Questions for PAP Skorlars: Why CDC Vouchers Need Two Categories?

Geminiboy

Some people hardly eat out and some people hardly cook. Those hardly eat out quickly finish their supermarket vouchers and left with many Hawker Centre vouchers. Similarly it’s the opposite for those who hardly cook.

Why can’t have all CDC vouchers useable at both supermarkets and hawker centres? And do away with the dumb $10 denomination. Just $5, $2 and $1 or, better still, $5 and $1 only will do.

fortunecat

Need to give hawkers and small shops some businesses mah, if not 90% will spend all at supermarkets :o

swathe

Some people hardly eat out and some people hardly cook. Those hardly eat out quickly finish their supermarket vouchers and left with many Hawker Centre vouchers. Similarly it’s the opposite for those who hardly cook.

Why can’t have one single category? And do away with the dumb $10 denomination. Just $5, $2 and $1 or, better still, $5 and $1 only will do.

trax06

Yes I will spend 100% on supermarkets if possible. Hawkers food is too expensive
Yes hawker food is expensive but there's no way I can recreate my favret mamak Mee goreng At home.

Geminiboy

Need to give hawkers and small shops some businesses mah, if not 90% will spend all at supermarkets :o
not true leh. i eat out every meal so not enough HC vouchers but have problem spending the supermarket vouchers. And every time want to buy some small things such as detergent, need to think what to add so that can use the $10 vouchers.

I think most working couples don’t cook much also. It will balance out with those who don’t eat out much.

Visor9999

Yes hawker food is expensive but there's no way I can recreate my favret mamak Mee goreng At home.

I always eat fast food as it’s cheaper and bigger portions, cdc vouchers I spend fully on hair treatments. No point wasting money to patronise expensive hawkers

trax06

I always eat fast food as it’s cheaper and bigger portions, cdc vouchers I spend fully on hair treatments. No point wasting money to patronise expensive hawkers

I try to avoid fast food liao and cdc vouchers are best spent at Mister Mobile b😅

grevq80o

Why can’t have all CDC vouchers useable at both supermarkets and hawker centres? And do away with the dumb $10 denomination. Just $5, $2 and $1 or, better still, $5 and $1 only will do.
No need skola to answer ur quackstion: two categories is to ensure Gov $ flow into the sector PAP wants. Simple.

If not they will gib chiu cash liao

HushiePuppies

need ask those at people association / MCCY. The CDC voucher programme under their purview.

https://www.pa.gov.sg/our-network/community-development-councils/common-flagship-programmes/

loganrunning

i'm no skolar, just a peasant farmer so i dun have any inside info.....

i recall initially, it was just 1 category, for hawkers and small shops including provision shops.
the next year, they introduced a 2nd category, for selected large supermarket chains (but not small chains with a few outlets).

pure guess only. probably the large supermarkets (guess their owners!) wanted a share of the voucher business. afterall, if the voucher holders shop at neighbourhood mom&pop provision shops, that means less business for the supermarkets.

loganrunning

not true leh. i eat out every meal so not enough HC vouchers but have problem spending the supermarket vouchers. And every time want to buy some small things such as detergent, need to think what to add so that can use the $10 vouchers.

I think most working couples don’t cook much also. It will balance out with those who don’t eat out much.

i use up my supermarket vouchers (cook at home). voucher donations welcome :)

JustForFun

Many have voiced out same thing like what you shared but leaders stubbornly ignored ?

Cook at home eat healthily but "forced" to spent $$ on hawker unhealthy food using unhealthy cooking oil ?

Then those who lazy to cook can only stock up snacks, toiletries, detergents to finished up ?

The $$ denominations is a headache or challenges for seniors and children to spend hawker food as most eat small portions ? How to order cai png daily cost $10 ? Fixed $ denomination still have to top up real cash outstanding and hawker has to scan voucher CDC and handle cash as well ? So dumb ?

Such simple $ denomination issue so many years cannot resolve and talk about digitalisation and smart nation ? Hopeless ?

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
good idea actually
should be compatible for whatever purchases

as long as it's not for cigs/alcohol
those shops allowing the above, then can't be helped

unless others makes a report :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.