they want nice and extensive renovation but want to get it done cheap so they go engage those reno firms in FB with very little portfolio and reviews.

Want to save few hundreds or thousands in the end lose even much more

satkimania

Which minister is in charge of this? Lim bei will send email or meet the minister. If the minister can't do shiat about it, Lim bei will go to Pitram Singh. If both can't do shiat about it, Lim bei will look for the NCMP and see their performance. I bet the Andre sure buay kan also lol

Coffeelix

What make you think china/jhk company will be more trustworthy than sinkie company? It is even easier for them to cheat the money and run road, no?

You want them accredited based on what? Customer review?
I bet most of the Reno companies in sg are owned by jhk.
This scams is plentiful in Malaysia especially johor.
Sg opens leg big big for all types of criminals to “do businesses / wonders” without barriers to entry killing sg businesses and leaving sg open to cheating…

Kaylin

u shd read the reviews here :

https://www.hometrust.sg/latest-reviews/lowest-rated

most probs are caused by insexperienced or bochup IDs that overpromise & under deliver and not so much abt contractors :( nowsaday this industry is getting too saturated, so all these bosses need to keep hiring new people else how to keep up with their conti car driving & landed living lifestyle? :(

sizzy6

all companies have to pay a fee like 50 to 100k to gov. the money is yours and you can close company and you have to declare no ongoing projects pending then can close.

also if theres a case against you cannot withdraw also.

there is no increase in cost becsuse you are getting the money back vs many other industries you have to pay and dont even get back the money.

the cost comes when there a case.. but this risk happens to all business.. you cant say if you kena sue so you charge higher right? the sum will be determined by a independent body or gov one and deduct from the 100k. if determine that the sum might be more than 100k thrn can have them top up.. for example 10 cases 20k each.. top up another 100k. else you cannot take on new job.. by law. u take up new law then is offence

if more than 100k? too bad lah.. if you deposit 500k and bank toh you also dont get back all your money.

like very mafan but will improve the industry because now we have companies with good financials(not suka suka ahbeng acra register and call themselves ID). you need 200k start up capital

dont shoot me.. just throwing random idea

BohemianSG

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/tod...-bridal-fail-deliver-restitution-loss-5176971

This has been the million times that news has reported fraud renovation cases etc. Time for government to set up strict rules on these errant IDs and companies. All renovation companies MUST be Case trust accredited if not just don't do.

Can't believe that this kind of news appear every year but government not doing anything to it. These people who cheated customers are scums and vermin's. Let's cut out these middlemen IDs bloodsuckers lol

My golden words apply. As long as it does not affect the elite, it is not a problem to be solved.

justln

A lot of these IDs/Contractors run road, you have no recourse against them. Don't even need to finish the project, just do 80% get your money, then the remaining they already included into the final fee.

End up your house finishing like sheet.

Do 1 time, run back to Malaysia. Huat gao gao.

satkimania

A lot of these IDs/Contractors run road, you have no recourse against them. Don't even need to finish the project, just do 80% get your money, then the remaining they already included into the final fee.

End up your house finishing like sheet.

Do 1 time, run back to Malaysia. Huat gao gao.
That's why this must stopped. Nowadays 3 room easily $100k renovation. Landed how? Time to regulate this industry. Flood your MP with demands of regulation in this industry

mewmew

so simple, just issue different category licenses.
higher cat need more security deposit and allowed to do more project

elevate

HDB should change OCS to Compulsory Component Scheme. Let HDB reno everything n earn all the money

satkimania

Time to revolutionise this industry with so many scums and vermin's sucking commoner's hard earn blood. Time to weed out those fuggers

SkyNinja

You can't do anything because they exploit a loophole of declaring bankruptcy under the disguise of a Pte Ltd.

batniss

It's easy to say regulation but what kind of regulations do you want?

A project bank account like property development? So the contractor will incur bank fees and have to spend time and do more paperwork and get his money based on work progress, possibly as certified by a third party? So why not just get to what I said - a more spread-out progress payment worked out between contractor and customer i.e. the market, and save costs that would be passed on to customers in the end?

Customers getting gian png or soft or rushed because they want to save time or didn't do their homework is the main issue.

Last year there was about 18K HDB and 10K condo units completed.

According to TS' article, there was < 1K complaints on reno contractors (and a lot of these might not be for residential or new units).

So for an approximate < 3.5% errant rate, you think it is wise to impose regulations (and higher costs and longer time) on 100%?
Yes.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.