how come Singaporeans don’t want to become a pilot?

niefeng80

coz sinkie need to be at least 25 yo then can apply.

PR 18 yo can apply liao.

By the time the PR is 25, he has 7 more years of experience than chao sinkie.

Also, there is copayment system for pilot training, in the range of $200k-$250k now.

glarerder

The pilot requirement is quite stringent here.

but then we are employing from other places with less stringent requirements. :unsure: :unsure:
Yes agreed. This is a stupid oxymoron. Can also say the same for our world class education. Criteria so stringent to get in to courses and yet employers chose to employ people from somewhere with education from less performing institutes.. it's all about cost.

Jeremy1

Because the risk to the $$$ earned is not worth the taking up of this job ☝️

AuraKUPO

I have sinkie friend his son did a career switch to become a pilot for SIA. So don't say ignorance things like only the ASK and must start very young then can become a pilot

DulanMax

Every year so many applied for sia and scoot cadet and got rejected without chance of interview. Then they perfer to hire experiencd pilots from airfore and other countries including from the cannot be named place.
I know someone who got rejected from SIA but accepted by Scoot

Need to ownself fork out course fees of a few hundred k, that's why inside mostly rich kids who got parents to help them fulfill their pilot dream.

Will be damn funny when they work with Air India pilots who probably do not have to pay all these fees

Triumvirate

pilots are low ses jobs. They work wee hours and shift, need to be on standby. We Singaporeans already move up the chain, we do more fintech wear smart smart mingle with OL in bodycon dress in CBD, morning go gym pump muscle, night go drinking mingle with OL then midnight go back pump OL.
You forgot the OL decked in yoga pants 😍😍. But then pilots see air stewardess on kebaya leh

Lance321

Many s'poreans prefer commerce/finance/business related jobs and even those have gotten very saturated for years. Finance related courses are always the most crowded at many unis. Look at private-diatant learning courses as well...that too are mostly finance related courses.

bugdog

Sure there are many who want to be a pilot, just not enough opportunities here. When there are, the tests required to get the subsidy would have filtered most out. I wonder if there will be uptron graduates on our SQ flights in the future or even now

coldish

I got a friend. He joined NCC (Air). Eventually he joined the airforce as a pilot. He was from a neighbourhood sec school that offered this ECA.
I understand why the need to mention "neighbour sec school"

Solidus_GZ

I don't mind le if I'm not that short sighted. Get get to try different place exotic food

Solidus_GZ

I do know a guy from miri who manage to get his scholarship but flung his flight test because he did some stupid stunt, this guy sibei Haolian and cheap skate always find ways to fly to places to earn the most miles and how to scam the company.
Because we poor? Pilot school needs lots of money. And I know they don't care academics since I know someone who flunk his A levels but became pilot because parents rich.

k94WnYc.png

goodluckchuck3

Nobody want to be meh?
I am one

alot of the people I know are flying. / or wants to fly.

it’s true SQ selection stringent. (Company sponsored)

Scoot cadet pilot programme is self sponsored. But can can break even within 5 years.
So at the end of the day just saying “oh i wanna be a pilot” isn’t enough.
See how committed are u

johnsonheng

Every year so many applied for sia and scoot cadet and got rejected without chance of interview. Then they perfer to hire experiencd pilots from airfore and other countries including from the cannot be named place.
it mainly space reserve for retired pilot.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.