Jalan Besar turtle soup stall closing down after 60 years, sell his recipes for S$40,000.

doppypoppy

Guy pretty much self-snooked himself. Might have been better off not talking that much.

"Recipes can be learnt in a week"
"Selling recipes for $40,000"

That's almost $6k SGD per day, uncle.
Dun think that's how it's calculated

The 40k is probably the modest profits he expects to earn if he ran the stall for another 2-3 years

testerjp

Remember it's not cheap...$12 or something like that.

There's a good one at beo crescent hawker center..not sure still there? Long time never go already since I started rearing a terrapin
Still there, I don't think I will ever eat though.

I remember in the old Chinatown complex market, they used to sell live turtles, snakes, bats, etc.

Back then there were no woke culture, and I was a kid seeing how they slaughtered them.
I forgot whether the turtle heads were chopped off first, I only remember they rip the shell apart and the internals were still moving.

Snakes confirm is chop or stabbed in the head then skinned.

Bats were grabbed by their two wings then snapped their rib with their organs all ruptured out while being alive.

And there was always this guy whacking the giant toman fish in the head don't know for what. :(

MynameisS

Sorry doubtful will sell at $40000
Maybe some PRCs will bite

best-washing-machine-singapore-768x353.png

hotamp

This type of stall i predict will be all gone in another 10 yrs or so, sg could just ban "turtle" import all together later on....cos nowadays sg getting stricter with source of origin for imported meat.....these type of exotic meat could need licensing later on since its not domesticated as a food source in sg.

testerjp

waaaa legit

bat nice to eat meh

It was considered nourishing. Business was quite okay. They always say that crocodile meat is good for asthma, so those exotic meat were supposed to be rare treats to give you special healing or enhancing effects. This mindset is still found in many countries.

It was legal at that time, there were probably other types of exotic meat. Pig blood was still legal at that time.

It was located under the main staircase.

Aunt Dino

The best out of 3 is the basement stall which is now running by their son … many moons back all 3 stall is at lvl 2 and this stall is at the very end , can’t really recall but if I’m right only this stall sold tortoise 草龟 and their soup is the best…
Basement or level 1? I checked and there are two shops on level 2, one on level 1

uncle always bad tempered but i regular, order the spare parts best, then go geylang walk walk.

just before covid i top up $4 eggs, he gave me this!

NYCSYEx.png

boil the soup and throw them in, simmer and very poppy!
Which stall is this from? Never see any stall selling the eggs before

人造人16 号

Turtles are meant to live up to 100 yrs and above in their natural habitat. They are not meant to be captured and cooked for your enjoyment.

singapore dont allow wild caught turtles to be sold for consumption.

all turtles used for eating here are breed from farms.

not only that, there are some other animals with even longer life spans and is widely eaten.

For example rock fish have even longer lifespans than turtles and yet they are even more commonly eaten than turtles in singapore.

kimsix

Basement or level 1? I checked and there are two shops on level 2, one on level 1

Which stall is this from? Never see any stall selling the eggs before

the stall mentioned in this thread, you got until aug to buyed from uncle :o

westtraveller

It was considered nourishing. Business was quite okay. They always say that crocodile meat is good for asthma, so those exotic meat were supposed to be rare treats to give you special healing or enhancing effects. This mindset is still found in many countries.

It was legal at that time, there were probably other types of exotic meat. Pig blood was still legal at that time.

Turtle soup with pig/duck blood cubes is really the best. Last time la, now dun have

Joseph12

Uhh croc and turtle meat he's selling is all still legal now right

mryongtan

Enola88

Hmmmm…..
Seem like a heavy taste product.
never try b4.

FORSTA

kill too many turtles liao. now reaping karma health no good. turtle and snake got high 灵性 one.

samba fan

Is probably the standard drop. It was ok when I last took it. Herbally enough.

Another stall is the Chinese mutton soup opposite the jalan besar 剪刀curry rice. One small shop by the roadside. Don't know go where already.

Berseh also have mutton soup but the quantity for the price is pathetic... I seldom eat also. 😂
This stall i tried b4..
Good hidden gem.

samba fan

Dun think that's how it's calculated

The 40k is probably the modest profits he expects to earn if he ran the stall for another 2-3 years
the profits depend on how much they bid for the stalls..
if cheap then profitable..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.